We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Pelican Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort at Pelican Hill to your Saves list
The Resort at Pelican Hill
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Amazing stay, great resort, personal service, unreal pool. I was surprised how many families were on vacation there, but an awesome place to stay, have meetings or lunch.

The golf course also have an beautiful course and the weather is surreal this time of year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    111
    71
    31
    33
See reviews for
281
279
17
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, NM
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful resort in a nice location. Quiet nice sized rooms and good food in an ideal location. Everything was top notch! Our only 2 complaints were that the pro shop staff could have been more friendly especially when guests are paying top dollar. Also, we were w/o wireless Internet service for over 48 hours despite asking the front desk to remedy the problem on multiple occasions. Other then that the resort is top notch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It is hard to write a review when you really do not have anything to complain about! The rooms are huge and beautiful. You have your own private terrace that has two lay out chairs and enough space to have a group of people on it.

The food at the pool was very good. The drinks are pricey but that is what I expected. A short drive in the Peninsula. We only stayed two days and unfortunately had to leave for the complete opposite of this hotel in Catalina Island. I wish I would have stayed here all week!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went last month for a friend's 40th - among the group of us, we rented 1 4 b.r. villa and 3 bungalows. The resort is absolutely beautiful. Everything is well appointed and luxurious. I really have no complaints about the service other than that feeling that they are looking at you like you don't belong there (especially when you drive up in your rented Mazda and they try to hide it away from the Maseratis, Lamborghinis and Aston Martins.) No joke! The pool is fanastic (the largest circular pool in the world I believe?) and we had great service (had a cabana both days). The food was decent at the pool as well. (We didn't eat at the formal restaurant.) Had a decent massage at the spa (though wouldn't say it was my best one ever or anything) and the facilities (sauna, steam, wading pool) were well worth getting there early. The place is huge (for example the bungalows and villas are almost a mile apart) but they will drive you in golf carts or shuttles - however, be prepared to wait a fair amount at key times. My husband (a high handicapper) played golf and said it was fairly difficult but obviously a nice course. Can't complain other than you will pay big money for everything. However, for a special occasion where you are prepared to drop a fair amount of $, it was certainly worth it.

Room Tip: Not sure what the "rooms" are like but "bungalows" are enormous rooms with bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleasantly surprised with this jewel. A beautiful suite that we literally stayed in most of the day on Friday. Very comfortable bed with great views anywhere in the hotel and grounds. Definitely want to come back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is truly one of the nicest resorts in the United States. The staff service is over the top. The bungalows are spacious and luxurious. The large pool with renting a cabana is wonderful. The golf courses are beautiful and challenging. The restaurants have fantastic food and service. I can't say one bad thing about this place. I would recommend to go as soon as you can!

Room Tip: We actually didn't have an ocean view, I don't think it matters. This property doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Resort at Pelican Hill is a truly spectacular place. Set back in Newport Coast, driving up one gets the feeling of pulling into a sprawling mansion rather than a hotel. And with rooms starting at 847 square feet, mansion size is somewhat fitting.

My specific room was a bungalow suite. Though not even close to the largest accommodation here (the Villas take that honor), the room was still almost 1700 square feet. But a big room is one thing; this one was also fitted with immense detail, and tended to by a housekeeping team that made it look as though we never lived in the place.

Beyond the rooms, the Resort at Pelican hill also features multiple fine dining options, an insane infinity pool, and 24 hour “courtesy shuttles” (essentially, you give them a call and they will send a Mercedes to take you anywhere on property).

In sum, I’ve stayed at many of the world’s finest hotels, and unquestionably the Resort at Pelican Hill holds its own in that category. If you’re looking for an unforgettable place to relax and unwind, it’ll be tough to do better.

Room Tip: There are two categories of rooms here: Bungalows and Villas. Villas are larger suites (2br and up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Pelican Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.