We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Accomodations but not the best Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark - Fremont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark - Fremont to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark - Fremont
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39270 Cedar Boulevard, Newark, CA 94560   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 10%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancovuer BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Solid Accomodations but not the best Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I ended up at this Homewood as the one I wanted in Santa Clara was full. The property is in good shape with all the usual Homewood amenities including a very good breakfast buffet and evening reception.

We had a one bedroom suite on the fourth floor. It was well equipped with a separate bedroom and separate office space. This was particularly convenient as it allowed my teenage son to escape with his computer into his own space. The full kitchen had everything we needed to prepare a couple of meals.

I didn't use the pool / hot tub, but it looked clean.

The only drawback is the neighborhood. Although there is a large mall across the street and several strip malls in the neighborhood, the whole area felt a little bit shabby. There are a few decent restaurants in the area with lots of ethnic choices but walkability was pretty low.

I would stay here again if I was doing business in the East Bay. It was just OK as a location for my meetings in Palo Alto.

We had one minor issue with one of the breakfasts. The response from the hotel was prompt and more than satisfactory, including a personal letter from the manager.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    57
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
72
15
16
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Glad we found this! We had a very comfortable suite for only 1 night, very well equipped kitchen too. Staff all seemed to love their jobs, very friendly and helpful too. We were offered a complimentary dinner with free flow wine, both of which was good quality, also on offer was a complimentary breakfast, again this was of good quality. If we ever go to Newark again, we would certainly comeback!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is truly awesome! One thing I can say is apart from the fully equipped suites their customer service is second to none. I would like to special mentioned Susan and Claudia for the courtesy and world class service they have extended to me and my family during our 5month stint. Its been great and I would surely stay again in the future! Thanks again for all the wonderful memories and good night sleep you have given us. Its a pleasure and a BIG thank you to all of you in Homewood Suites Newark!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here recently for one night. Very enjoyable and comfortable stay in 2 bedroom suite. Very quiet and clean. Grounds were well cared for and staff was very pleasant and helpful. Very good breakfast buffet that was notably better than most offerings you get from establishments without an onsite restaurant. Easy 10 minute walk to BJ sports bar or even closer, the Red Robin in the adjacent shopping mall. I would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This property had great accommodations, a very friendly staff, a terrific breakfast, and it was exceptionally clean. We were traveling with a non-family member, so we booked a two room suite. Our suite, or one like it, would be absolutely perfect if you are traveling with children or just want some extra space. Each room had it's own private bathroom, so there was no worry of having to share a bathroom when each of us was trying to get ready at the same time. The rooms were very nicely appointed, the queen beds were comfortable, and each room had its own flat screen television. Between the bedrooms there was a living room area, also with its own flat screen television, a gas fireplace, and a sofa that would make into a bed if needed. The full kitchen was well equipped and the property in general was quiet. Considering this location is "Silicon Valley" territory, the weekend room rate was very acceptable, although certainly would be higher during the week, but considering what you are getting, probably still a nice place to stay. We definitely would go back again when traveling in that area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very accommodating staff. Comfortable room and good complimentary breakfast. Even with high school wrestling teams staying there, the hotel was quiet and orderly. They made special arrangements to open another dining area so other guests wouldn't be crowded.

Room Tip: Some rooms contain a kitchen if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

i stayed here for the first time when I went with my husband to his baseball tournament. I was elated with what we got for our money. Clean, quiet, close to the highway and restaurants and great breakfast. Wish could have stayed longer. Great newspapers for free in lobby. Only complaint would be to be able to spray the waffle maker. Everything got stuck to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark - Fremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark - Fremont

Address: 39270 Cedar Boulevard, Newark, CA 94560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark - Fremont 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the expanding North Side of Fresno, California, the Homewood Suites by Hilton® Fresno CA hotel is on the Southeast corner of Herndon Ave and Fresno Street with easy access to the HWY 41 and the surrounding Fresno area. Adjacent to new Fresno CA restaurants and shopping centers, our hotel is within walking distance to medical centers, malls, and growing business parks. Whether you're planning an extended stay, or you're just sightseeing over the weekend, you'll love our close proximity to some of Fresno's exciting attractions. Our lovely Homewood Suites Fresno offers guests a variety of options including studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suite floor plans. Our hotel suites are ideal for temporary housing as well as overnight accommodations while in the Fresno CA area. Each suite offers a range of home comforts for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark - Fremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Newark-Fremont Hotel Newark
Homewood Suites Newark
Homewood Newark
Newark Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark - Fremont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.