We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff but the breakfast needs better management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chase Suite Hotel Newark

Save Saved
You added Chase Suite Hotel Newark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chase Suite Hotel Newark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39150 Cedar Boulevard, Newark, CA 94560 (Formerly Woodfin Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Ocala
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff but the breakfast needs better management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The size of the suite was adequate for my husband and I. The furnishings were dated and the TV was not HD and only a few channels available but who spends that much time in the room. Good things first. We loved the location since the mall was directly behind the motel, a 10min. walk at the most and several restaurants within walking distance Asian, Indian, Mexican, and fast foods as well, Mickey D's, Taco Bell, Jack's and more. On Sunday morning in the New Park Mall parking lot there was a fabulous Farmer's Market where you can get fresh produce, breads and pastry. The maid service was better than I expected, clean towels everyday, bed made (king size bed was extremely comfortable), suite freshened and straightened and the landscaping was well kept. The area was safe and quiet at night. The price included a hot breakfast weekdays from 6:30 to 8:30pm but they were always out of food and coffee and you had to remind the attendants on duty to resupply it. We stayed there for a week and this happened every morning no matter what time we ate. One reason this occurred was because people came from their rooms with large plates and returned to their rooms to eat their breakfast. Second reason highway per diem workers ate there and really had big appetites. The breakfast area was so messy that we had to clean the table before we could set down. The attendants on duty were not good about keeping the tables cleaned off which annoyed me. They also had a free happy hour with wine and snacks M-Th but we never attended so I don't know how this was. There was free movie rentals, computer room, small exercise room, laundry facilities, heated swimming pool and hot tub. We had a lovely conversation with an Australian couple on holiday that we met during breakfast. We would stay here agin because there are more positives than negatives.

Room Tip: We had an end room on the bottom floor (no stairs). There were people above us but we turned the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-GM, General Manager at Chase Suite Hotel Newark, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay, but appreciate you letting us know about it. I want to thank you for your comments as we are immediately fixing the issues you reported so other guest will not have the same experience. We might make mistakes from time to time but we will not make the mistake of not caring. Our fresh hot breakfast buffet usually gets raving reviews but perhaps we were not at our best during your stay. I am glad to read your comments choosing to stay with us again!!!
Best regards,
Millie Sustache, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    19
    17
    16
See reviews for
45
20
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was probably a great hotel in the 80s and 90s, but there are several issues that need attention. The thermostat for the room was located behind a credenza so that you couldn't actually see it or change it. Lighting was with fluorescent bulbs that were VERY DIM. VERY VERY DIM. Could not see anything until they "warmed up". The room was so dark I didn't dare move without the lights on. The light switches were not illuminated, so one had to grope around to find them. There were no outlets available near the bed. I had to unplug the lamp or the clock in order to plug in my kindle. There was no desk.
Now there were some nice things about the room. We had a two bedroom suite and it had a nice little living room with a fireplace between the 2 bedrooms. The kitchen was appropriately stocked with dinnerware, a few pots and pans, and utensils for light cooking. The beds were very comfortable. It was quiet. The breakfast was okay.
We will probably wind up staying again as the location is good, but I wish they would change their light bulbs and add some multi-strip outlets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-GM, General Manager at Chase Suite Hotel Newark, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear senior contributor,
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review from your recent stay. We are very sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Thanks to you we are making the necessary corrections. Many guests who are not familiar with Chase are just as pleasantly surprised at the size of our suite, the amenities, the value and the service. We look forward to seeing you then next time you are in Newark.

Best regards,
Millie Sustache,GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was up in the Fremont/Newark area late April. This was the second time I have stayed here and will come back again. Although the prices were higher during the week, the weekend prices were great for what you got. It is a good value. The staff was wonderful and the amenities were nice. Having a apartment like room, with kitchen and stove and living area is so much nicer than staying in a regular hotel and they have a nice complementary breakfast each morning as well. Both times we stayed on the ground floor in the back. It was nice and quiet with plenty of parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-GM, General Manager at Chase Suite Hotel Newark, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Vortex-Energy,

How nice of you! Thank you for all your kind words about the Chase Suite Hotel! We love to share reviews like this with all of our associates who make it all happen. Thank you for caring, we hope to see you again soon...

Sincerely,
Millie Sustache,GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is expensive and nearly impossible to find a good apartment in Fremont or Newark California. The Chase Suite Hotel in Newark is a very good, well furnished 1 or 2 bedroom apartment with free breakfast and happy hour. Free WiFi Internet and cable are included and the king-sized bed is five star quality. I cannot say enough about how much better I sleep now; well rested and no aches and pains. There is a fully functional fireplace, swimming pool, sauna, gym, conference room, shuttle, and just about every amenity you would expect at an executive apartment.

The location of this hotel apartment is perfect! It is close to the freeway, but not close enough to hear it. It is next to a large mall, but not close enough to notice. It is across the street from dozens of good restaurants. You ma think that it is too expensive, but if you stay here you will soon realize that it is worth every penny. I tried to save money by staying at Extended Stay Hotels and regretted every day that I spent there.

I was reluctant to stay here because I saw the negative reviews. Whatever they experienced in the past, does not seem to be here any more. The staff has been very professional so far and my stay here has been very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-GM, General Manager at Chase Suite Hotel Newark, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on Trip Advisor! I was proud to read the notes you left about our staff. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,

Millie Sustache,GM
Chase Suite Hotel-Newark,CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel on two seperate occasions. Both times I was pleasently surprised by how nice the place was for the value. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. If you're a stickler for esthetics then maybe not the place for you, but I liked the space of the room, having a kitchen and seperate living area. The bed was comfy and inviting. The bathroom was a little dated, but clean and it had loads of hot water. The area was fine, quite a few restaurants and a big mall nearby. The housekeeping staff were extremely helpful and always had a smile. The complimentary breakfast had a great assortment of hot and cold items and the lady doing it was absolutely sweet! The pool area was clean and relaxing, and the maintenance man that I ran into there was very friendly and helpful. I've never been to a hotel where the people working their were consistantly friendly and making sure you were comfortable. Will stay here whenever I'm in the Newark area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-GM, General Manager at Chase Suite Hotel Newark, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We were glad to hear that we exceeded all your expectations! Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Millie Sustache,GM
Chase Suite Hotel-Newark,CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I can usually forgive a budget hotel for not being anything but budget. Not this time.
Decor=desperately needs updating
King bed=thrift-store pillows
Internet=hardly worked our whole stay and they had ME call their ISP to have them reset the connection points
Non-smoking rooms: Stinky and smoke-smelling, incredibly noisy (street noise, plus the many beer-drinking porch-smoking loud-talking guests around us)
Pros: The housekeeping staff was really nice, and the water pressure is wastefully strong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-GM, General Manager at Chase Suite Hotel Newark, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Our goal is for every guest to have a great experience and we obviously missed that mark during your stay. We hope you will give us the opportunity to show you that we can do it right the next time you are in the Newark area.

Sincerely,
Millie Sustache,GM
Chase Suite Hotel-Newark,CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Seriously. Don't stay here. Don't even think about it. This is more like a dormitory for nearby manufacturing/industrial plants. The internet does not work well. The breakfast was gross. My room REEKED of smoke, even though they claim its a non-smoking hotel. The TVs were very old, only barely half of the stations came in clearly - that was if you could get the thing to turn on in the first place. The staff seemed confused and not together when me and my business associates checked in. The bathroom was dirty, the walls are seriously thin, and its right next to the freeway. Need I say more?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-GM, General Manager at Chase Suite Hotel Newark, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Even though we don’t like to receive letters like yours, we are happy that you took the time to write it. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations and for that I am truly sorry.” Our suites have a spacious living area with a fire place, full kitchen and private bedroom. We have a very strict nonsmoking policy upon check in requiring a $250.00 deposit to prevent guest from smoking in our suites. The location of our hotel is behind New Park Mall with many restaurants across the street and ½ mile from 880 freeway.

Sincerely,
Millie Sustache,GM
Chase Suite Hotel-Newark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chase Suite Hotel Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase Suite Hotel Newark

Address: 39150 Cedar Boulevard, Newark, CA 94560 (Formerly Woodfin Suites)
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chase Suite Hotel Newark 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Chase Suite Hotel Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Suite Newark
Newark Chase Suite Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chase Suite Hotel Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.