We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billy D'z Backyard BBQ

Billy D'z Backyard BBQ
765 N Wendy Drive, Newbury Park, CA 91320
+1 805-498-7772
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 85 Restaurants in Newbury Park
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Billy D'z Backyard BBQ - Slow Smoked Que, Served Quick to you! All of our meats are slow smoked for hours over hickory & pecan wood. Enjoy BBQ meats, sandwiches, burgers, salads, beer & wine. Try us dine in, take out or one of our party packs.
Agoura Hills, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always nice employees and a very clean place to eat. Great food, love the different sauces and the fried pickles are yummy!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Park, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I got the St. Louis ribs, brisket, BBQ beans, and slaw and they were all great. Well cooked and seasoned with Carolina and hot BBQ sauce on the side. I drive by this place all the time and will make it by go-to place to BBQ in Newbury Park!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“FIVE OVERALL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I went to Billy D'z last October with a friend and it was a very terrific experience because the owner allowed us to go inside the kitchen and take a look of the smokers he was using at the time (we love to smoke too). It was a very nice experience and the food was excellent. Plus, the service was nice, too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

They do a nice BBQ plate here. It's an order at the counter - food brought to your table restaurant. A big room with lots of light. The meat is slow roasted and the servings are large. Nothing fancy but really nice people and a great deal.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Billy D'z just opened up maybe 6 months back and is consistently getting better now they are established. Their BBQ meats are all great, cooked perfect and not overseasoned. They have great salads, especially their BBQ chopped salad. I also suggest their sweet potato fries.Their ranch is homemade in house and they have many different homemade BBQ sauces. The service is great, its order at the register style but the employees still walk around and ask what you need and give refills. There are much more side options here then any of the competiting restrants around. The only negative I can come up with is the filler lettuce (iceburg) they put in their salad; HOPEFULLY THEY GET RIDE OF THE ICEBURG. Besides that....Excellent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobsjr, Owner at Billy D'z Backyard BBQ, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Justin -

Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback & compliments!

I saw your comment about the iceburg lettuce. I am more of a romaine fan as well but it seems the majority of people like iceburg. We do have romaine lettuce that we can sub on the BBQ Chop Salad. We utilize all romaine on our Caesar Salad. Just ask for all romaine lettuce on your salad the next time you come in to Billy D'z BBQ.

Thanks again for the business & feedback.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy D'z Backyard BBQ also viewed

Newbury Park, CA
 

Been to Billy D'z Backyard BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy D'z Backyard BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.