We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Silicon Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Silicon Valley to your Saves list
Aloft Silicon Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8200 Gateway Boulevard, Newark, CA 94560 (Formerly W Silicon Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“NICE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

THX for the service and the nice stay - prices increased since 2013 but ok. 40 minutes away from SanFran city center via BART train for 12 US$! Come again! Breakfast fine, as well as dinner. Like the GREEN voucher 5 US$ a day IF you do not neet room service - you can use the voucher at the reception for snacks and drinks as well as at the bar!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    48
    19
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
14
6
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is generally my preferred hotel when on business in the Newark, CA area. The hotel is a revamped W Suites and still has some of the spirit of it's former self. There are no stores or restaurants within walking distance, and so best to have a car. To find a really good restaurant you will have to travel pretty far. There is some shopping and restaurants a few miles down the road but they are all fast-food, Asian, Indian, etc. The Newark area appears to have some issues with petty crime. A colleague had his car broken into while at a restaurant.The hotel elevators require the room card to operate. A nice safety precaution. The rooms appear to all have safes as well. The room bordered on being a suite in square footage and layout. The bed and furniture were typical for the price point of the room. The kitchenette was nice to have, with a small refrigerator (no freezer). The bathroom was slightly above average, although the toilet ran constantly, and the quantity of towels was just enough for one person IMHO. The bathroom was clean, as were the towels and bed linens. The single television could turn 180 degrees to allow viewing from any part of the room. This also allows easy access to the connections on the back if you need those. Although the TV is a flat screen, it was a few years old. Channel selection was average, and included movies for rent. Picture quality of many stations was sub-par. The work desk was average but had only two spare outlets. There were other spare outlets around the room for plugging in phones, etc. but no spare outlets at the bedside. I tried to use the in-room WiFi only once to download a large file. It would not allow me to process the download. The lobby is welcoming, with a cheerful staff. There is a decent enough bar, which serves a wide variety of beer, wine, and cocktails. They have a small menu of food, most of which is decent enough. I ate there for the three nights I stayed. The bartender remembered my name the second two nights. One night there was a live guitarist playing in the bar area. I would have preferred less noise however it did seem to attract more guests than usual to the bar, and people seemed to enjoy the music. There is a small selection of snacks and drinks for sale at the front desk. They also have a "Botlr" robot that will make deliveries to your room. The gizmo followed me onto the elevator one morning to make a delivery. A novel feature for a hotel, and I imagine some people would stay at Aloft just to see the robot in action. Parking can be a bit tight, with most of the available parking barely wide enough for a mid-size car. There are very few parking spots directly in front. Overall this is an average hotel. I have stayed at some of the other nearby hotels and personally prefer this one. If you are staying in the area and don't have a car you may want to stay down the road closer to the shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you want to see a nice sunset, stay in a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel for work and have stayed at this hotel over a hundred nights in the past year. It's an excellent value, the rooms are modern and comfortable, and the staff has always gone out of their way to make me feel welcome. They're the best part along with Botler, their delivery robot. Yes, you read correctly, you have to try this amusing feature. The drive across the Dumbarton Bridge to Menlo Park is only about 10 minutes depending on traffic, and there are some nice hiking / mountain biking trails nearby in Coyote Hills. I will always come back to the Aloft whenever I have business in Silicon Valley.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Sales Coordinator at Aloft Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the wonderful & positive feedback. Our hearts fill up with joy to hear that you consider us your second home and that you'll keep visiting us & Botlr when in town! We have a big family and we consider our guests part of that family. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Generally, I'm not a big fan of the Aloft Hotels. They are loud, noisy, sort of Gen X-ish or younger. But this one is an exception. it used to be a W, so the rooms have retrained their "W"-ness. They haven't gone the hollow imitation of retro route that just feels so contrived (although the pool tables are cool).

That being said, if they do have a pool table, I didn't see it. But they do have a REAL restaurant, a REAL bar, and adults over 40. So they retained the benefits of a W, and to some degree the cost, so its pricey for an Aloft, but not so for a W.

It also has proximity to a park where you can walk/run/get outside.

Room Tip: Its not right near the airport, but if you are heading south or eastr from SFO, its a pretty conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really liked the size and layout of the rooms; I'm always pleased when there is a mini-fridge, too. I thought the pivoting bedside table/headboard and retro alarm clock were very cool touches. My kids l-o-v-e-d the robotic "botlr" and probably would have had it delivering every 10 minutes if I'd let them; it is a neat little novelty and a genius way to get people to buy snacks they maybe otherwise would not purchase :) The pool area was very nice and I would have liked to have been able to spend more time there...my kids weren't fans of it being only 4ft deep but were happy to splash around regardless. My only complaint is that the window shade was more for looks than substance; the sun was streaming in by 7am and kids were AWAKE. Next time I would ask for a room at the opposite end of the hall (left side coming out of the elevators) if they haven't changed them. I booked this for one night only before going to a baseball game at the Coliseum and it was convenient for that, I would stay again, but I would want to give myself more time to enjoy the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the left of the elevator hallway if you like to sleep in so the sun won't stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nicely appointed room with a great shower, the sofa was not that comfortable and the headboard was angled on one end to compensate for the shape of the room.

There were some issues with getting our IPhones to work with the SPG app so we could use them for room keys, never getting it to work.

Customer service was exemplary overall, unfortunately the Coffee was very weak and not very tasty.

Will definitely visit again!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Large, comfortable room with sofa, refrigerator, microwave oven, separate shower and bathtub, big flat screen TV, gym and pool. The beds were extremely comfortable and the entire hotel was clean with a very attentive staff. The food in hotels restaurant is excellent as well as the drinks! Some may think it's pricey but if you really look at the quality and the portions it's really a reasonable price. I definitely would recommend staying in this hotel. Great place to stay. Except for the desolate location, a little bit far from shopping plazas.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aloft Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Silicon Valley

Address: 8200 Gateway Boulevard, Newark, CA 94560 (Formerly W Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft Silicon Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Silicon Valley, a hip hotel where youll be steps away from major tech corporations. We offer easy-breezy access to natural wonders and wine country, and each of the areas international airports is about a half-hour away. Rise and shine in our bright and modern Aloft rooms, featuring plush platform beds, walk-in showers, custom amenities by Bliss® Spa and more. Recharge all your gadgets with the plug & play docking station, which also links your laptop or tunes to the 42 LCD TV. Meet and mingle at our w xyz(SM) bar, grab a snack at the 24/7 re:fuel by Aloft(SM) gourmet pantry, or work and play at our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plenty of perks include fast + free hotel-wide Wi-Fi, our always-open re:charge(SM) gym, reviving splash pool, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Silicon Valley - Newark Hotel Newark
w Hotel Newark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Silicon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.