We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast buffet ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam & Harry's Steakhouse - Marriott Newport Beach

Sam & Harry's Steakhouse - Marriott Newport Beach
900 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6206
949-729-6900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sam & Harry's Steakhouse - Marriott Newport Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #166 of 412 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Begun in 1990, the original Sam & Harry’s is a Washington, D.C. landmark. An institution for “power dining” in the city, Sam & Harry’s DC has hosted Roy Rogers, Gene Autry, Julia Child, and Nicolas Cage among many celebrities and politicians. Washingtonians voted Sam & Harry’s “Best Steak” and Wine Spectator has awarded us the “Best Award of Excellence”. Sam & Harry’s brings more than a traditional steakhouse to Newport Beach. We feature USDA prime steaks, “jet-fresh” seafood flown in daily from around the world, and an award-winning wine program that showcases a list of hand selected bottles, while highlighting 50 wines by the glass. Sam & Harry’s signature personalized service will accommodate your every need and our private dining rooms provide the perfect ambiance for an evening of business or leisure
Gridley
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“The best breakfast buffet ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here at the Marriott for four days and am sorry I waited till the lalt day to try the breakfast buffet. I have never enjoyed anything as much as this one. The chef who made us fresh smoothies and the chef who made fresh omeletets are real artists and all thingn sampled were delicious. Such healthful choices and so beautifully presented. Michelle was awesome and the beautiful blone who waited on me as well!Woudl love to coem abck to this restaurant. Also ahd great onion soup at lunchtime another time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“If you want good crab cake come here if you want a good steak come here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you didn't know Sam and Harry's is tucked away in the back of the Marriott hotel and spa. I generally come down to the hotel one weekend every year and when I do I have at least one dinner and 1 other meal here. The staff is always friendly and top notch. The food is also top notch. Put it this way the only other Sam and Harry's is out in Washington D.C. Where the senators eat. The steaks here are always cooked to order and a usually prime level. All of the sides have to be ordered for an extra fee. On this night I got the Cajun prime cut rib eye with Stilton cheese and a side of creamed spinach, I started with the crab cakes of course that come with big chunks of crab like you've never had in a west coast crab cake. I washed it down with a Malbec by the Alamos winery which is a great wine that can be found at Costco. I finished it up with a cup of coffee with sambucca and their great chocolate dome dessert. Top notch all the way. You will pay a pretty penny here but if you want to have a really great meal and actually reach food nirvana here it is. I be back no two ways about it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have eaten here a few times. The food is really first class, excellent service, nice atmosphere. The bar adjoining is great too. Very good value for the standard of dining and the whole experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Right inside the Newport Beach Marriott Spa & Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Great Breakfast Buffet and better service! I forget my waiters name but he was the best!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Steakhouse Wedge Salad was very good. We didn't think the crabcake, deemed "the Maryland Crabcake" tasted anything like an authentic Maryland crabcake.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam & Harry's Steakhouse - Marriott Newport Beach also viewed

 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Sam & Harry's Steakhouse - Marriott Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam & Harry's Steakhouse - Marriott Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.