We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Segway Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Segway Orange County

Segway Orange County
611 East Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92661
949-723-1722
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Segway Orange County has been the only Segway-authorized tour location in Orange County since our opening in January, 2005! We conduct 1.5-hour and 2.5-hour guided Segway tours of the Balboa Peninsula from our store in Newport Beach. Enjoy the Balboa Pier, the boardwalk, the beautiful homes, the harbor and the famous "Wedge" while riding an amazing Segway accompanied by one of our local, knowledgeable tour guides.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Segway Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great way to see the penisula and Balboa Island. We took the 2 hr 15 min tour and I have to say it was a bit too long for me (next time will opt for the 1 hr). Takes you through the iconic Newport Beach architecture and houses, the Wedge, Balboa Island, the pier. Our guide Jack was very accomodating, friendly and knowledgable about the area. Just remember to be safe and smart!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Modesto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time doing the Segway tour. Russ was a great guide. When the other party that was part of our tour were late, Russ took us on our own tour. He also extended our time that we were losing out on from waiting for the others. Great way to see some of the neighborhoods you wouldn't normally see. Also the segways were really easy to ride so don't let the fear of falling stop you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearland, texas
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fun Segway ride!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had a great time touring the pier and surrounding neighborhood. Laid back instructor Jack was very enjoyable. A great start to our Newport vacation. We took the shorter tour due to time constraints but well worth the price!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A joy- great guide and Gilligan's Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My friend an I ended up getting out own private tour (luck of the draw) which allowed us to improvise. Jack (it's been two months, but I really think his name was Jack?) was a lot of fun. We quickly got used to the Segways and zipped around in the alleys looking at houses and sites along the way. We really enjoyed Munchkin lane (not sure the real name) and the fantastic view of the cove they used to film Gilligan's Island. We liked it so much, we would have added on to the tour- but unfortunately there wasn't anyone available that afternoon for a tour. I hope to go back and do this again. Balboa Peninsula was relatively easy in terms of traffic, but I'm not certain that Balboa Island would be- the sidewalks have many people on them and don't seem to have as much passing room.
There is also a Segway tour with big monster tires on the Segway so you are able to play around on the beach and "off roading". That sounds like it'll be a good time too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a great time on the Segways, staff were very accomodating, Neil our tour guide was great fun. We are in our 50's but our boys are 15yrs and 13yrs, all of us had a fun time and will be sure to do it again when we go back to the USA.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway Orange County also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Segway Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segway Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.