We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and wine. Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andrea at Pelican Hill

Andrea at Pelican Hill
22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657
+1 949-612-1917
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Andrea at Pelican Hill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 412 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Newport Coast Drive
Description: The unprecedented attention to detail in Andrea, to recreate storied culinary traditions and classic dishes bursting with the true flavors of Italy, has resulted in remarkable Northern Italian cuisine, with Tuscan influences in particular, that rivals the nation's top Italian restaurants.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Food and wine. Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We always love to come here when we have a chance. The service is very attentive. Food is very delicious and a good selection of a wine list, Atmosphere is always perfect. View is great if you sit near the window you can see some nice view from the golf course. We will there again with the party of 16 next week.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    24
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Food Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Pelican Hill is first class. Andrea is a Wonderful restaurant with great service. Very helpful taking care of our 3YO Grandson. Menu is impressive and presentation was outstanding.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My daughter & I were visiting Newport Beach from NY. We dined at Andrea and wow! From the moment we were greeted, through the cocktails, breadsticks, and meal, to our departure, everything was well-timed and coordinated, and delicious! We chose the prix fixe ($95) and were very impressed with food and presentation. We requested substitutions, and were accommodated without the blink of an eye.
The staff was attentive, but not hovering, friendly & courteous, but not fawning.
It is truly a special place for a special meal. Our only regret is that we will not be going back soon, being visitors and not residents.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food and Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We've been to Andrea a couple of times before but this really was the best. Everything was spot on last night. Breadsticks got the salt and rosemary totally right; olive bread with the ricotta spread I could have eaten continuously; wine parings we great which had both to do with a wonderful selection of wines by the glass and our waiter who really was world class; the lobster tortellini was to die for and the flatiron steak was awesome - particularly with the addition of the truffled potato puree. Finally, the Sabayon with the booze soaked cake was WOW. Yes, Andrea is expensive but so are many restaurants that don't deliver - Andrea delivers big time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“another stay, but poor food & service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

me and my wife went to Andera at Pelican Hill, Food was plated in a nice way, but not much flavor as per other restaurant on the costa (Syudio) overall staff was very attentive, they forgot to give us the exchange back (was only 3 dollars). few month before we stay at GRill where food and service where fantastic.
overall we went to andrea 3 time s in the past 2 years, but this time it' s a step down, lack on a good dessert selection, none on contemporary maincourses. I would really need to see some fantastic reviews before I made another reservation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at Andrea at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Mark,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts about your recent visit to Andrea. I’m sorry to hear that your latest dining experience fell short of your expectations and our goals, especially since your last three visits resulted in five-star reviews.

Andrea has been recognized as one of the Los Angeles Times' Readers' Choice top-rated restaurants for Fine Dining and Italian cuisine, with its authentic dishes created by our Michelin-starred head chef from Italy. I am disappointed that your visit was less than perfect, and have taken the time to personally follow up with the Andrea culinary team about your input detailed here.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback and look forward to another opportunity to serve you again soon.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andrea at Pelican Hill also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Andrea at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrea at Pelican Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.