We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Business Stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   39900 Balentine Drive, Silicon Valley, Newark, CA 94560   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Fun Package
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Repeat Business Stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've recently had to stay in the San Jose area. Costs dictate that I stay at a Marriott or this DoubleTree Hotel. I can't be happier that I've picked this hotel and staying in the Hilton family.

The front desk staff is excellent and friendly and the breakfast staff is just great. The first week I stayed I was in a "two double" room and then in a king room. The two double room had a patio overlooking the pool which was a nice touch. The King room was in a tower and was facing to the western sun which made the room quite warm in the afternoon because housekeeping kept opening it up when they were in so when I got to the room it was an oven.

The rooms themselves are very nice though the bathroom door opens inward and you feel like you have to jockey for position being the only person in the room. Plenty of counter space in the bathroom helps for your bathroom items and there is good water pressure (even for CA). The beds are comfortable and the only real problem I had with my first stay was the door to the hall was nearly impossible to open when entering the room. I would have to slide my card 10-15 times then it would finally work. My second room didn't have that problem so it could have been a card issue or a reader issue. The room in the tower was on the HHonors floor so it had a robe which is a nice touch.

The hotel is under a little construction and as such the hotel bar/restaurant is split up. The restaurant is temporarily in the lobby "roped off" and that is where breakfast is served. The bar is up on the 7th floor in a hospitality type suite. I've not used the bar but the breakfast is terrific. Good tasting food, warm with what needs to be warm and cold for what needs to be cold.

The workout facility is nice if a little warm but has quite a bit of equipment like the normal DoubleTree that I've seen before.

I actually drive about 20-30 minutes to / from work rather than a Marriott next to work to stay in the Hilton family and stay at this nice hotel.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the west facing room due to the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    43
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
32
21
7
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very friendly staff. The condition of the room was very nice and always well kept. The fitness area was in good shape with lots of cardio equipment. Wish there were more free weights though and a bench press.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Johnny T.,

On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to sincerely thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words and recognition. It was a pleasure to serve you; thank you so much for being our guest and choosing our hotel for your two-week stay.

We hope to serve you again someday Johnny T. Have a great upcoming summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended a convention at this hotel not knowing that the restaurant was gutted and under re-construction. The hotel did not provide information on alternate eating venues and only had a make-shift restaurant area in the lobby. However, the standard menu was used making no compensation for the inadequate dining experience. The guest rooms were comfortable, clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Robert F.,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences brought on by our current renovations process. We thank you for being our guest and hope to have the chance to serve you again someday.

Thank you again Robert F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice, large room with king bed. Really clean, nice furnishings with bottled water and coffee maker in the room. The location is average, but the hotel itself and the quality of services is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kathy G.,

Thank you very much for your review and for your kind words. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel and our services. It was our pleasure to serve you; thank you for giving us the opportunity to do so and thank you for your business. We hope to serve you again soon!

Thank you for being our guest Kathy G.! Have a great upcoming summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA CLARA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was very good especially the breakfast. All personnel were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was very easy to find with plenty of parking. I would certainly consider staying hear again. Our group was taken care very well. Everyone in our group was very pleased.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Don D.,

Thank you very much for your review and for your very kind compliments! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are very happy to hear that your stay, along with the other members of your group, went well and that you all enjoyed our accommodations. Thank you for being our guest!

We look forward to serving you again someday Don D. Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been staying here for last 2 weeks and I am really happy with the service provided by the hotel. Nice breakfast and staff is helpful

Room is clean and maintained really well. I have recommended it to all my colleagues who are coming to this part for business meetings.

Keep up the service

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mikeymania,

Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor review! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed our services and we thank you for your very kind compliments and for recommending us to your colleagues. It has been our pleasure to serve you; thank you for choosing the DoubleTree Newark-Fremont!

Enjoy the rest of your stay Mikeymania! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is fine with plenty of electrical outlets for toys and devices. No ref that I notice. Free wifi and good connections. Next door room occupants were noisy yacking all night until I called front desk who notified guard. Connecting door next door was not insulated for noise and the door's bottom gap easily kept the noise coming through to my room as if they're actually talking in my room. Free cookie and on the house apple/orange on the counter if you want when you check in. Location is near mall (Sears, Macy's, etc). I stayed only one night but not my first choice hotel. Restaurants are available near the area.

Room Tip: Ask for non-connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Jamie Q.,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your feedback about your stay. We appreciate your comments and we sincerely apologize for the noise inconvenience that your encountered. Our guests' feedback is extremely important to us and we thank you.

We do hope to be able to serve you again someday Jamie Q. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont

Address: 39900 Balentine Drive, Silicon Valley, Newark, CA 94560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Hotel DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont. Silicon Valley California 94560. 315 newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark/Fremont Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Fremont
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.