We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama D's Italian

Mama D's Italian
3012 Newport Blvd., Newport Beach, CA 92663
949.675.6262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 401 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I visited Mama D's on a recent business trip to Irvine and i am so glad that I went out of my way to try it. It was a fantastic experience from the food to the service. I ordered the pink sauce with the primavera option and italian sausage. It was one of the best italian meals that I have ever had. My pasta was perfectly cooked (not many restaurants can get this right it seems). The wait staff is very friendly and it is a fun casual atmosphere. I will make my way to Mama D's anytime that I am in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    49
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Simple and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Ate at Mama D's tonight. Asked tripadvisor for a suggestion whilst staying in Newport Beach for a quick dinner. Mama D's nailed it. Great salads, chicken parm, garlic bread.

And very high quality. Great waitstaff. Fun people watching.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I won't eat Italian anywhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

WOW. wow. WOW.

I actually discovered this place after trying to go to The Old Spaghetti Factory; one of their employees actually recommended Mama D's saying "It is WAY better than this place". The valet is complimentary - which I very much appreciated! And the service was outstanding, our waiter even asked for our names and remembered them throughout the night which I thought was a nice touch. We even got offered to try some free ravioli! I'm slightly obsessed with anything free (as you probably noticed) so I was in heaven already. The food was SUPERB. The bread is paired with garlic and olive oil; which I have never seen offered at any other Italian restaurant...and I loved it - even asked for a second basket ;) We ordered the mozzarella sticks, tortellini with pink sauce, and the lasagna...just out of this world! When the check came, it came with warm chocolate chip cookies...I mean COME ON! Amazing. The only only thing I would change is the noise level - I found myself yelling to communicate sometimes, and this isn't one of those usual 'romantic' Italian spots. I literally came straight home to write this review because I am blown away by how exceptional Mama D's is.

Perfection.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“this is not a New Yorker's Italian restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everyone raved about Mama D's. Everyone from California, that is. If you're born and bred in Brooklyn or the Bronx, you know Italian. This ain't it. Staff is super-friendly and helpful, but wait was loooong for a table, esp. with three hungry kids (and a cranky mom). Pasta gooey, sauce uninspired. Go for the garlic bread and the scene.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another great Tripadvisor recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Fantastic service and food with a fun atmosphere. They had something for everyone in the family. the wait was long but they served drinks and free apps while waiting outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama D's Italian also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Mama D's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama D's Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.