We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently above average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coliseum Pool & Grill

Coliseum Pool & Grill
22701 Pelican Hill Road South, newport beach, Newport Beach, CA 92657
+1 949-612-1917
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 399 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Newport Coast Drive
Description: An incomparably fun and intriguing place to dine, the Coliseum Pool & Grill overlooks the "scene" at the strikingly iconic Coliseum Pool, back-dropped by the Pacific Ocean. American favorites on the superbly prepared menu runs the gamut from pizzas, panini and sandwiches to seafood dishes, pastas, specialty salads and even smoothies.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Consistently above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I ate here for breakfast about four times and for lunch twice. Overall service was pretty good, the breakfast buffet was excellent although very expensive ($40pp) and the lunch was nice for a pool side place. It isn't an incredible once in a lifetime spot but for pool side with a nice view they do a good job.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at Coliseum Pool & Grill, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your dining experiences at Coliseum Pool & Grill. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    25
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Food Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

this was our stable dining place when all else failed. Food was high quality, moderately priced. The staff here were always welcoming. Really nice and homey feel.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at Coliseum Pool & Grill, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience at Coliseum Pool & Grill, as well Andrea and Pelican Grill, and your visits to Pelican Hill and Pelican Hill Golf Club. Your feedback is truly a gift, and we thank you for taking the time to share your experiences.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“One of my "must do" restaurants in Orange County”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This review is based on 2 recent meals. I so enjoyed the experience the first time, I went back again a few days later. First, this is one of several restaurants in the elegant Pelican Hill Resort and one of two in the main complex. I recommend parking at the main building even though there is a separate signed entrance with closer parking for the Coliseum. The reason is that the grounds and vistas of this resort are fantastic, so the short walk to the Coliseum from the main building is very enjoyable. After your meal, walk the grounds, get a cup of coffee or tea in the small café in the main building, relax, and enjoy the serenity and views.

I believe the Coliseum is the least expensive restaurant in the resort, with meat entrées in the mid 20s. Alcohol is expensive ($15 cocktails), with microbrewery draft beers the best buy. The view is excellent, particularly if you are a single or couple and get an outside table which is right on the viewing edge. Service both times was excellent.

The appetizers are very large. I had Gazpacho soup ($8) one evening which was excellent but came in a large bowl that was just too much to eat and have room for the entre. The second appetizer I tried was the crab cake ($15). Being raised in the Chesapeake Bay area, I find most crab cakes on the west coast are more cake than crab. Not so here. It was about 4-5 ounces of what is known in the trade as "special" crab meat. No little crab balls. Special is composed of the smaller pieces of white backfin crab meat. Larger pieces are designated as "lump". However, cakes made solely of special tend to be a bit mushy and lack texture which was true here.

My first entre was grilled glazed Chilean sea bass. Again it was a nice serving but the glaze was tasteless and the fish itself was very fatty. It wound up still being tasty but very rich. I have had this dish elsewhere and prefer a leaner cut. The second entre was diver scallops which were excellent.

I passed on desert to walk the grounds and then stop by the previously mentioned café (which also sells gelato). Some areas are frequently closed off for receptions and private events held on the grounds so you may have to explore the area in a circuitous route.

Despite the minor quibbles, I plan to return often. The combination of the resort and the restaurant are truly enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at Coliseum Pool & Grill, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Alisa,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience at Coliseum Pool & Grill, as well as your comments about your Resort stay. I have personally addressed your concerns with our culinary team. As we strive to provide exceptional service and memorable experiences for each and every guest, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food hit and miss service. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Food was excellent! We ate here several times during our stay at the hotel and enjoyed every meal. For a 5 star hotel the service at this restaurant was spotty. At times the server went missing and slow. The hostess station had people working there that were a little messy in appearance. The hotel needs to work with wait staff to make the experience a 5.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at Coliseum Pool & Grill, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Alisa,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience at Coliseum Pool & Grill, as well as your comments about your Resort stay. I have personally addressed your concerns with our culinary team. As we strive to provide exceptional service and memorable experiences for each and every guest, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The service here was very good and the menu has a great choice of food. Compared to the breakfast at this hotel the prices were pretty reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coliseum Pool & Grill also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Coliseum Pool & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coliseum Pool & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.