We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Silicon Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Silicon Valley to your Saves list
Aloft Silicon Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8200 Gateway Boulevard, Newark, CA 94560 (Formerly W Silicon Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed for 3 nights - very comfortable, nice modern hotel. Fitness center is somewhat small - food was above average but room service tacked on a service charge and a tip, which made it a bit pricey. Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
17
10
5
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I checked in yesterday 12/7 for 2 nights. So far have only had problems at the hotel. It is primarily a business hotel, obviously in the middle of nowhere with nothing around it for a few miles. It's just the hotel and a bunch of business parks surrounding it, so if you are looking for a hotel where you can walk to a coffee shop, or store of ANY kind, don't book this hotel. You must drive everywhere.

That's fine right? business hotel, you have a car with you, so no problem.. Well you'd assume that any business hotel would have good wireless internet right? Well, no.. This one has spotty internet, especially on a Sunday night. I had an incredibly hard time getting anything done, i had to drive out to use the internet at a coffee shop a few miles away.

The amenities in the room were interesting too.. Just strange things, like stains on the white comforter covered with a sheet, random stains on the walls and missing tiles on the bathroom floor. The coffee here is awful, with those crappy little single pod coffee makers,, (no not the Keurig ones, the "Mr. Coffee" ones that just taste like hot water with a hint of coffee) The fridge kept tilting every time you'd open it and just so many more strange things with a hotel rated so highly. Guess i just expected more. Especially the internet connection.

Ok, but the worst part of all in my opinion is the ridiculous hold they put on my card. Now, I usually understand that hotels put a hold on debit/credit cards for incidentals and what not, but the room was already paid for by my company. When i first noticed, i called downstairs and the front desk said it was a mistake and they would refer it to their manager.. They specifically said it should not have been so high and they had not seen that before. Ok, wait for the morning... So i come down in the morning and they say they can't remove the charge because that's what it was. We are talking over $100.. I won't disclose the amount, but it was just more than i had ever had held from a prepaid hotel before for a room that was justs sub par. Also the front desk in the morning was rude and cold about it. Anyway. It's fine. I'm just letting my company know that we can take our business to the Marriott brand nearby. So that is that.

Room Tip: Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are very cute! it was close to being a mini-apartment! there's a big fridge in the room, a living room area, really comfortable bed, and a well-stocked bathroom.

The person manning the desk around midnight seemed lost and uninterested. He gave me the vibe of wanting to be doing something else than be there.

no hot water. they told me the city shut down their hot water some time during the day and that hot water should already be available. nope.... I took a cold shower that night. the guy at the desk didn't even bother giving me other options like maybe checking another room that may have hot water. An effort was what I wanted to see but it didn't happen.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

It used to be a W hotel so it's still got some of the WOW factor and deco which is nice. Ample car parks, nice bar in the lobby and simple but very good restaurant which is also in the lobby which is big. As SPG Plat. I was upgraded to suite which was nice. Hotel is located close to main highway but very quiet. Nice pool and hottub. When you drive to Silicon Valley in the morning there is some traffic on the bridge but it moves. There is not much around there but I'd surely stay again, all the staff I met was very kind and attentive and helpful, really nice.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

The guy that checked me in was a dear, funny and welcoming in a totally non fake way. The guy in the bar was also super friendly and remembered small details about the guests (such as that I had had Heineken the night before) which I found really nice. Nice rooms, good WiFi, ok food and 24/7 gym.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Liked the room, location and amenities during our short stay in the hotel. Good location as it is very close to the bridge connecting the SFO city and airport (30 min approx in off peak hours) from valley. Room was clean and spacious with no noisy neighbours. Lovely view of the fog hit mornings from the window. Was glad to find a microwave and a refrigerator in the room. More light in the bed area and a microwave safe bowl could have been a plus point.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I had business in Santa Clara and Palo Alto and the hotel was a quick drive to both. Spacious room for the price and solid breakfast. Not a whole lot going on in the immediate area was the only downside.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Silicon Valley

Address: 8200 Gateway Boulevard, Newark, CA 94560 (Formerly W Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft Silicon Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Silicon Valley, a hip hotel where youll be steps away from major tech corporations. We offer easy-breezy access to natural wonders and wine country, and each of the areas international airports is about a half-hour away. Rise and shine in our bright and modern Aloft rooms, featuring plush platform beds, walk-in showers, custom amenities by Bliss® Spa and more. Recharge all your gadgets with the plug & play docking station, which also links your laptop or tunes to the 42 LCD TV. Meet and mingle at our w xyz(SM) bar, grab a snack at the 24/7 re:fuel by Aloft(SM) gourmet pantry, or work and play at our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plenty of perks include fast + free hotel-wide Wi-Fi, our always-open re:charge(SM) gym, reviving splash pool, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Silicon Valley - Newark Hotel Newark
w Hotel Newark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Silicon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.