We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for visiting the sites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Inn

Save Saved
You added Balboa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balboa Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Main Street, Newport Beach, CA 92661   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Anaheim Hills, California
1 review
“Great location for visiting the sites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We loved being in such great walking distance to the Fun Zone, several restaurants and bars, bike rentals, and the whale watching opportunities, Walked to both piers and spent time on the beach. The view from the Jacuzzi was lovely. The parking was reasonable for the area--we self parked one car and used the valet for the other.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    17
    30
    72
See reviews for
38
64
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Just returned from a 4 day stay, reservation through booking.com. advertised free bike rental, breakfast, outdoor Jacuzzi, refrigerator inn room, restaurant and parking might have a fee!

No bike rental included, continental breakfast - not breakfast, Jacuzzi broke 3 of 4 days there, gave us a refrigerator last night, restaurant closed Monday and Tuesday, parking $45.00 per night. Mold on shower curtain.

Response from management and owners that were available around property - "THATS BOOKING.COMS PROBLEM!"

Thank god it was my 19th anniversary and not my 20th! there are 3 other hotels in Newport all for the same price and all have better management.

Room Tip: the suites are not suites - we were in a jr suie. it had a Jacuzzi tub - small tv and no dresser co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miche M, General Manager at Balboa Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
The customer was booked for a Deluxe room and was given a free upgrade to a Junior Suite. There was a fridge delivered to the guest upon their request. We do have 2 outdoor Jacuzzis one of which was under repairs and the guest could have used the other one with no problem.
We do offer complimentary continental breakfast for all our guests from 7:00 AM - 10 AM on a daily basis. We do offer valet parking for a fee and is not free. There are other choices for parking in the area which was explained to the guest.
There is also a bike rental shop that rents all types of bicycles and offers a discount to hotel guests but not complimentary.
And it is unfortunate that some guests think they should get all services for free and threaten to write a negative review if their demands are not met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had 3 days planned in a suite, ocean view-216. Left after one night. Window cranks broken, could not close some windows, no screens on windows, 3 light bulbs out, TV advertised as time Warner, it did not have digital cable box so limited tv- night manager was surprised he thought all rooms fully equipped. We missed NBA playoff game. Electric plug in bathroom did not function. Has a pedestal sink in bathroom, had to put my wife's stuff on floor to use bathroom except light was so weak we had to use sink in living area. Had to ask for hair drier. Arrived at 12:30 promised room at 2pm, then 2:30 but did not get in till 3pm, staffs attitude was disappointing at best.

We forgot and left two purses behind when we checkout. We called the night manager that night and asked if they had found them. He said they had found nothing. We asked him to go to the room and check in the drawer under the tv and we would drive to hotel and pick them up. When we got there, two hours later, he said he had checked in all locations, maid closet etc and did not find anything. We insisted we be shown the room. I found my wife's two purses right where we told him to look. If we had not insisted he would have had the purses and contents.
Great location is all I can say positively.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

What a great location, totally up to date property. Beautiful finishes in the room.

The Balconies facing the ocean are a dream come true: having a cup of coffee or reading a book between activities. The only alternative is to rent a house on the ocean for a week.

Comments about noise from the street from beach partiers was unfounded. During Spring Break.

The hot-tubs were cool, especially with an ocean view. The cute shops and restaurants in and around the hotel were nice too.

Parked in the City Lot next to the hotel, along the beach for free. During the day we were mostly on the road or paid the $1.50 an hour to park in the public lot (saving $35 a day for valet).

Wifi was $20 a day, but our room faced Cabo and we jumped on their Wifi in the day/evening. Free.

The Cons: The hot tubs hold 10 and 2 people each. Other than in the morning they are cloudy and filled with bather's sand. They are also not limited to guests. We had 6 people admit that they live in the neighborhood and use the hot tubs at will. Their being in the hot tub made it so there wasn't room for us to be in it. In fact, we never used the hot tubs while we were there because of water quality and crowding. The hotel needs to fix this.
Breakfast was cold cereal box, bagels, mini-muffins, coffee, oranges and apples. Definitely not consistent with the rest of the experience.

For the price and it's 2014, Wifi should be included.

There's a beautiful bubble bath in the room, unfortunately they are all turned off due to parts issues.

The biggest negative, that is yet to be resolved through Travelocity, was that we booked for 2 adults and a 17 yr old. The room description offered a double bed and couch, with a corner room and balcony. This is not the room we got. It lacked the couch and our daughter had to sleep on a mat on the floor that we had brought with us, just in case the bed was too firm.

For couples that don't mind all the above, this is a great location.

Room Tip: Pay for the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

There are really 2 different hotels, the Balboa Resort which is what they show you on the website and the Balboa Inn which is under renovation. The Balboa Inn has old rooms with bathtubs from the 70's, poor lighting, no clock etc... I changed to a different room on my 2nd night for what I thought was $30.00 dollars more a night like it said on the website but was charged $60.00 dollars a night more. When I inquired about it the staff was rude and didn't want to help. They were supposed to talk to the manager and get back to me but never did. This was a dump in my opinion, BAD ROOMS, BAD SERVICE and a BAD EXPERIENCE.

Room Tip: Book the Balboa Resort or anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We probably had the best room, upstairs corner, facing the ocean. Spacious with a coffee area, desk and a loveseat and coffee table. Sounded like there was water running next door all night...couldn't figure out what that was. The metered parking close by was free until 8am - we were planning to be at the dock by then so it worked out for us. The paid parking at the beach was pricey at $15/day.
For being such a beautifully set up outdoor dining patio, the breakfast wasn't worth the stop. I've been to cheaper hotels that offered a better array.
The bed and room were very comfortable and clean. No tea in the room only coffee. But tea was available at the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Inn

Address: 105 Main Street, Newport Beach, CA 92661
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balboa Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Balboa Inn, in Newport Beach, Orange County, is a place where casual beachside ambiance and classic Old World charm combine in a historic landmark that’s lured Southern California's rich and famous for decades. Set on the colorful boardwalk at the foot of the Balboa Pier, this oceanfront establishment’s relaxed air may have you kicking off your high heels before you stroll down the aisle. Built in 1929, this upscale Orange County inn has entertained such notables as Howard Hughes, Barry Goldwater and a host of other politicians, entertainers and honeymooners. Once owned by the Los Angeles Lakers’ Kareem Abdul Jabbar, its nine-foot ceilings still bear a telltale sign of the basketball star. A recent $6-million addition features two oceanview terraces, a new oceanview Italian tile sundeck with hot tub, 34 upgraded rooms, 11 top-of-the-line suites and convenient subterranean valet parking. Guests enter the Inn through the Mediterranean-style courtyard, a natural space for pre-ceremony mingling. With its original tile, adobe walls, potted palms, bar and the soothing sound of surf crashing in the background, the space is a comfortable area for people to come together. Meanwhile, you, your groom and all your attendants have full use of an oceanview honeymoon suite with a Jacuzzi and fireplace. For the wedding ceremony itself, options include the hotel’s magnificent second-floor Siena Terrace overlooking the ocean, as well as the nearby gazebo at Peninsula Park and the adjacent rugby field fronting the ocean, where a decorated arch can provide a focal point. After you’ve said your “I do’s,” the Pacific Ocean provides fabulous scenery for photos taken on the pier, the sand or the grassy field next to the beach. When you’re ready to receive your guests, return to the upstairs terrace with its panoramic views from Catalina Island to Dana Point. Or, hold your wedding reception in the Siena Grand Dining Room and adjoining courtyard, where antique streetlights and colorful murals of gondolas on canals capture the romance of Venice. Along with five-star Italian cuisine by the restaurant’s gifted executive chef, you’ll enjoy a dreamy indoor-outdoor setting cleansed by refreshing sea spray. Far removed from the straight-laced formality of more corporate properties, the Balboa Inn is just steps from Newport’s famed Fun Zone. Here, you can pose for some playful photos on the historic carousel and Ferris wheel, or take a stress-busting ferry ride across Newport Bay. After you’ve returned to your guests to dance the night away, there’s one more thing you’ll probably want to do before heading for your honeymoon suite: go for a moonlit stroll along the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Balboa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balboa Hotel Newport Beach
Balboa Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.