We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once is enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Balboa Inn to your Saves list
Balboa Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Main Street, Newport Beach, CA 92661   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Once is enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A friend raved about Balboa Island and suggested that we stay at the Balboa Inn on the peninsula. Perhaps one of our mistakes was going on the July 4th weekend, when the Balboa area was overrun with the Great Unwashed. But judging from the plethora of tee-shirt and tchotke shops, this area is just a tourist trap with expensive residences. We checked in on a Sunday to the hotel's unassuming lobby (just a valet and one employee behind a small desk). The common areas were bright and had some thoughtful design touches. Our room had been renovated but was a little rough around the edges (plumbing fixtures weren't secure). if there was a pool or restaurant, nobody bothered to show either to us. That night we were awoken by drunken revelers in the halls and the following morning we were subjected to the drone of garbage trucks removing trash. Suffice it to say that we located a breakfast spot and checked out shortly thereafter. Never again...

Room Tip: ask for a room on the ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    24
    36
    77
See reviews for
45
77
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa clarita
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Tried to have a quick 2 day relaxing trip with my family. Absolute horrible experience stay away. I called the hotel Monday the 23rd asking about the rooms the picture shows the family suite with an old style and an updated style. Laura had explained to me all rooms were remodeled so I went ahead and booked the room trusting her word. I show up with my family late probably about 10-1030Pm. I check in take my family to our room to find out the room had not been remodeled the fire place was broken with pieces hanging off of it. Spiders on the ceiling carpet stained old towels in the bathroom stained dirty air condition barely hanging on wall. I go down stairs to complain they move me to a room that is remodeled but 1bed so now my 4 kids have to sleep on the floor. We get into the room the lights don't work the tv only works manually the drain in the bathroom sink is clogged and this is supposed to be a remodeled room. By this time it was midnight. Next morning I go back down to complain they move me and my family again. We move our stuff and go to the beach we get back about 9 from dinner and beach ready to relax and finally enjoy our night. Now in this deluxe suite the air is broken and makes a horrible noise tv is broken no picture or remote. So I go back down to complain they send someone up to fix tv but can't fix it. The guy at the front says I don't know why they would put you in that room the air is broken. We could not have the windows open because the room next door was smoking cigars. So it was hot and no tv with 6 six of us. Next day talk to owner of building he says nothing he can do nothing that's the
price you pay for location. Really???? Everyday basic things should work at all hotels no matter location. Waste of money no discount no compensation what so ever. I took pictures of everything I will be posting and writing reviews everywhere. Please save yourself when thinking about coming to the balboa inn. Oh and the employees are scared of him (Michelle) yes that is his name. That should also tell you something.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

After reading reviews that were less than great , I went ahead and booked a two night stay at the Balboa Inn to take a fishing trip for my husbands birthday. It was a wonderful experience! Taking heed of some reviews, I booked a suite. I was able to negotiate a fair price, and actually got the best room in the place! The staff was extremely helpful and kind. The views and location are excellent. I will certainly book another stay there when we go fishing again. Thanks Balboa Inn for a lovely experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We loved being in such great walking distance to the Fun Zone, several restaurants and bars, bike rentals, and the whale watching opportunities, Walked to both piers and spent time on the beach. The view from the Jacuzzi was lovely. The parking was reasonable for the area--we self parked one car and used the valet for the other.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Just returned from a 4 day stay, reservation through booking.com. advertised free bike rental, breakfast, outdoor Jacuzzi, refrigerator inn room, restaurant and parking might have a fee!

No bike rental included, continental breakfast - not breakfast, Jacuzzi broke 3 of 4 days there, gave us a refrigerator last night, restaurant closed Monday and Tuesday, parking $45.00 per night. Mold on shower curtain.

Response from management and owners that were available around property - "THATS BOOKING.COMS PROBLEM!"

Thank god it was my 19th anniversary and not my 20th! there are 3 other hotels in Newport all for the same price and all have better management.

Room Tip: the suites are not suites - we were in a jr suie. it had a Jacuzzi tub - small tv and no dresser co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miche M, General Manager at Balboa Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
The customer was booked for a Deluxe room and was given a free upgrade to a Junior Suite. There was a fridge delivered to the guest upon their request. We do have 2 outdoor Jacuzzis one of which was under repairs and the guest could have used the other one with no problem.
We do offer complimentary continental breakfast for all our guests from 7:00 AM - 10 AM on a daily basis. We do offer valet parking for a fee and is not free. There are other choices for parking in the area which was explained to the guest.
There is also a bike rental shop that rents all types of bicycles and offers a discount to hotel guests but not complimentary.
And it is unfortunate that some guests think they should get all services for free and threaten to write a negative review if their demands are not met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had 3 days planned in a suite, ocean view-216. Left after one night. Window cranks broken, could not close some windows, no screens on windows, 3 light bulbs out, TV advertised as time Warner, it did not have digital cable box so limited tv- night manager was surprised he thought all rooms fully equipped. We missed NBA playoff game. Electric plug in bathroom did not function. Has a pedestal sink in bathroom, had to put my wife's stuff on floor to use bathroom except light was so weak we had to use sink in living area. Had to ask for hair drier. Arrived at 12:30 promised room at 2pm, then 2:30 but did not get in till 3pm, staffs attitude was disappointing at best.

We forgot and left two purses behind when we checkout. We called the night manager that night and asked if they had found them. He said they had found nothing. We asked him to go to the room and check in the drawer under the tv and we would drive to hotel and pick them up. When we got there, two hours later, he said he had checked in all locations, maid closet etc and did not find anything. We insisted we be shown the room. I found my wife's two purses right where we told him to look. If we had not insisted he would have had the purses and contents.
Great location is all I can say positively.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

What a great location, totally up to date property. Beautiful finishes in the room.

The Balconies facing the ocean are a dream come true: having a cup of coffee or reading a book between activities. The only alternative is to rent a house on the ocean for a week.

Comments about noise from the street from beach partiers was unfounded. During Spring Break.

The hot-tubs were cool, especially with an ocean view. The cute shops and restaurants in and around the hotel were nice too.

Parked in the City Lot next to the hotel, along the beach for free. During the day we were mostly on the road or paid the $1.50 an hour to park in the public lot (saving $35 a day for valet).

Wifi was $20 a day, but our room faced Cabo and we jumped on their Wifi in the day/evening. Free.

The Cons: The hot tubs hold 10 and 2 people each. Other than in the morning they are cloudy and filled with bather's sand. They are also not limited to guests. We had 6 people admit that they live in the neighborhood and use the hot tubs at will. Their being in the hot tub made it so there wasn't room for us to be in it. In fact, we never used the hot tubs while we were there because of water quality and crowding. The hotel needs to fix this.
Breakfast was cold cereal box, bagels, mini-muffins, coffee, oranges and apples. Definitely not consistent with the rest of the experience.

For the price and it's 2014, Wifi should be included.

There's a beautiful bubble bath in the room, unfortunately they are all turned off due to parts issues.

The biggest negative, that is yet to be resolved through Travelocity, was that we booked for 2 adults and a 17 yr old. The room description offered a double bed and couch, with a corner room and balcony. This is not the room we got. It lacked the couch and our daughter had to sleep on a mat on the floor that we had brought with us, just in case the bed was too firm.

For couples that don't mind all the above, this is a great location.

Room Tip: Pay for the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
1.5 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Inn

Address: 105 Main Street, Newport Beach, CA 92661
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balboa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Balboa Inn, in Newport Beach, Orange County, is a place where casual beachside ambiance and classic Old World charm combine in a historic landmark that’s lured Southern California's rich and famous for decades. Set on the colorful boardwalk at the foot of the Balboa Pier, this oceanfront establishment’s relaxed air may have you kicking off your high heels before you stroll down the aisle. Built in 1929, this upscale Orange County inn has entertained such notables as Howard Hughes, Barry Goldwater and a host of other politicians, entertainers and honeymooners. Once owned by the Los Angeles Lakers’ Kareem Abdul Jabbar, its nine-foot ceilings still bear a telltale sign of the basketball star. A recent $6-million addition features two oceanview terraces, a new oceanview Italian tile sundeck with hot tub, 34 upgraded rooms, 11 top-of-the-line suites and convenient subterranean valet parking. Guests enter the Inn through the Mediterranean-style courtyard, a natural space for pre-ceremony mingling. With its original tile, adobe walls, potted palms, bar and the soothing sound of surf crashing in the background, the space is a comfortable area for people to come together. Meanwhile, you, your groom and all your attendants have full use of an oceanview honeymoon suite with a Jacuzzi and fireplace. For the wedding ceremony itself, options include the hotel’s magnificent second-floor Siena Terrace overlooking the ocean, as well as the nearby gazebo at Peninsula Park and the adjacent rugby field fronting the ocean, where a decorated arch can provide a focal point. After you’ve said your “I do’s,” the Pacific Ocean provides fabulous scenery for photos taken on the pier, the sand or the grassy field next to the beach. When you’re ready to receive your guests, return to the upstairs terrace with its panoramic views from Catalina Island to Dana Point. Or, hold your wedding reception in the Siena Grand Dining Room and adjoining courtyard, where antique streetlights and colorful murals of gondolas on canals capture the romance of Venice. Along with five-star Italian cuisine by the restaurant’s gifted executive chef, you’ll enjoy a dreamy indoor-outdoor setting cleansed by refreshing sea spray. Far removed from the straight-laced formality of more corporate properties, the Balboa Inn is just steps from Newport’s famed Fun Zone. Here, you can pose for some playful photos on the historic carousel and Ferris wheel, or take a stress-busting ferry ride across Newport Bay. After you’ve returned to your guests to dance the night away, there’s one more thing you’ll probably want to do before heading for your honeymoon suite: go for a moonlit stroll along the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Balboa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balboa Hotel Newport Beach
Balboa Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.