We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34905 Newark Blvd, Newark, CA 94560   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Newark
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had been staying in this property quite often when on business travel in Newark..had always been a comfortable stay and the staff is very helpful and courteous..the hotel has been refurbished over a year back and now has updated interiors.
There is a shopping center and quite few restaurants at walking distance from this hotel which makes the stay all the very more convenient.
Overall a nice and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Room on higher floors as the hotel is close to a freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
7
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seabeck
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel has a nice, new lobby and friendly staff. Unfortunately the prices are way too high. Also the rooms have not been updated so you can see the age of the hotel.
It is conveniently accessible from the highway and has stores are close by.
It is an OK choice but nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times on days that Stanford Football Team is playing. Rooms are very clean, staff is very friendly and it is not far from shopping for the women. Very easy access to the freeway. Not a big restaurant but able to get something for all 3 meals. Good food and good service. Nothing fancy but a little pricey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I am a Marriott Platinum member. Stayed close to 70 nights at the Marriott chain, and another 70 nights at other chains by the end of net year. I am a Marriott Platinum member. I only get a small bottle of water and a few more hotel points staying here. There is no free breakfast. They have happy hour, but I have to pay. I stayed at the Residence Inn right next to it the night before. I moved because I want to check this out. For a few dollars more, I get free breakfast, free dinner with wine and beer and a one bedroom suite with kitchen, refrigerator and microwave oven.

Pro:
Modern look, friendly staffs

Con
No refrigerator or micro wave
no free breakfast
No Real happy hour with free drinks.
Did not get upgraded to a suite as a Platinum member

Hallway to the room was ice cold because the AC was running all the time even in the evening when iIt was 50 degrees outside. The hotel is wasting a lot of energy cooling the hallways. This is a typical problem in a lot of hotels. When you go into a room. the AC has been set at 60 degrees when it is nice and cool outside under 65 degrees.

Room Tip: I would stay next door at the Residence Inn, for better value. They are right next to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while college shopping in the Bay Area. The location is a little off the beaten path (about 10 minutes across the bay from Palo Alto; same distance from Oakland Airport) but it's well worth it. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is well maintained, includes a small but well equipped gym, as well as a washer/dryer. The rooms were clean and in great shape. I can honestly say that I do not have single complaint. Everything was great. Plus we paid about $90 a night.

Room Tip: higher floor on the south side (away from the highway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in August 2012 on business. The weather was cold and rainy, a bit unusual for that time of year but the stay was great, nice rooms and the staff will bend over backwards to help you with any need you have. There is a Starbucks on location in their little restaurant there, same prices as the Starbucks across the street but that Starbucks closes early. This hotel is at a good location right off the freeway/toll (be aware there is a toll going towards San Francisco), big Raleys supermarket in the parking lot and lots of Asian restaurants to choose from. However, our favorite restaurant was a hole in the wall Mexican that honestly cannot be missed. Across the street from the hotel, open late called Taqueria Los Gallos, supremely great and super cheap!!! Honestly, I am born and bred Los Angeleno and I love my Mexican food but this was fantastic. The family Chinese restaurant in the same parking lot was less good but they gave tons and they were super cheap, perhaps you need to know what to order.

Room Tip: the parking lot for the hotel is the entrance just before the entrance for the Raley's supermark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

As a business traveler, consistency is always a huge plus. This is one of those new/renovated Courtyards with the pods for checking in and "lounge-y" places for drinks and limited menu. I was only there one night, so not a lot of time to check it all out.

Lobby is huge and well lit. Check in was straightforward and simple. Got a little bag of chocolates and a small water in addition to the extra points for being Marriott Platinum. The room was nice with comfortable beds and a nice flat screen TV. Bathroom was big.

Parking was available but had to park in the back and walk around because I got in late. It was hard to see the road to turn on after getting off the interstate. Did a breakfast sandwich which was good but seemed a little pricey for $8.

Definitely would stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley

Address: 34905 Newark Blvd, Newark, CA 94560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark Silicon Valley Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark Silicon Valley
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.