We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Was In Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Pelican Hill

Save Saved
You added The Resort at Pelican Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I Was In Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Never have I stayed in such a luxurious and tranquil as all the others that I have stayed at before. I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed my every minute of stay in this villa, Pelican Hill Resort. On reaching our destination, I was completely blown away by the lush greenery in the gardens surrounding the villas and the beautifully-furnished and cosy room.

Pelican Hill Resort is strategically-located along the coast in Newport Beach and it is a perfect place for you to escape the hustle and bustle of city life. Besides enjoying the state-of-the-art facilities provided, you can take a short walk to the soft sandy beach for a stroll to enjoy the breathtaking scenery or you can take a leisurely walk around the huge landscaped surroundings where you can just enjoy nature’s beauty.

I stayed in one of the 847 square feet single storey bungalow room with a view terrace overlooking the Pacific Ocean for 2 nights. I must admit I had a really sound sleep those two nights. I particularly liked the fireplace which kept us warm (I was there in winter) especially as, being a Malaysian from a tropical country, I felt pretty cold as I rarely travelled in winter. Besides, we were treated to a wide variety of channels on the television. In addition, we had free Wi-Fi service. Not all resorts in the upper range too provide free Internet services.

The room was very clean as it was still quite a new resort and was well-maintained. I also liked the design of the bathroom. It was very spacious and well-designed. You can take a quick shower or if time is on your side, you can enjoy the bathtub. Beside the bathtub is a window from which you can look into the room and also admire magnificent scenery of the lovely ocean outside the room. This was another unique feature of the room which caught my attention.

Finally, the service provided by the staff of the resort was first-class. They attended to your every need and were most polite and efficient. I also ordered the food on the menu there and it was quite delicious. I wouldn’t hesitate if I got another opportunity to return to this splendid place again but only if I have a lot of money because it cost quite an exorbitant sum to stay here. However, if you really want to have an enjoyable, relaxing and peaceful vacation without worrying about a budget, Pelican Hill Resort may just be the right place for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    530
    94
    63
    23
    23
See reviews for
240
239
16
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Pelican Hill is a true 5 star resort! It is exquisitely beautiful, quiet and out of the way. Perfect for golfers, spa-goers or people who just want their privacy. We stayed for 2 weeks in a king bungalow overlooking the Ocean. The rooms are not directly on the ocean but they have ocean views and are spacious, comfortable, new and clean. We had a double fireplace, huge bathrooms, huge bedroom- everything was perfect. The staff was amazing and everyone bent over backwards to make sure we were taken care of. The property is very large so it never appears crowded or busy- even over Christmas. The landscaping and property are impeccable. We played a lot of golf. Both the North and South courses have stunning views. We preferred the North as do most people our caddies told us. The only complaint (which I can't even really complain about) was the driving range had mats not grass but I believe in the summer they use grass. We had massages at the spa and I had manicures, pedicures and hair- all were excellent! The food was excellent- our waiter Mauricio at Andrea's was especially helpful! Breakfast and brunch overlooking the pool was great. Only food downside was meals from room service were good/ok but not over-the-top like everything else. We had a chance to check out the villas. If we came back with more people we would stay in the larger South villas. The smaller North villas were nice looking but I thought the bungalows were a little more personality. If you are staying in the villas you have a private clubhouse and pool. The pool for the rest of the resort is so gorgeous and convenient that having the villa pool would have just been an added bonus. This place may be considered "expensive" compared to a lot of places but we felt we more than got more than our money's worth. Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a corporate retreat in January 2012. The rooms are lovely and they all seem to have magic views of the ocean. The staff is exceptional and went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful time. On our first day there, one of the shuttle drivers gave us an impromptu ride down to Crystal Cove beach for lunch. The grounds are so large that you need either the shuttle bus or the ubiquitous golf carts to get around, otherwise you have to walk a lot. Wasn't a big problem for us, as we liked the exercise.

Restaurants were nice and the food was quite delicious. Access to the beach was nice, but again, you probably need the shuttle rather than walking down.

Overall it was a great experience and we loved our time there.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo,NY
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed at the resort at pelican hill recently on a business trip with Porsche ( who i work for ), I was lucky enough to have my room paid for for a few nights while i paid for a few nights myself as i extended my stay.

I arrived at John Wayne airport and picked up my rental car ( i believe its about a $30 cab ride ), the drive to the resort took about 20 minutes and it was easy to find ( using my GPS :) ), i pulled into the reception area and was checked in in minutes, i was greeted warmly and everyone had a smile and a greeting for me.

I had a bungalow reserved, which i had one of the employees lead me to it in a golf cart while i followed in my rental car , i was staying in 439 which while offering a great view is a little far away from some of the amenities ( more on that later )

My bungalow was a very nice warm place to be, i had a private terrace with a great ocean view, and a nice bathroom with a huge walk in shower, one minor complaint is that while there is a good size fridge in the room it was fully stocked with ( expensive ) sundries and if you want to store anything to keep cool you will have to get creative, i think with all the storage options they offer in the room a little mini fridge to keep your own things cool would be a nice idea.

In the room is also a nice flat screen HDTV with an impressive BOSE audio system built in.
As i mentioned earlier, being in room 439 i found myself a little far away from such amenities as the pool and restaurants along with the spa and its around a 10 minute walk to get to some of those features, if you can try and get yourself a bungalow in at least the 300 block, or maybe even something in the lower numbers as you'll find yourself spending less time walking and more time enjoying.

While im on the subject of amenities, the restaurants on site are amazing a little expensive ( which you would expect in a resort such as this but my favourite feature is the coliseum pool, its breathtaking and one of the most impressive pools ive come across.

I didnt get to experience the golf course, but it also looked amazing, if youre looking to treat yourself to a beautiful resort in the beautiful setting of Newport Beach california then this should be high on your list.

Room Tip: Try and request something no higher than 300 block, that way youll spend less time walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This hotel is great. Perfect beds and room service. Stunning views. No doubt I will come back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Everything about Pelican Hill is outstanding. The rooms, the service, the grounds, the facilites.

Room Tip: I had a one bedroom bungalow suite. A huge bedroom with fireplace, separate dressing area and bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were lucky enough to spend our last night on our babymoon/last hurrah vacation in a beautiful Villa at Pelican Hills. We shared a three bedroom with my sister and her family (7 of us total) and it was perfect! We had a spectacular view of the golf course and ocean with Catalina Island in perfect site. We spent the first afternoon at the Villa pool, which is the smaller of the resort pools, but it was still quite large. The waitstaff was attentive and we couldn't have asked for a better day.

Our Villa was well appointed with every amentity we could think of. The bulter service was great and when we needed a wine opener, we got one within 5 minutes! We had room service breakfast and it wasn't over the top expensive and then spent a lazy morning/afternoon up at the main Coliseum pool, which we were told was the worlds largest circular salt water pool! It was rumored that the owner flew over the pool when it was being built and didn't like that the tiles didn't reflect the water, so they drained it and started over. We loved that it was 4 foot all around so the kids could be in the middle and still have fun! We also loved the kiddie pool area with the water "fountain" feature that shoots water - fun for the kids to play!

We will definitely be making a trip back to Pelican and hopefully stay longer to enjoy the golf and spa! If you want to spend a little more than say at a Marriott or the like, the Pelican is a must!

Room Tip: Check around for discounted rates - sometimes when they aren't fully committed, they will offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Pelican Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.