We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expected more” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   39900 Balentine Drive, Silicon Valley, Newark, CA 94560   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Fun Package
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Lemoore, United States
1 review
“expected more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

the overall cost was ok but the condition was in repair at the time not one sign or any accommodations being made for the inconvenience that you had to make to get to your room.I would not recommend room looked like was thrown together and for not being a busy day very sad stay with kids.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Edward P,

Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to share your comments. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. Our Executive Team will review your comments carefully to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience and stay. We do hope that you will give our hotel another chance and consider staying with us in the future.

Thank you again Edward P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    37
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
32
18
5
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have enjoyed enjoyed staying at this hotel for bi-annual mini convention. At the convention rate this is a good deal. Clean neat quiet , friendly and efficient staff, the breakfast buffet while extensive and delicious is expensive at $17.00 plus Tip.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear John G,

Thank you very much for your review and for being our guest again! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to serve you.

We'll see you next time John G. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel for a business stay or a quick family trip. Clean grounds with a nice hotel. There is no free breakfast, but you can pay at hotel restaurant or walk across the street to the famous coffee shop or various restaurants or market/. Room was nice but I sure wish there was an extra basin outside the bathroom. Only complaint: you have to pay to print out your boarding pass. Oh well, time to go digital anyway. I would stay here again. The service is some of the best and helpful Ive experienced.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Tamale624,

Thank you very much for your review! We truly appreciate your feedback and we thank you for your very kind compliments and recognition for our team. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay; thank you for being our guest.

On your next stay and going forward, please feel free to ask our Front Desk agents to print out your boarding pass. They would be more than happy to take care of this for you.

Thank you again Tamale624! We look forward to serving you during your next visit to the East Bay Area. Have a great Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hotel for the money. Quiet, easy access, excellent staff. I enjoyed my staff. Room was quiet and clean. Bed was very comfortable, pillows also were very comfortable. Big Screen TV was a nice surprise and very pleasant to watch and relax.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Douglas P!

Thank you very much for your wonderful TripAdvisor review! We really appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience here. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and our accommodations. Thank you so much for being our guest!

We hope to serve you again in the very near future Douglas P. Have a great Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Doubletree Newark-Fremont is an excellent choice if you are flying out of SJC (San Jose). I had stayed at the former Hilton and was pleased with the service and treatment so chose it again shortly after the conversion to the Doubletree banner. The front desk staff were all friendly and helpful in providing information on the local area, arranging a shuttle to or from the airport, and always willing to ensure all needs were met.

I was able to take advantage of the breakfast on previous stays, but expect it was still a quality breakfast provided in the restaurant on the first floor of the hotel, just off of the lobby area. The restaurant area is also close to the bar area which has live music at least part of the time.

The pool area was very nice although I did not use it. The landscaping around the hotel is very nice. The courtyard area is nice for walking or just enjoying the normally nice weather.

The shuttle service to the airport was timely. When I turned in the rental car, my timing was around when aircrews staying at the hotel would be arriving. The airport is a relatively short drive from the hotel, and like I said, this is a great choice if flying out of SJC.

Room Tip: There are several choices for rooms. I would say all rooms are similar and there is no real prefere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello NovackTravelGuy!

Thank you very much for your review and very kind compliments and recognition! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stays with us; thank you for being our loyal guest. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is our pleasure to serve you; thank you for giving us the opportunity.

We hope to see you soon NovackTravelGuy. Have a great March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was by far one of the nicest Double Trees we have stayed at. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and their food was amazing!! I highly recommend the fish tacos in the restaurant. We hope to stay there again when we visit the area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good day Amy S!

On behalf of my team here. I would like to thank you for your TripAdvisor review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and liked our fish tacos! Thank you so much for your kind words and thank you for being our guest. We hope to serve you again someday soon!

Thank you Amy S and have a wonderful March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browsburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was clean and the staff was excellent. The on-site menu looked great with reasonable pricing. Regretably, I was unable to eat due to strict dietary changes I am currently enduring. Not having a fridge made this extremely challenging for me and required me to limit my diety options greatly. All in all the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness madeit a fantastic stay. The sushi Castle next door was also very good.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeNF, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Helene S,

Thank you for your review and compliments! We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and services; thank you for being our guest.

While we do not have refrigerators in our standard rooms, we do have them available for our guests upon request. For medication purposes and for your reason mentioned, they are free of charge. This request can be made at anytime.

Thank you again Helene S. Have a great Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont

Address: 39900 Balentine Drive, Silicon Valley, Newark, CA 94560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Hotel DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont. Silicon Valley California 94560. 315 newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark/Fremont Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Fremont
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Newark-Fremont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.