We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A much better Yard House than Irv Spectrum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yard House Restaurant

Yard House Restaurant
620 Spectrum Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
949-640-9273
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 399 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Irvine, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A much better Yard House than Irv Spectrum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We love the Yard House and the Fashion Island location is far the best in OC. Great service, not as dark, more kid friendly atmosphere and servers are happier. Great place to watch sports without the sports bar look. Excellent happy hour menu for Monday night football :)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi 911wife - We are glad to hear that you enjoy our Newport Beach location. We will share your feedback with the entire team. We truly value your patronage and hope for the opportunity to serve you again soon. Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    75
    19
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service but restaurant could use better lighting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we are out at Irvine Spectrum, we are always drawn to dine here. Their menu has a good variety of food, kid friendly menu and mostly beer and sports for the hubby. I just wish that they have better lighting inside. It is very loud inside so, if you are looking for a quiet dinning experience, this restaurant is not for you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi happytravler56 - We would certainly like to make this right and we truly hope this was an honest human error. Do you mind contacting us at guestservices@yardhouse.com? We hope to hear back from you soon and get this resolved. Kindest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Simeon, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Food & Refreshments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you can't find something to quench your thirst here, then you're NOT thirsty! A great selection of refreshments that can be overwhelming on your first, second, & third visits. The menu selections are very diverse as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Loud”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place wants to be a restaurant with ample beer selection, but it is really a sports bar with overpriced food and a long beer list. A few impressions from a recent visit:
- No original beer glasses, for example when serving Hefeweizen, it comes in a regular glass, not the tall glass it should be served in.
- Beer served with none or minimal foam.
- Our waiter never brought the San Pellegrino I had ordered.
- The fish with my fish and chips was dry as a bone (chips were OK). The daily special fish ordered by my party was good, however.
- Pyramid and Widmer wheat beers are on the list. Why offer these mediocre attempts at brewing when you can have real beer?
- Music is blasting while football games are shown on the monitors. If you want to spend an evening shouting at the person who is sitting right in front of you, this is the perfect place.
Conclusion: The emphasis is on drinking and watching sports, ambience and quality is less important.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi wolfhomma - We are disappointed to learn that we let you down during your recent visit. Quality is extremely important to us and we feel terrible that we failed to execute our standards. We'd like to try and redeem ourselves. When time permits, please contact us at guestservices@yardhouse.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great quality, improving on variety!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

It's difficult to find a place that can accommodate special diet requests. I usually stick to places I know are vegan/vegetarian because it's easier to order.
Recently, we had a work function, which I usually don't like because I eat vegan. I don't like to deal with explaining to people what I eat and why, much less trying to make something edible off a regular restaurant menu. My boss provided us with some choices for dining, one of them being Yardhouse. I checked out the menu for Yardhouse and was excited to see they are using Gardein products. I voted Yardhouse and we ended up having a great lunch. I was very happy.
Some of the dishes with Gardein aren't entirely vegan. I had to request no mayo or cheese on the sandwich; easy enough. However, there were a couple dishes that weren't prepared with any animal products.
In the future, it would be nice to see them carry Daiya products (high-quality vegan cheese substitute) too! Thank you Yardhouse for making my work luncheon work for me!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yard House Restaurant also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Yard House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yard House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.