We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Pelican Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort at Pelican Hill to your Saves list
The Resort at Pelican Hill
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very unique resort with bungalows and villas. Great restaurant. Two golf courses which are average, but with a high green fee. Service is great. Good spa. We were upgraded from a bungalow to a three bedroom villa. Beautiful villa with about 2500 sq ft - full kitchen, 3 bedrooms and 3 baths, large LR and DR, flat panel tv's in LR and all BR's. Main drawback - you need a shuttle to get to the Villa Clubhouse or the mail clubhouse. However, more convenient if you have a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    121
    77
    35
    38
See reviews for
297
296
19
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ladera Ranch, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my husbands work conference and it was great. The rooms are very nice & the service is great. The views from the rooms are gorgeous. You are close to Fashion Island (shopping) & Newport which has a lot of restaurants & shops. It's a great location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights in one of the bungalows at Pelican Hill and I cannot say enough about this gorgeous property. Our room was exquisite with all the amenities we could ever want. Without exception, the staff was very professional, friendly and accommodating to our every need. The grounds and the pool are beautiful with spectacular views. The restaurants and the spa are also wonderful. I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've just recently stayed at the Villas at the Pelican Hills Resort in Newport Beach. What a wonderful place to stay! The spacious 3bedroom villa comes with a butler who is simply one touch on the phone away. He is never near the villa unless you require his services. If you would like a ride to one of the restaurants he pulls up in a black Escalade to escort you to your desired destination. The views of the golf course and ocean are hard to tear your eyes away from! The fridge was stocked with a few things to get you started in the morning. I will be back! The entire experience was first rate!,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Second time staying here. Overall First Class Resort with Excellent Service. However, they have some holes in their game that need to be addresses for a resort of this caliber.

Called a few days before our arrival to set up car service to take us to dinner. Took 3 follow up calls to confirm a car and then we were informed it would be a $200 minimum for a one way drop off. Ended up using an independent service for half the cost and had an S Class pick us up.

Upon check in, we were escorted to our Ocean View Bungalow, which was very nice. Spacious, nice balcony, etc. The guy who showed us to our room was very thorough, explained where everything was, how everything worked, the amenities, etc. Great start!

Called to book massages at the spa. Danielle informed me that our desired times were booked, but she would put us on the waiting list. She was very friendly and very helpful. Ended up booking some other treatments. Within 5 minutes there was a knock on our door and a confirmation letter was delivered. The next day she followed up with a call to let us know that a spot opened up, which made my wife very happy.

We arrived back late after a long night out and looked for a privacy or DND sign, but couldn't find one. Also, they didn't do turn down service that night. Not a huge deal, but it's a nice touch...

We passed out and hoped for the best. Sure enough, housekeeping comes at 9:30am the next morning and wakes us up. Not their fault, but wish we would have had that sign. We fall back asleep, only to be awoken again 45 minutes later buy a delivery to our room. I asked the guy if he could bring us a privacy sign. He said he would, but never came back with one.

Another late night and pretty much a repeat of the same scenario as the day before. So much for sleep on this trip! Our fault for not calling again to request a privacy sign but kind of annoying that it wasn't there and our first request was ignored.

Also, Water, Coffee and Mini bar were never refreshed throughout our trip and dirty coffee cups and wine glasses were left on counter from first day/night. Had to wash them ourselves to use again.

Would we come back. Yes. However, the service seems to be a bit inconsistent. It's either over the top good or severely lacking. Hope management fills some of these gaps so I can give it 5 stars on next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I just came back from The Resort at Pelican Hill. We were there on a business trip with a few extra days added on for pleasure. This was my first trip to the Newport Beach area. It's a beautiful place, very affluent. The resort itself is gorgeous but not your average resort. There is not a main hotel with rooms attached. The resort, as many people have described, is broken up into a main entrance which has the main pool, spa, workout center and restaurants. The lodging is spread out throughout the resort. It has the feel of a beautiful planned community. The rooms (king/2Queens sitting area) which are called bungalows are in clusters a short walk/ride away from the main building. In addition to the bungalows there are also two,three and four bedroom villas. We stayed in a two bedroom Garden view Villa. The 2 bed Villas are Four to a building I believe, and there is a top floor called 3rd floor and bottom one called 2nd floor. We had a North Villa with a garden view on the 2nd floor. If you are concerned about a view of the Ocean you definitely need to be on the top(3rd floor) or in a South Villa across the street . Also our Villa was very dark and very dimly lit. Our Garden View was the parking lot and trees which also added to the darkness. The company was paying so we really couldn't change rooms . We did try though and I have to say the ONLY employee we encountered at Pelican Hill that wasn't great was the Guy at the Villa check in desk who was just arrogant and not interested at all in helping us. The Villas are decorated gorgeously and are fully equipped with full kitchens and a butler that is always available to pick you up and take you anywhere in the resort . The villas would be great great for families. There is also a separate Villa clubhouse with it's own smaller (but still beautiful) pool and fitness room and check in lobby. There are also 2 golf courses and a clubhouse building which also has a wonderful restaurant The Pelican Grill which has gorgeous views. I have such mixed feelings about this resort. We had a wonderful time, it was beautiful and so clean and well maintained and for the most part everyone was great but I'm not sure I really like the layout. The having to call for a ride or walk everywhere to get to different things was kind of a pain. I somehow think I would like everything attached. I did not go to the main pool because it was just a hassle and easier to go to the pool right across the street but wish I would have because its breath taking. Coffee shop is also in the main building so you can't just go downstairs to get some coffee. I think these are just personal preferences though. All in all this is really a great resort. One other thing to mention. I'm from the east coast and always think of California as being warm. It was really cold and damp the day we arrived. Weather cleared up but it's not as warm as you would expect for May. One other tip, this resort is on a hillside with a view of the ocean it is not on the ocean. Just thought I'd point that out because I did not realize those things. I would definitely return to Pelican Hill but glad I now know the development and know where I would want to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the ocean you have to book it because a lot have garden views which is trees a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our second visit to PH. Last time (also during peak spring break season), we were upgraded to a 4 bedroom villa on the Fine Hotels and Resorts program, but this time we were told that having booked a 2 bedroom villa, we could not be upgraded to any other villa. After checking in and noticing that the villa had a distinct dank and moldy odor, we requested a villa change via the concierge and we were told that no other villas were available. (The reason for this is that the 2 bedroom villas are in shared building with 4 villas per building. All 2 bedroom villas look out into the parking area/garage roof, and the street beyond. Even the "ocean view 2 bedrooms are covered with an overhanging roof so that there is no option for lounging on your own terrace in the sun- in fact very little light gets into the villa- thus the dankness we noticed) There is also no privacy at all since the villas are in adjoining spaces and stacked together. When I questioned further, I was told that we could change to a 3 bedroom villa for an additional $1000, night. We were told at check in that there was a $60 credit per day for breakfast for the FHR program. We asked which restaurants would offer breakfast at that rate and we were told both the villa restaurant and the Coliseum Grill. There was no mention that the next day was Easter and that the only offering would be a $50 per person buffet. We did go to the main restaurant, and were not told by the hostess, or by out server that it would be a special holiday price. We were also not offered any champagne, etc which must have been included for that price (I'm guessing?)
I called to reserve in advance for Easter dinner. I asked if there were any options for regular ala carte dining, not a special holiday menu, as it was our desire to experience Andrea's regular menu options. I actually called the central dining reservations number on 3 occasions as we were clarifying our plans, and was told that after 5pm on Easter it would be the regular menu. After we were seated, we were given an abbreviated, 5 option special holiday menu!
The first two days our villa was not visited by housekeeping until very late in the day- after we returned from the days activities to shower for dinner. On the 3rd day, I requested that our villa be cleaned earlier so that they didn't arrive while the 3 of us were trying to shower and get ready for dinner. All 7 days, they came after 5pm. I felt very uncomfortable talking with the staff at the villa clubhouse when there were other guests in the building, which was almost every time, as they spoke in very loud voices and had no discretion discussing your personal affairs for others to hear. Cars to transport didn't arrive when called, etc, no bell hop (butler?) showed us to our villa, rather he arrived about 20 minuted after we had taken all of our luggage up and unpacked. Our villa (613) out the back doors looked directly at a bare dirt hill with no landscaping to conceal the white PVC pipes running down. So, as long as you book a 3 or 4 bedroom villa, and don't mind having to ask questions repeatedly, PH is a great resort. I did send Mr Lama an email after our stay to express these concerns and I received no reply.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHillResort, Director of Rooms at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Francine,

I am deeply disappointed to hear that your recent visit was less than perfect, and appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback here. As a valued guest of Pelican Hill, I want to thank you for returning to our Italian seaside village, and apologize that your experience over the Easter holiday did not meet your expectations and our goals.

We are pleased to provide accommodation upgrades when available, although occasionally guest demand does not allow it. I apologize for any discontent you may have experienced with your two-bedroom Villa. I understand our Villa Manager spoke directly with you and offered to assist with a room move after your first night, but appreciate that you and your family were already settled in to your accommodations. Rest assured, our team has thoroughly inspected the Villa you stayed in, and no mold has been found.

Please know that I have followed up with the management teams of our food and beverage, housekeeping and front office departments to ensure that your comments are considered carefully, as we continuously strive to heighten the guest experience throughout our Five-Star Resort.

I would like to take the time to speak with you directly to discuss your feedback in more detail. I will provide my contact details separately in a private message. Again, thank you for your candid feedback.

Kind regards,

David Phillips
Director of Rooms
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Pelican Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.