We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ten minute ride from the island to the peninsula” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Island Ferry

Balboa Island Ferry
410 S Bayfront, Newport Beach, CA 92662
(949) 673-1070
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ferries/ Boats
Attraction Details
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great ten minute ride from the island to the peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've been taking the ferry since 1995 and still love it. It make the Balboa Peninsula faster to reach and vice versa. Balboa Island is easier to reach by person,bike or car.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    123
    20
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An old fashioned way to travel between Balboa Island and the peninsula.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I frequently used this ferry as transport...always enjoyed it. Try the frerris wheel! Walking around balboa island was fun, the homes, large and small, werebeautifully kept, and all very unique. Makes you want to move in.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Got to be done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

For a few dollors you cut out loads of miles and you get to ride this historic boat.

A few wonderful pictures where taken on this short 5 minute ride, plus we got to have a balboa bar at the end of it. :-)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sac
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Short Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Cost $3 in a car with 2 passangers. We got out of the car to look at the coast and boats. Three cars fit along with pedestrians and bikers. Very fast and convienient to take.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“walk,bike or drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Small 3-car ferry that transports across the main channel back & forth from Balboa island to the penninsula, family run for nearly 100 years. It's a mainstay of the Newport Beach experience. If the car line's not long, I always make a point of riding the ferry because it's such a rare experience in So-Cal. I'd be surprised if (once onboard) it takes more than 5 minutes to cross, but there's something about floating on the water surrounded by those gorgeous homes, the landmark Balboa Pavilion & other harbor boats that makes the brief experience special. Fares are nominal, one-way. Can exit the car while crossing. My kids always get a kick out of it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balboa Island Ferry also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Balboa Island Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Island Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Balboa Island Ferry to your Saves list