We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay next door at the Residence Inn, for better value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34905 Newark Blvd, Newark, CA 94560   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Newark
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“I would stay next door at the Residence Inn, for better value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I am a Marriott Platinum member. Stayed close to 70 nights at the Marriott chain, and another 70 nights at other chains by the end of net year. I am a Marriott Platinum member. I only get a small bottle of water and a few more hotel points staying here. There is no free breakfast. They have happy hour, but I have to pay. I stayed at the Residence Inn right next to it the night before. I moved because I want to check this out. For a few dollars more, I get free breakfast, free dinner with wine and beer and a one bedroom suite with kitchen, refrigerator and microwave oven.

Pro:
Modern look, friendly staffs

Con
No refrigerator or micro wave
no free breakfast
No Real happy hour with free drinks.
Did not get upgraded to a suite as a Platinum member

Hallway to the room was ice cold because the AC was running all the time even in the evening when iIt was 50 degrees outside. The hotel is wasting a lot of energy cooling the hallways. This is a typical problem in a lot of hotels. When you go into a room. the AC has been set at 60 degrees when it is nice and cool outside under 65 degrees.

Room Tip: I would stay next door at the Residence Inn, for better value. They are right next to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
8
9
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while college shopping in the Bay Area. The location is a little off the beaten path (about 10 minutes across the bay from Palo Alto; same distance from Oakland Airport) but it's well worth it. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is well maintained, includes a small but well equipped gym, as well as a washer/dryer. The rooms were clean and in great shape. I can honestly say that I do not have single complaint. Everything was great. Plus we paid about $90 a night.

Room Tip: higher floor on the south side (away from the highway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in August 2012 on business. The weather was cold and rainy, a bit unusual for that time of year but the stay was great, nice rooms and the staff will bend over backwards to help you with any need you have. There is a Starbucks on location in their little restaurant there, same prices as the Starbucks across the street but that Starbucks closes early. This hotel is at a good location right off the freeway/toll (be aware there is a toll going towards San Francisco), big Raleys supermarket in the parking lot and lots of Asian restaurants to choose from. However, our favorite restaurant was a hole in the wall Mexican that honestly cannot be missed. Across the street from the hotel, open late called Taqueria Los Gallos, supremely great and super cheap!!! Honestly, I am born and bred Los Angeleno and I love my Mexican food but this was fantastic. The family Chinese restaurant in the same parking lot was less good but they gave tons and they were super cheap, perhaps you need to know what to order.

Room Tip: the parking lot for the hotel is the entrance just before the entrance for the Raley's supermark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

As a business traveler, consistency is always a huge plus. This is one of those new/renovated Courtyards with the pods for checking in and "lounge-y" places for drinks and limited menu. I was only there one night, so not a lot of time to check it all out.

Lobby is huge and well lit. Check in was straightforward and simple. Got a little bag of chocolates and a small water in addition to the extra points for being Marriott Platinum. The room was nice with comfortable beds and a nice flat screen TV. Bathroom was big.

Parking was available but had to park in the back and walk around because I got in late. It was hard to see the road to turn on after getting off the interstate. Did a breakfast sandwich which was good but seemed a little pricey for $8.

Definitely would stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pablo, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our stay was wonderful, we checked in at about 9pm, the pool is only suppose to be open until 10:00 but they allowed our very tired soccer players, ages 8-19 to relax in the pool until about 11:30, as long as they did not make a bunch of noise. OUr room accomadations were great, the beds were good, extra pillows, extra clean and smelled good. The lobby was great, we ordered pizza's from a local pizza hut and abou 20 of us ate in the lobby area where they have multiple tables. Everyone we spoke to there was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott in Newark, Ca. this last weekend. Three nights, Friday night through Monday morning with not a single complaint.

The room was clean, maid service was excellent, nice big screen TV, front desk agent (young man with a pony tail) was very helpful and courtous, room was quiet.

This hotel was a great launching point to San Fransisco and was everything I had hoped and more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was our first time to stay in this hotel. I was pleased with the friendliness of the staff, especially the front desk. They were very accommodating. The lobby was clean and modern. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley

Address: 34905 Newark Blvd, Newark, CA 94560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark Silicon Valley Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark Silicon Valley
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Newark Silicon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;