We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Balboa Inn to your Saves list
Balboa Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Main Street, Newport Beach, CA 92661   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had 3 days planned in a suite, ocean view-216. Left after one night. Window cranks broken, could not close some windows, no screens on windows, 3 light bulbs out, TV advertised as time Warner, it did not have digital cable box so limited tv- night manager was surprised he thought all rooms fully equipped. We missed NBA playoff game. Electric plug in bathroom did not function. Has a pedestal sink in bathroom, had to put my wife's stuff on floor to use bathroom except light was so weak we had to use sink in living area. Had to ask for hair drier. Arrived at 12:30 promised room at 2pm, then 2:30 but did not get in till 3pm, staffs attitude was disappointing at best.

We forgot and left two purses behind when we checkout. We called the night manager that night and asked if they had found them. He said they had found nothing. We asked him to go to the room and check in the drawer under the tv and we would drive to hotel and pick them up. When we got there, two hours later, he said he had checked in all locations, maid closet etc and did not find anything. We insisted we be shown the room. I found my wife's two purses right where we told him to look. If we had not insisted he would have had the purses and contents.
Great location is all I can say positively.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    18
    30
    74
See reviews for
41
64
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

What a great location, totally up to date property. Beautiful finishes in the room.

The Balconies facing the ocean are a dream come true: having a cup of coffee or reading a book between activities. The only alternative is to rent a house on the ocean for a week.

Comments about noise from the street from beach partiers was unfounded. During Spring Break.

The hot-tubs were cool, especially with an ocean view. The cute shops and restaurants in and around the hotel were nice too.

Parked in the City Lot next to the hotel, along the beach for free. During the day we were mostly on the road or paid the $1.50 an hour to park in the public lot (saving $35 a day for valet).

Wifi was $20 a day, but our room faced Cabo and we jumped on their Wifi in the day/evening. Free.

The Cons: The hot tubs hold 10 and 2 people each. Other than in the morning they are cloudy and filled with bather's sand. They are also not limited to guests. We had 6 people admit that they live in the neighborhood and use the hot tubs at will. Their being in the hot tub made it so there wasn't room for us to be in it. In fact, we never used the hot tubs while we were there because of water quality and crowding. The hotel needs to fix this.
Breakfast was cold cereal box, bagels, mini-muffins, coffee, oranges and apples. Definitely not consistent with the rest of the experience.

For the price and it's 2014, Wifi should be included.

There's a beautiful bubble bath in the room, unfortunately they are all turned off due to parts issues.

The biggest negative, that is yet to be resolved through Travelocity, was that we booked for 2 adults and a 17 yr old. The room description offered a double bed and couch, with a corner room and balcony. This is not the room we got. It lacked the couch and our daughter had to sleep on a mat on the floor that we had brought with us, just in case the bed was too firm.

For couples that don't mind all the above, this is a great location.

Room Tip: Pay for the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

There are really 2 different hotels, the Balboa Resort which is what they show you on the website and the Balboa Inn which is under renovation. The Balboa Inn has old rooms with bathtubs from the 70's, poor lighting, no clock etc... I changed to a different room on my 2nd night for what I thought was $30.00 dollars more a night like it said on the website but was charged $60.00 dollars a night more. When I inquired about it the staff was rude and didn't want to help. They were supposed to talk to the manager and get back to me but never did. This was a dump in my opinion, BAD ROOMS, BAD SERVICE and a BAD EXPERIENCE.

Room Tip: Book the Balboa Resort or anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, CA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We probably had the best room, upstairs corner, facing the ocean. Spacious with a coffee area, desk and a loveseat and coffee table. Sounded like there was water running next door all night...couldn't figure out what that was. The metered parking close by was free until 8am - we were planning to be at the dock by then so it worked out for us. The paid parking at the beach was pricey at $15/day.
For being such a beautifully set up outdoor dining patio, the breakfast wasn't worth the stop. I've been to cheaper hotels that offered a better array.
The bed and room were very comfortable and clean. No tea in the room only coffee. But tea was available at the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I booked this hotel for my companies annual sales meeting for 10 employees for 4 nights. I could not have made a better choice. Michel and his staff were very accommodating and made us feel at home. We used the meeting rooms and they took care of the catering and our needs for the meetings each day. For price and location we were very impressed. Very easy to walk to many shops and restaurants in the very quaint boardwalk area. One night we walked 3 minutes to a ferry and crossed over to Balboa Island and experienced more very nice shops and restaurants. Can not get any closer stay to the sand and pier. Breakfast was free and above average than most hotels with free breakfast. Only some parts of the hotel were under renovations however this did not get in the way of a great stay.

I can not wait to return with my family this spring break.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The professional photos show rooms from the "resort" section of the inn. The inn section is something completely different and under renovation.
We were originally given a room in the "inn" section. OMG - parts of the hallway consisted of broken wooden flooring. The door to our room didn't close properly. The room was filled with newer furniture, but the room itself was like something from "frat house". Very old stained carpet, dirty chipped paint. tiny counter top dorm style mini fridge just sitting on the carpet. The bathroom was dark, dingy, with chipped paint and antiquated fixtures. There was no way we were going to stay there for the price!
Luckily, when we told the reception that the room was not what we expected from the website, they moved us across the board walk to the "inn resort'. Which was much nicer. Clean, freshly painted, tiled floors, ocean view with balcony, just like we had seen in the photos.We were there in February, so it was quiet. I can imagine the bar across the street would make things noisy in the summertime. The jet tub in our room did not work. When we called the front desk, they appeared to know about it, but didn't offer to fix it?! There was a weird disconnected vibe at the place which I cannot really articulate well, EG, ice buckets, but no ice machine, nice flat screen TV, but no movie access.WiFi for a fee. Drape hems coming down?? Nice out door spa pool, over looking the beach, unfortunately the maintenance and cleaning of the area needs improvement. Dirty cushioned sun lounge chairs were not appealing. Continental breakfast was sufficient, assorted fresh bagels with butter, jelly and cream cheese, muffins, apples and oranges, assorted cereal, OJ, milk and coffee. Parking is either $35 in the inn's lot, or metered parking at the beach parking lot for $15 per 24hours. We lucked out and found free street parking a few blocks down, which I imagine is difficult in the summertime. The staff were friendly and polite and the location to the beach and village area is good. This could be an outstanding business, if they focussed on attention to details.

Room Tip: Pay attention to where you reserve a room, Inn side or resort side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Inn

Address: 105 Main Street, Newport Beach, CA 92661
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balboa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Balboa Inn, in Newport Beach, Orange County, is a place where casual beachside ambiance and classic Old World charm combine in a historic landmark that’s lured Southern California's rich and famous for decades. Set on the colorful boardwalk at the foot of the Balboa Pier, this oceanfront establishment’s relaxed air may have you kicking off your high heels before you stroll down the aisle. Built in 1929, this upscale Orange County inn has entertained such notables as Howard Hughes, Barry Goldwater and a host of other politicians, entertainers and honeymooners. Once owned by the Los Angeles Lakers’ Kareem Abdul Jabbar, its nine-foot ceilings still bear a telltale sign of the basketball star. A recent $6-million addition features two oceanview terraces, a new oceanview Italian tile sundeck with hot tub, 34 upgraded rooms, 11 top-of-the-line suites and convenient subterranean valet parking. Guests enter the Inn through the Mediterranean-style courtyard, a natural space for pre-ceremony mingling. With its original tile, adobe walls, potted palms, bar and the soothing sound of surf crashing in the background, the space is a comfortable area for people to come together. Meanwhile, you, your groom and all your attendants have full use of an oceanview honeymoon suite with a Jacuzzi and fireplace. For the wedding ceremony itself, options include the hotel’s magnificent second-floor Siena Terrace overlooking the ocean, as well as the nearby gazebo at Peninsula Park and the adjacent rugby field fronting the ocean, where a decorated arch can provide a focal point. After you’ve said your “I do’s,” the Pacific Ocean provides fabulous scenery for photos taken on the pier, the sand or the grassy field next to the beach. When you’re ready to receive your guests, return to the upstairs terrace with its panoramic views from Catalina Island to Dana Point. Or, hold your wedding reception in the Siena Grand Dining Room and adjoining courtyard, where antique streetlights and colorful murals of gondolas on canals capture the romance of Venice. Along with five-star Italian cuisine by the restaurant’s gifted executive chef, you’ll enjoy a dreamy indoor-outdoor setting cleansed by refreshing sea spray. Far removed from the straight-laced formality of more corporate properties, the Balboa Inn is just steps from Newport’s famed Fun Zone. Here, you can pose for some playful photos on the historic carousel and Ferris wheel, or take a stress-busting ferry ride across Newport Bay. After you’ve returned to your guests to dance the night away, there’s one more thing you’ll probably want to do before heading for your honeymoon suite: go for a moonlit stroll along the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balboa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balboa Hotel Newport Beach
Balboa Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.