We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Javier's Cantina - Crystal Cove

Javier's Cantina - Crystal Cove
7832 E. Pacific Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92662
949-494-1239
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 412 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Naples
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The food at Javier's was great. The only negative was the house margarita which didn't have much flavor. However, we would definitely go back again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    34
    13
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Splurge Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Was initially put off by the valet only parking, but we parked nearby and walked in. Many cars in their parking area were of the Ferrari, Lamborghini & Porsche variety. Expected it to be a tony place. When we entered, the bar area was pretty full & loud. But, the aroma was really food enticing. We came in a bit before 4 for what turned out to be dinner. Have no idea of the beverage prices as we all had water. One person wanted a beer, but they have only bottled beer, so with no beer on tap, no beer was ordered. The prices seemed a bit high. However, it ended up being a good experience. The servers were all very friendly & competent. The chips & salsa were great & refilled as needed. The food was very good. The crispy beef taco was stuffed with meat & cheese -- really tasty. I would have it again. The chile rellenos was great too. The pork chile verde was huge & delicious. The spinach enchiladas were also stuffed full of spinach & not a drop was left. It was a bit loud & having a conversation with all 4 people at the table was hard. Talking to the person across from me or next to me was fine, but to the person diagonal wasn't fine. We were seated in the row of tables closest to the water, but once seated, I couldn't see the water as the window was too high or the chair was too low. However, the person next to me had a great ocean view, maybe height matters. And the sun was going down over the ocean, so there was a bit of glare. They did mitigate the glare with a screen. Without beverages, the bill was reasonable for dinner out for 4.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food, but very loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We come to OC 2-3 times a year and always eat at Javier's. Probably will continue. Good food, but This particular Friday night was not as pleasurable as in the past. Two tables of eight were in the same room with us and both were very, very loud. To the point of being rude. We couldn't carry on a discussion at our table. So. Just be prepared to run into loud, obnoxious, drunk patrons and plan accordingly. So. Bottom line is. Food is as you would expect. Mexican food isn't difficult to prepare. It is a place to see and be seen, but if you want to visit with family or friends go somewhere else.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The perfect spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

On our last trip to California, we had some friends, who have dined here on numerous occasions, treat us to dinner here. As you walk in, your senses are overloaded. The yummy smells in the air; the music playing; the romantic look of the lighting and dark wood; and the feel of fresh sea air blowing in. Our meal started out perfect with their amazing chips and salsa! So good! Then they brought out their guacamole - so fresh and great flavor! Just when we thought it couldn't get any better, we were served their seafood enchiladas. There are no words that could do these justice. If you like seafood, you HAVE to try these. Headed to Vegas in a couple of weeks. Can't wait to try their new location in the Aria hotel.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Mediocre Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I absolutely love Javiers. I have been going for many years, but the last couple of times have been a let down. The food is almost unbeatable and the ambiance at the Crystal Cove one is great, but the service really detracts from how great it could be. The waiters seem indifferent about serving and I noticed we weren't the only ones having to constantly chase them down for a refill/the bill etc. I think some training of the staff would be worthwhile here to put Javiers back on top.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Javier's Cantina - Crystal Cove also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Javier's Cantina - Crystal Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Javier's Cantina - Crystal Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.