We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34905 Newark Blvd, Newark, CA 94560   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Newark
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Clean hotel with excellent staff who are happy to assist guests. However, they had no diet Pepsi (or Diet Coke , which Marriott won't sell Coke products because of a pervious dispute); only regular Pepsi. It seems that many Courtyards under order diet soda, even though an increasing number of guests only drink diet.

Room Tip: Bring your own diet soda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
11
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had been staying in this property quite often when on business travel in Newark..had always been a comfortable stay and the staff is very helpful and courteous..the hotel has been refurbished over a year back and now has updated interiors.
There is a shopping center and quite few restaurants at walking distance from this hotel which makes the stay all the very more convenient.
Overall a nice and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Room on higher floors as the hotel is close to a freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel has a nice, new lobby and friendly staff. Unfortunately the prices are way too high. Also the rooms have not been updated so you can see the age of the hotel.
It is conveniently accessible from the highway and has stores are close by.
It is an OK choice but nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times on days that Stanford Football Team is playing. Rooms are very clean, staff is very friendly and it is not far from shopping for the women. Very easy access to the freeway. Not a big restaurant but able to get something for all 3 meals. Good food and good service. Nothing fancy but a little pricey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I am a Marriott Platinum member. Stayed close to 70 nights at the Marriott chain, and another 70 nights at other chains by the end of net year. I am a Marriott Platinum member. I only get a small bottle of water and a few more hotel points staying here. There is no free breakfast. They have happy hour, but I have to pay. I stayed at the Residence Inn right next to it the night before. I moved because I want to check this out. For a few dollars more, I get free breakfast, free dinner with wine and beer and a one bedroom suite with kitchen, refrigerator and microwave oven.

Pro:
Modern look, friendly staffs

Con
No refrigerator or micro wave
no free breakfast
No Real happy hour with free drinks.
Did not get upgraded to a suite as a Platinum member

Hallway to the room was ice cold because the AC was running all the time even in the evening when iIt was 50 degrees outside. The hotel is wasting a lot of energy cooling the hallways. This is a typical problem in a lot of hotels. When you go into a room. the AC has been set at 60 degrees when it is nice and cool outside under 65 degrees.

Room Tip: I would stay next door at the Residence Inn, for better value. They are right next to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while college shopping in the Bay Area. The location is a little off the beaten path (about 10 minutes across the bay from Palo Alto; same distance from Oakland Airport) but it's well worth it. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is well maintained, includes a small but well equipped gym, as well as a washer/dryer. The rooms were clean and in great shape. I can honestly say that I do not have single complaint. Everything was great. Plus we paid about $90 a night.

Room Tip: higher floor on the south side (away from the highway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in August 2012 on business. The weather was cold and rainy, a bit unusual for that time of year but the stay was great, nice rooms and the staff will bend over backwards to help you with any need you have. There is a Starbucks on location in their little restaurant there, same prices as the Starbucks across the street but that Starbucks closes early. This hotel is at a good location right off the freeway/toll (be aware there is a toll going towards San Francisco), big Raleys supermarket in the parking lot and lots of Asian restaurants to choose from. However, our favorite restaurant was a hole in the wall Mexican that honestly cannot be missed. Across the street from the hotel, open late called Taqueria Los Gallos, supremely great and super cheap!!! Honestly, I am born and bred Los Angeleno and I love my Mexican food but this was fantastic. The family Chinese restaurant in the same parking lot was less good but they gave tons and they were super cheap, perhaps you need to know what to order.

Room Tip: the parking lot for the hotel is the entrance just before the entrance for the Raley's supermark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley

Address: 34905 Newark Blvd, Newark, CA 94560
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark Silicon Valley Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark Silicon Valley
Newark Courtyard
Newark Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.