We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockin' Baja

Rockin' Baja
2104 West Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92659
949-723-0606
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rockin' Baja is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 359 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Balboa
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time I had lobster tails, and wow they were delicious! The staff was great and very attentive. Fun place !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped our bike ride to have lunch at Rockin' Baja in Newport. The food and presentation was great. My kids had burgers and quesadillas and loved them. My husband and I ordered the lunch menu. For about $15 you get a starter, main dish and desert. We heard that you can get special deals on your birthday too. Great fun place. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Awesome casual dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Right across from the Newport Beach Pier, this place exceeds your expectations. Very affordable dynamite food. The "bucket" menu is superb and will have you coming back for more. Everything we have tried on the menu has been excellent. The drinks are generous and well made. The staff friendly and fast. Crowded during the height of summer, but worth it. Parking can be a challenge, but then again, you are on one of the nicest coastal areas on the planet. Come eat an hour before sunset and then watch mother nature paint the sky from the pier. They have a large area upstairs for larger parties. We brought our international group of 15 there and they loved it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Our favorite king crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is the fourth time my wife and I had lunch here when we were in California. We shared the 2 lbs. king crab at lunch and it was every bit as good as we remembered it. For $50 for the two of us, it was as good as it gets.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“The Real California Beach Bar and Restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

When you first walk in you know instantly that this is a place that will rock to those well loved California beach songs that we all know so well. The staff were friendly and attentive, the food tasty and substantial in size. We enjoyed a lovely meal and even though there were not too many diners there at the time we were there, it still made you want to linger and spend the rest of the day there...A great bar and restaurant .... not gourmet but it captures the romance of beach sun and fun!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockin' Baja also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Rockin' Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockin' Baja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.