We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildfish Seafood Grille

Wildfish Seafood Grille
1370 Bison Avenue, Newport Beach, CA 92660
949.720.9925
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wildfish Seafood Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 360 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Wildfish Seafood Grille is committed to offering fresh prime seafood, aged USDA prime steaks, creative cocktails, and an award winning wine list. Set in a casual, contemporary atmosphere focused around the combined energy of the centerpiece bar and lounge, innovative oyster & raw bar, open-air patio and exhibition kitchen. The menu is made up of imaginative creations prepared fresh with superior quality seafood, utilizing the best preparations, and simple, light sauces to enhance the delicate flavors. The Wildfish Seafood Grille restaurant and patio bars are the place to be for HAPPY HOUR! Enjoy a selection of 1/2 price appetizers,$6 martinis and wines by the glass from 4 to 7 pm seven nights a week, and all night on Sundays and Mondays. Planning an event? The patio is the perfect place to host your next business outing, private party, special event or any large group. Join us at Wildfish Seafood Grille Where Prime Seafood, USDA Prime Steaks and Good Times are always in season.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Wildfish came with good recommendations - and I can see why. The food and service were both great! The menu was varied and interesting and the fish was fresh and beautifully presented. The pineapple upside down cake is to DIE FOR! It's great as a share dish - but tell you what - next time I go there, I'm not sharing with anyone! The menu was a little on the pricey side - but I'm happy to pay when the food and service are so good. Happy all 'round!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    59
    9
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best food and happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wow-this was great. Best place we ate in Newport Beach area. The food is excellent. I had a crab cake that had to be the best one I ever ate. My partner had the salt and pepper shrimp-huge service for an appetizer. For entrees I had the lemon sole and he got the swordfish-both great. We had a side order of crab fried rice that could have been it's own entree. Had to take home leftovers for lunch the next day. Here's the best tip-if you sit at the bar or the high top tables during happy hour the appetizers are around $6-8 and wine is $6.00 a glass. You could make a good meal with a crab cake or shrimp and a small order of a side. On Sundays and Mondays Happy Hour is all night-otherwise 4-7. Next time we go-that's what we are going to do, and I will go back for sure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
416 reviews 416 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Excelent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We've eaten at Wildfish over the years and have been consistently pleased. The seafood is fresh and creatively prepared. The choices are numerous, but not so numerous that the kitchen can't prepare things well. Unlike many restaurants, the salads and desserts are unusual and good. The crowd is usually young and boisterous, so Wildfish is not your average Newport Beach restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine ca
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful meals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Wildfish is a really lovely restaurant. Tha ambieance is relaxing and warm. We also love to go for happy hour. The crab cakes are delicious as are the rest of the small plates. It's a fun place to go with friends, have great food and drinks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Made reservations on Saturday night but didn't need to. It was maybe half full in the restaurant. The bar was crowded however. It was my wife's birthday and they had a card and a rose waiting for her at the table. VERY nice touch. The Lobster Tacos were amazing. The Lobster and shrimp bisque was mediocre. It didn't seem hot enough as it was barely above room temperature. Since it was our first time, as others have experienced, the manager brought over an ahi tuna appetizer for us as well. Filet Mignon was outstanding and the scallops with citrus were interesting but tasty. Since it was my wife's birthday, they brought her a complimentary dessert. We chose the upside down pineapple cake and it was very good. Great experience with nice touches that make Wildfish stand out amongst the competition.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildfish Seafood Grille also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Wildfish Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildfish Seafood Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.