We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What the Heck!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bagdad Cafe

Bagdad Cafe
46548 National Trails Hwy, Newberry Springs, CA 92365
760-257-3101
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Description: Site used for the filming of the movie "Bagdad Cafe"
Restaurant details
Description: Site used for the filming of the movie "Bagdad Cafe"
Paarl, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What the Heck!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

OK, so the place is in the middle of nowhere, is staffed by wierdos and has dodgy food, but that's what it's all about, man. It's a must-stop if you're doing Route 66.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    21
    21
    7
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“GOOD PHOTO OP, BAD FOOD”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This place is filthy, the food is way over priced, the fountain drinks and iced tea taste like they were made with toilet water, even the cook and waitress were dirty. waitress had black gunk under her finger nails and appeared not to have washed her hands in weeks. this place survives solely on the fact that it was the site for the movie "BAGDAD CAFE" (never saw the movie, so that means nothing to me) as a matter of fact it wasn't even named bagdad cafe until after the movie was made. I went there for the route 66 experience but found they are mostly geared to ripping off French tourist as it appears the movie starred some French actress and had a French director, do yourself a favor, stop, take a couple of photos and move on

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Am I on Candid Camera?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Ok, we stopped by here because we were hungry...we opened the door and whoa! Poorly kept, not stocked with beverages or some food items on the menu, made me think we were on Candid Camera. If I would have had my choice I would have turned around & left as soon as we walked in. The staff was nice enough, but I felt they weren't the cleanest guys around. Food was pretty pricey too. Menus were printed on copy paper, and dirty. I actually felt very uncomfortable there, between the clutter, and creepy locals that hung out in there.
Food wasn't really bad, but I think I'll pass next time I am going through the desert.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Take a photo from the car and drive on by!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We have just completed our Route 66 road trip and stopped here for lunch - really only because we were starving and there wasn't anything before it on the stretch of Route 66 in California.

There was no atmosphere, and rather than a nice trip down memory lane it was just run down. Food was awful. Staff a little odd and busy with bus load of tourists who stopped for a quick photo and to purchase a t shirts - rather than serving us! The place needs alot of TLC. To top it off we had to pay an automatic tip which we didnt want to and they wouldnt remove it - there was only 4 of us.

We say to a drive by photo shoot, do not stop until you get to Barstow.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“You’re not alone”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

On my trip from Vegas to L.A., I wanted to see the Route 66 roadside attraction “Bagdad Café”, located in Newberry Springs, CA. Having seen the 1988 movie, I was expecting a quiet desert spot in the middle of nowhere. It is in fact a little spot in the desert, but crowded with bus tours! I had to wait 45 minutes for the French buses to leave to be able to take a picture. Deceiving.

    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagdad Cafe also viewed

Yermo, California Desert
Barstow, California Desert
 
Yermo, California Desert
Barstow, California Desert
 

Been to Bagdad Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagdad Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.