We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley to your Saves list
Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35466 Dumbarton Court, Newark, CA 94560   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We love staying at this Residence Inn! We have family close by but we love the facilities and the location! Free breakfast is an added bonus! Both kids (ages 7 and 2) had a blast! We only stayed the weekend but would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
8
6
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I drove from Vancouver Canada to Anaheim (Disneyland) with my son, daughter in law and their two toddlers. We stayed at Residence Inns throughout our trip and were pleasantly surprised at all of the family friendly facilities. We stayed in two bathroom, two bedroom or two bedroom loft (well worth the extra few dollars if available) suites. Each suite was spacious and had a fully equipped kitchen, three flat screen TV's, free WiFi, in-room safe, individually controlled heating/air con, sofabed in the living area. Each Inn also had coin operated laundry facilities, swimming pool, free on-site parking, and included a full buffet breakfast.

Specifically with respect to Newark, we stayed two nights in July 2012. The suite was spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast had a wide selection.

We stayed here due to the reasonable suite rates compared with hotels in San Francisco proper. We spent a day in San Francisco and it took us just under an hour to get to Fisherman's Wharf.

We enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We arrived late one night and left early the next morning.

It's a standard Residence Inn geared towards business travellers. It was clean and the room was spacious. That's about it...

Oh yeah... good size pool and decent fitness facilities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Big hotel with too few elevator. Room is a bit old. Internet connection is great.

Laundry is very expensive costing $2 for the washing machine and the dryer.

The big warning sign at the front desk about them not responsible for any loss of items in the car parked are very worrying. Not sure if the area is safe or not due to the sign.

Room Tip: Asked for room near the elevator, since the furthest room is quite a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations at Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your response. We appreciate your feedback because it helps us make improvements to our hotel. We are very happy that your internet connection was great! We recently upgraded our wireless hardware and it looks to be paying off. We hope we can accommodate you the next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,

Rex M
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Flew up for the weekend. Since I'm not a weekly business traveler I got a very good price on a suite. Everything was clean and comfortable. Spent the minimum amount of time at the hotel as I was there for other activities. Avoided the Dumbarton toll by driving around the bay Saturday morning since I had the time. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was my second stop on the GART (Great American Road Trip) after Morro Bay and experiencing the beauty and terror of the mountainous California Highway 1 for a full day. Who needs amusement park roller coasters when you've got this to drive?

After a quick look-around in Monterey, I stopped for two days at this property. Won it via the Priceline lottery: $47 per night at an iffy 3-star level. I think Priceline is suffering from grade inflation. And, if I had to do it again, I might raise my standards to a 3.5 star level along with my bid.

Pros:
1. Easy access from the highway and lots of close restaurants, banks, gas stations, and grocery stores.
2. Suites that have flatware, plates, glasses, cups, pots and pans. A full-size refrigerator, microwave, and cooktop are available, too.
3. Wireless access is solidly reliable and fast; Ethernet cable in room not evident.
4. Lots of lamps and good lighting overall.
5. Plentiful towels and great shower pressure.
6. Self-serve laundry is available on the second floor and requires use of your key for access. Each load costs $2 for a wash and $2 for a dry. Cycle times are posted, which was an excellent mark of logical thinking.
7. Standard array of breakfast buffet items: eggs, sausage, potatoes, oatmeal, waffles, fruit, bagels, bread, juice, and coffee.

Cons:
1. Room carpets are well past their prime - please put them out of their misery. Now.
2. Elevator interiors are heavily scratched - akin to public housing facilities.
3. Heavy discounting of room rates bring out dubious characters: one might use the word "ghetto" to give you a flavor of what I'm talking about.
4. Pull out couch and chair are both saggy and looked like 1990s era refugees; take a pro-tip: don't sit on them unless you're wearing something that you'll be burning after wearing.
5. Weekends draw some large extended family gatherings at the pool - can be noisy and heard even from my 5th floor room.
6. A subtext of car break-ins: front desk clerk issued me a parking permit and mentioned that it would be useful in contacting owner if criminals attacked my car. (Yikes!) I parked my rental Versa next to an expensive Mercedes, hoping that thieves would gravitate towards it instead.
7. Saw a police cruiser in the parking lot on Saturday evening around 915 PM - I don't know whether that was a result of the loud extended family gathering at the pool (#5) or another car incident (#6). After verifying my car's health the next day, I didn't want to jinx myself by asking.

All in all, the state of the property means a tattier crowd as clientele. If management improves the property, they can charge higher rates and draw more of a business-oriented demographic. Until then, opt for the Courtyard which is just across the parking lot from this property.

Note: If you found this review useful, please click on the button below. Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (out of 6 floors) and facing away from the freeway. Bring earplugs as a precau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations at Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your response! I will forward your review to the appropriate manager so we can be proactive in improving our product. That specific experience with the family gathering by the pool was an issue that was outside of our Residence Inn policies and is not a normal practice here at the property. Management had dealt with the situation with as little disruptions as possible. If you would like to further discuss these issues in more detail, please contact the Operations Manager at 510-739-6000 and reference this review. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope to accommodate you again when you are in the area!

Sincerely,

Rex M
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel. Desk clerks, especially Precious were very nice and helpful. Room was very clean. Breakfast was so convenient and good, especially the mufins.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex M, Guest Relations at Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! I am happy that you found our service to be memorable. We hope to accommodate you again here at the Newark Residence Inn, your home away from home!

Sincerely,

Rex M
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley

Address: 35466 Dumbarton Court, Newark, CA 94560
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley Hotel Newark
Newark Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Newark Silicon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.