We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property, but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Pelican Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort at Pelican Hill to your Saves list
The Resort at Pelican Hill
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent property, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

5 star property with outstanding views of the Pacific Ocean. We stayed in a King room- spacious with beautiful view of the ocean - around Rm #400. Shuttle provided down the hill to lobby or spa- but totally enjoyed walking back to the room each night. Great area to walk right from the hotel- @3-4miles to Corona Del Mar public park by ocean and easy 2 miles walk on sidewalk the other way along residential/condo area. Newport Beach rocky and dirty- but park path paved and very nice.
Conceirge service was terrible - to say the least. We we're trying to arrange a private dinner party at Andrea's and they consistently NEVER returned emails or phone calls. The party turned off without a hitch- pasta amazing, but rest of food overrated for the price.
Golf - very expensive- but again with beautiful views and course.
Colliseum Grill food yummy...but we only had appetizers.
Overall- would return to hotel for amazing views, rooms, spa and pool- but service definitely lacking and food average at best. Hotels of this rating need excellence in all areas - not just the view! Would choose Florida or Mexico before this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    122
    82
    37
    41
See reviews for
305
308
19
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I attended a wedding at the Pelican Hills a couple of months ago and must say I was very disappointed with the property. There is nothing special about this resort as I have seen and stayed at much more beautiful resorts around the world. I do agree with the other reviews regarding "lack of character" and quite frankly, I also don't understand all the hype. The food quality served at the wedding was good but nothing exceptional.

I do hope they make all the necessary changes to get customer service to an exceptional level.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had just dropped off our youngest daughter to UCSD to start college. We decided to take a litte down time and relaxtion for ourselves and start our journey as empty nesters so we drove one and half hours from La Jolla to this little paradise in the sun. Oh my!
Well, what a wondeful surprise upon our arrival to this fabulous resort. From the time we checked in everything was perfect. This is truly one great place. It has the largest circular pool in the world.....the restauants were also excellent no to mention the great ocean views.
Something interesting is they not only do they have single rooms where we stayed WITH a wonderful patio where we had breakfast. BUT also there are two, three and four bedroom villas for rent, great for families; Seven days for as long as you wish..some really great deals afetr 30 days. Gorgeous and very reasonably priced.
Anyway, you cannot go wrong staying here. It is the best place in this area for the price including the Ritz! Youwill think you have died and gone to heaven.
We left th resort a few night to try to local restaurants that the concerge suggested..again, excellet suggestions.
We left with some great memories and have no question planning on spending more time next Spring there.

Room Tip: Any....reuqest a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel property is amazing. The customer service from the front desk, to housekeeping, to room service is really very high end.

My only word of caution is with respect to the view. Given that this property is very close to the ocean you might think that the rooms will all have a decent view -- no so. If ocean view is important to you be sure to ask. Our wonderful suite had a view of bushes, not even a glimpse of the ocean or horizon from where we were.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just stayed for one night at the Resort this past weekend and this is what I thought about it.

Check in- When we pulled up to Valet they took my car to a waiting area beacause after you check-in you get escorted (Follow an employee driving a Golf Cart) to your parking spot. From the spot he loaded our bags in the golf cart and drove us to our room.

The room - beautiful and spacious. I booked a Bungalow with 2 queen beds, ocean view. The "ocean view" was lacking as this property is NOT right on the water. The ocean can be seen in the far distance. So if your expecting waves to be crashing at your balcony, this is not the place. The room had a fireplace, a nice sitting area, high ceilings and a very spaciuos balcony. The beds were very comfortable, the room was very clean- definately a good value in my opinion.

The Service- I did not eat at any of the restaurants so I cannot commemt on that. However, I needed directions to Fashion Island from the Resort and I called concierge. They printed out the directions and brought them to my room, I thought that showed alot about their concern for service. I felt that Check-in was not very inviting and nice little tour,a glasss of champagne or something would have been nice.We did order room service in the morning for coffee and Hot Chocolate and we sat out on the balcony which was nice. We also took their complimentary shuttle down to the beach Crystal Cove, the driver was very nice he took us staright back to our room on our return. The are shuttle and golf carts all over the place so in my case that was great becasue I was with my Mother and Grandmother who cannot walk very far.

I would definately come back to the resort again, maybe this time with my siginificant other. I would also come for a longer stay and so I could enjoy more amenities.

Room Tip: Bungalows are very spacious. I dont think the "ocean view" is worth the extra money- the G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 4 nights at Pelican Hill in a 3 bedroom Villa. The villa was outstanding - large rooms, huge bathrooms, full kitchen. Each bedroom had it's own large screen TV. Even larger TV and fireplace in Living Room. Large private patio with a stunning view of the sun setting over Catalina. They even had milk, orange juice, cereal, 4 bottles of beer, and bottle water to get you started. Service was spectacular - From Check-in, the pool, the restaurants, housekeeping, valet, all of the hotel staff we encountered were exceptionally nice, and attentive, exactly what you would expect from a 5 Star Resort. Villas have private clubhouse with smaller pool and food service. We played golf on both courses. Views of the Ocean and canyons are spectacular! Both courses are very challenging. Contrary to the pictures on their website - only 2 holes on the South course are near the ocean. Golf rates include a forecaddie which is a BIG help and I strongly suggest taking advantage of the service - at least the first time you play each course. All have stunning views from up on the hillside. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Property is spread out and the resort does offer complimentary shuttle service. It could be a long w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful and well maintained resorts I have ever been to. The service was impeccable, and everyone remembered my name after helping me one time. I wish I would have had time to golf - the course looks incredible! I did get to eat breakfast at The Colosseum, which was the best buffet I have ever experienced. I also got to spend an hour or so at the pool, which was stunning and had great views! The rooms were beautiful as well, and I was very impressed with housekeeping.

The spa was very nice as well, I just wish I had more time to enjoy it!

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom bungalow was great, but I would have rather had a full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Pelican Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.