We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven to recharge...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Pelican Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort at Pelican Hill to your Saves list
The Resort at Pelican Hill
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A haven to recharge...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Me and my wife cant get enough and have probably stayed here over 10 times. The bungalows are magical, the views of the golf course and ocean are stunning and the service is absolutely impeccable. Dont forget to dine and enjoy the company of their staff!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    122
    81
    37
    41
See reviews for
301
302
19
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We phoned the hotel directly to book a room, and the first comment was we should use expedia rather than speak directly with them to book a same day reservation. There was no change in price, just seemed the hotel staffer was not interested in speaking directly with a client. Booked on Expedia at 11am and arrived at 4:10 pm (check in is at 4pm) only to be told our reservation had not been received by the front desk (gee wonder why we tried to call them directly...used to work in the hotel business...I am familiar with the drill).
Nonetheless our room was not ready, nor were many other rooms ready for other guests checking in to attend a wedding that evening. The staff were polite but not at all empathetic. Kept explaining their inspector had to examine each room prior to releasing in back to the front desk.
After an hour and a half, I asked the front desk agent how it was coming along and she suggested I verify my credit card so I could buy a drink in the bar?! How about a complimentary drink, given the hotel had us waiting for over two hours after check in to get our room?!
The concierge was helpful in booking a massage and dinner reservations, and seemed quite used to making the arrangements even though we had yet to officially check in.
The spa was lovely, the therapist very good, but the 50 minute massage was overpriced at $200+ and the gratuity was already added to the bill prior to the service. I was informed I could change it after my appointment. (wondering what they pay the staff if the tip was $40 without my input). There is no gym/work out area near the spa which was disappointing to my husband.
When we got our room it was spacious, airy and extremely comfortable. Pillows and mattress were excellent.
The irony, there was still a cleaning rag in our bathroom, wonder if the inspector missed it?
Dinner at Andrea's was good. The service was moderate but the food quality was excellent.
All in all, given we are in this area several times of the year for work and leisure, we will not be booking at this property again.
Over priced and most of the staff lacked true hospitality and grace.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your experience with us. I understand your disappointment with reservations and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, especially during check-in.

While I’m glad to read that you enjoyed the spa treatment, I regret the lack of communication regarding our fitness center that is located within the Spa. The fitness center, fitness classes and our spa facilities are available complimentary to Resort guests throughout their stay.

I have personally addressed your feedback with reservations, front office, housekeeping and spa mangers. Further, we would like to take a moment to speak with you personally to discuss your experience in detail. I will provide the contact information for the Director of Rooms separately in a private message, so you may contact him directly at your convenience. Once again, I apologize that your experience was anything less than perfect.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the pelican hill resort this August. They misplaced a 1500$ dollar handbag that I purchased online and had shipped to the hotel. They were/are extremely uncooperative in relocating it or providing any information on how it was handled. For the rate we paid I expected a far more professional service. So if you're staying at the hotel keep an eye on your expensive items and never ship any of your online purchases to the hotel.

Mr Giuseppe Lama, I would appreciate your help in relocating my package.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed in the South Villas. The villas are well appointed and spacious. Restaurants are terrific, golf course (I played the South Course) was exceptional, with great caddies. The Villa pool has great breezes and views of the distant ocean. Only complaints are that it did take time to have phones answered by staff and there were lots of loud children at the pool both days we went. Short two mile walk to Crystal Cove beach and easy driving (or Uber) distance from lots of restaurants and other activities.

Room Tip: EVery room I saw had exceptional views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona Del Mar, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stay at Pelican Hill twice a year as a "staycation". The Villas are perfect for families. I wouldn't even bother getting a sitter and going to a restaurant because the room service is incredible. The pools at the Villas are gorgeous and kid-friendly. I highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Villas are perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

For nearly 20 years, four couples have visited high end golf resorts each June. This year we visited Pelican Hill and found it excellent in every way. The lodging (4 bedroom villa overlooking golf course and Pacific) was wonderful. Golf courses were challenging and offered spectacular views. Restaurants in the resort were fantastic. Concierge (Jack) was very helpful in arranging reservations at local restaurants which were varied in cuisine and wonderful. Prompt shuttles made intra resort travel very easy. Taxis made travel to local towns easy.

All in all, a sensational (but expensive) trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

It's a shame that this hotel isn't on any of the top 50 in the world lists. This is truly a great hotel and never disappoints. The little touches are nice...like the way they toast your bread in your room for you. The coliseum pool is truly a sight and the two golf courses are some of the most scenic in CA. Prices have definitely gone up since it first opened, but that is to be expected with its popularity. While some of the bungalows have better views than others, they are all amazingly appointed and with all of the olive trees throughout the property, it could definitely be mistaken for a getaway in Italy. 5 stars all the way around.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Pelican Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.