We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a business trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34905 Newark Blvd, Newark, CA 94560   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Florence, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a business trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is a standard Courtyard. Nice lobby. Friendly staff. There is a large pool and jacuzzi as well. There isn't much near by but you aren't far from a lot of great restaurants. Overall a great location for long business trips in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STK2013, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we know you have many choices and appreciate you staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Newark CA.

Please contact us at 510-792-5200 If we can be of any assistance in making your future reservations.

Sincerely,

Sam Kelly
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley
34905 Newark Blvd
Newark CA 94560
510-792-5200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
11
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great service by Ms. Aubrey Tulin at the front desk, very helpful and very responsive. We got a great rate at this property because of a family connection that works for Marriott ($39/night base rate), so our value was outstanding. This location was not convenient to the airport but was convenient to family in the South Bay. Wi-fi was free in the room and was reliable. There's free coffee in the lobby, a coin-operated laundermat room, a exercise room and a Starbucks in the lobby. The room was clean and well-cared for. There was no problem getting additional towels, again thanks to Ms. Aubrey. There are several restaurants, most asian but including Subway and other chains, within walking distance. There are also two supermarkets (Safeway and Raley's) close by. Parking is free at the hotel. We stayed three nights total on two occasions in the same week. Good experiences both times. As the headline states, we were told that Marriott was selling this property at the end of May, so I don't if any of this will be relevant after June 1st.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I wasn't able to get a decent hotel near Mountain View so I picked this one. It's located at 880 and 84 freeway so it was easy to reach. The hotel lobby is updated and vert nice. But the rooms aren't. My room is outdated. The futures are old. My room was facing the freeway but at the top level. So the freeway noise wasn't too disturbing. Compared to Residence Inn at the next door, Courtyard is more expensive, breakfast isn't included, and similar type of room and decor. I think it's better staying at Residence Inn than Courtyard. Going to the other side of Bay would require driving cross the bridge (84) and pay the toll, or driving 10 more mile via 237 (no toll).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The lobby is really nice - however, the attention to the rooms and hallways is lacking. The rooms are dated - on the positive there was a large flat screen TV and nice bedding.

The bistro is convenient as it is on site, but a few things that were frustrating.
1) Making food takes a long time. It is a 1 person operation.
2) I was not feeling well one night and wanted to see if they could drop the food to my room. They would not -therefore, I had to call for pizza. I little tacky customer service - since they have some staff that could have helped.

Staying in Newark if your business or pleasure is taking you to San Jose or Fremont is a long time in the morning with traffic.

I don't plan to stay here again even though I am in the area often.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What an awesome staff!! From check in to check out, they were great. Room was good, perfect for what we needed. The kid's enjoyed the pool while the mom's took in the Hot tub every night. the towel attendant was so full of kindness and smiles, he was a cheer to be around. The workout room although we didn't use it was small but all one would need. The hotel adjoins with a store which enabled us to make better eating decisions which on vacation was a huge plus!
THANK YOU Marriott!

Room Tip: The King with a sofa sleeper should have a tiny fridge inside where the two queens did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Dont let the location put you off. Standard Marriott with good service, clean rooms and friendly, staff. The drive across the bridge is worth the savings and availability. There are a good selection of Resturaunts in the area and a grocery store just across the parking lot.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here for a business meeting. This Courtyard has been updated with the Bistro cafe. Location was great - many restraunts within walking distance and only about 15 minutes to San Jose Airport (very early in the morning). Room was clean and quiet, and staff I interacted with were professional and very courteous. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley

Address: 34905 Newark Blvd, Newark, CA 94560
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark Silicon Valley Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark Silicon Valley
Newark Courtyard
Newark Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.