We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautitful Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Pelican Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort at Pelican Hill to your Saves list
The Resort at Pelican Hill
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Beautitful Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is my third time staying at this resort and once again everything was wonderful. The bungalows and pool are beautiful. The Coliseum is a great place for breakfast with a very accommodating staff. The staff at the pool is very friendly and efficient. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The sunsets are gorgeous. This is a great resort to stay at when visiting the Newport Coast area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    108
    70
    31
    33
See reviews for
280
271
16
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This place is just amazing - the rooms were fabulous with the vaulted ceilings and enclosed patio that faced the ocean. The food was wonderful - I had lobster and scrambled eggs for breakfast every day. The spa was quite nice too. The shuttle will take you across the highway to this fabulous state park that has a couple cute places to eat and shop. One of the nicest places you can stay ...cannot say enough. The golf was also very good!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

we have just returned from a weeks stay --and found the service standards poorly lacking . We had been at this resort last year and it has definitely changed . Would think twice about coming back . on a positive note the golf and golf service were excellent . however the same can not be said of the resort /housekeeping .
on 3 days of our stay our rooms had not been cleaned and I had to phone numerous times to get housekeeping to address . after the first time it was agreed our room would be serviced by 2pm each day going forward --but the following day when we went back to our rooms at 4.30 nothing had been done .
the pool area is chaotic --- it is staffed by junior staff who just ignore you . on our first visit it took over an hour to get any beach towels and we had to ask 3 different people . it was then another hour to get a drink .Staff would reply "could you ask someone else "--so v difficult to get any service . after 2 similar visits we decided not to visit again . there was also lots of litter and dirty nappies left on the drink tables by the pool and when we did get a drinks service they put them on a table next to a dirty nappy /diaper which was nothing to do with us -- again asked for this to be removed and table cleaned --and took over an hour and a couple of asks for anything to be done .
finally check your account carefully -- our bill had duplicate charges on --and reception staff whilst agreeing it was wrong did not even apologise
such a shame as the golf facilities are excellent and last year service was not an issue --- it seems like management don't care as the basics are not there . avoid unless you want to be on the phone everyday to get things sorted .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback about your recent stay at Pelican Hill. While I’m glad to read that you enjoyed the golf facilities and service, it troubles me that you were disappointed in the overall level of service you encountered during your return visit.

At Pelican Hill, we are committed to providing ongoing service training for our staff, so we may not only meet, but exceed our guests’ expectations. I sincerely apologize for your experience with housekeeping and pool service, and assure you that I have personally followed up with the management teams to communicate your feedback.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, as your candid feedback is a valuable training tool. I kindly invite you to call the Director of Rooms, Santosh Kuruvilla, directly to discuss your feedback further. I will provide his contact information in a separate message, so we may take this opportunity to understand your perspective in more detail.
Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A fabulous place to stay but extremely short on staff. Their answer if you say something is to comp you. It's not the price its the service your after and when the service is lacking it ruins the experience. Also a lot of families with unruly children in the restaurants it seems parents do not care what their children are up to. We were sitting in the bar at 9:30pm, there were 3 children wrestling on the floor, running about and no parents. What are children doing in the bar at that hour?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing thoughts about your recent experience with us. I sincerely regret that your experience with us fell short of your expectations and our goals. It is the highest priority of our dedicated staff to deliver the best possible experience to each and every guest. I have taken the time to share your concerns with our restaurant managers, based on the feedback you kindly provided here. If you wish to discuss your experience further, I invite you to contact me directly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again for another visit in the future.


Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem District, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Everything was above and beyond except for a repair which was not made for us prior to our stay. The location was perfect and the service was beyond all expectations. As it turned out the weather was also in our favor so we were able to do everything we had planned. I would definitely recommend staying at this resort.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice resort if you are looking for boring, staff that never leaves you alone and solitude. Highly disappointed and we felt like we were in a prison. At $795 per night , we had to call housekeeping twice to come and make up the room. I felt the staff were over the top and they had an answer for everything ! Waited an hour to get ice as apparently that is a no no for guests to get their own ice. When you do finally get your room made up , there were 4 to 5 different people that came ! When asked if I need anything else.......yes, leave me alone ! Staff "hovers" over you too much. Could not wait to leave the prison !

Room Tip: Don't be sold on the website of the views . Again, overrated . If you are looking for average vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, General Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here. your candid feedback is appreciated. Please know that it is our priority to offer a pleasant and relaxing environment for all guests. I apologize if your experience has fallen short of your expectations and our goals. I welcome any additional thoughts you may prefer to share with us. I will send you a private message with the contact information for the director of rooms. Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in a large room with 2 queen beds. The room was exceptional. Everything was clean and new, with high level finishes and a view of the ocean. The pool was one of the best I've seen anywhere. Resort food was very good, and Newport is only about 10 min. down the mountain. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Pelican Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.