We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came Home with Polka Dots” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Newark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Newark to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites Newark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5977 Mowry Avenue, Newark, CA 94560   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Newark
GRANTS PASS,
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Came Home with Polka Dots”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was a suite. It did not have any plates or glasses or silverware. Cooking would have been very difficult. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was ok for a hot breakfast, but nothing special. The worst part was they were painting the exterior and did not ask us to move our car while they were doing it. Our beautiful red car ended up with lots of gold paint splattered all over it. We told them about it, but all they said was "Sorry". No offer to help us clean it. It took my husband several hours to get the majority of the spots off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
8
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

i must say the new owners have done a great job at improving this hotel. They have within the last month changed all the beds in the hotel, put refrigerators in all rooms and painted the outside of the hotel. The hotel is very close to numerous restaurants. I have stayed weeks at a time and they have a great staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt lake City
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We reserved a room last minutes on a Saturday in October. The room was roomy, clean, and the breakfast was decent. It was a good value. On the negative side, the lights were all unplugged when we got there, and the outlets were all cracked. The phone on the desk didn't work, and the interior could use a little updating. Also, it wasn't clear to me that the other entrances but the front one were locked, until I tried to use one after I'd checked in. The w-fi was usable, but almost painfully slow. The front desk person was extremely helpful, and even went so far as to do us a favor above and beyond the call of duty. Overall I give it Very Good, but with definite room to improve.

Room Tip: It might be a bit quieter on the top floor, as we heard people walking around on the floor above us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for two non-consecutive nights. Very friendly and helpful young lady at front-desk. They made sure that we got a microwave and fridge both nights at no extra charge. Very good, hot breakfast complimentary. Good-sized room, convenient location - close to freeway, mall, restaurants. All at a price lower than most equivalent hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Book early. Ask for a room with microwave and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The price is good, however, I went to take a bath and there was a long black hair in it. really gross. makes you wonder if they really cleaned everything else. also, some of the staff needs to get trained on customer relations. if they don't like working with people perhaps they should work behind the scenes. I called to inquire about my credit card being charged wrong and immediatly was told to hold, then spoken to kind of rudely. just a pet peeve of mine I think if you're in customer service you should enjoy working with people. or at least pretend to. oh well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful. Breakfast consisted of Blueberry or regular waffles, eggs, sausage, yogurt, oatmeal, muffins, danishes, english muffins, fruit, toast, juice and coffee. I did hear noise from the family in the next room. I don't know if they were just a loud family or the walls were thin. But heard their conversations and laughs. Luckily, it didn't keep us up at night. Also, there was a suspicious leak from the air vent. But other than that, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This place is just a good place to stay. All of the staff that I have met are very friendly (manager included). I always feel very welcome, when I arrive and thru out my stay. Yes this hotel has been around a while with different names. it's still a nice place to stay because of the staff and it's location. I travel a lot and The Comfort Inn works for me. I will continue to stay here on a regular bases.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Newark

Address: 5977 Mowry Avenue, Newark, CA 94560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark
Comfort Inn Newark
Newark Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.