We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic 19th Century Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Castle Historic Lodgings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Castle Historic Lodgings
Save Saved
You added Red Castle Historic Lodgings to your Saves list
109 Prospect St., Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Authentic 19th Century Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Forest View room at the Red Castle on a romantic weekend getaway. The accommodations were comfortable yet have a feel of being authentically historic. The breakfast food was very good. The chef even accommodated some dietary limitations we had. The owners of the Inn were pleasant but non intrusive. The inn is located in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance of the main street in Nevada City. It is entirely possible to park your car in their dedicated parking area and leave it there for the entire stay. We would definitely stay at the Red Castle again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Forest Room which had its own private entrance, but we looked at the Garden Room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    12
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
9
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I agree with the review by tinnpann. We were the only guests at the inn and never felt very welcomed. We had particularly asked if they had wifi and were told they did and were given the password but never were able to get on the web. When we asked about that we were then told that they had spotty reception and it was iffy at best. We did think our breakfast was tasty but it was laid out on a side table with no host in sight and no dining area provided. We had to take our breakfast on our own (on a tray) into the parlor and eat it on our laps or find a table to be able to place our tray. We had the two-bedroom suite and it was nice to have the sitting area. This is not the what I would consider a typical stay at a B & B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marylouise_redcastle, Owner at Red Castle Historic Lodgings, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
It's fixed! We regret that our wi fi connection chose to fail during your stay and thank you for bringing it to our attention right away. Now assisted by a new modem our wi fi has been running smoothly since. We're sorry that you were inconvenienced. We appreciate the compliment about our tasty breakfast. The variety of 19thc inspired creations by our chef is presented on the marble sideboard because we endeavor to recreate a "period" atmosphere, minus the liveried footman to serve. The guests help themselves and the choice of where to eat is up to them. We're sorry that there were no other guests to talk to but we always have a breakfast host available to talk about topics of mutual interest, the Inn or history. We thank you for helping us to keep up with technology to insure that future guests who are intent on connecting to the web won't be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was my second stay at the wonderfully vertical Red Castle, and this time I was there with my son, mother and sister. We shared the two-bedroom suite with a sitting room and tiny porch on the top floor. I love the rich, historic feel of this Victorian inn, and it's the perfect place for this town, in terms of atmosphere and location. The decor is authentic, and it would be easy to spend hours browsing the books and art and sitting in the parlor, imagining the salons held there around the turn of the century. The morning breakfast is delicious. I gather the menu always changes, but we were offered a feast of strawberries with sour cream and brown sugar, rice pudding, carmelized french toast, poached eggs with herbs and mushrooms, stewed tomatoes, homemade sourdough rolls, orange juice, and good coffee. The walk to town is easy, down the hillside steps off the garden and then across a short bridge to the foot of Broad St. Very convenient, yet tucked away, with a great perspective of the hilly topography that makes this town so charming. The owners -- Conley and Mary Louise -- are friendly and interesting, so definitely ask questions. The inn is exceptionally clean and beautifully restored (check out the 'before' pictures). The only pity is freeway noise which can be heard from the garden (not the rooms), so if you wanted a place where you could spend a lot of time reading in the garden, you might want to keep that in mind (if you're sensitive to that sort of thing), but I'm more interested in the interior of the house and the town, so that would not prevent me from coming back. All in all a wonderful place, full of character.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I were given a gift of a night in the Red Castle. It is a beautiful house, very well maintained, but our reception by the hostess was 'chilly'. I felt like a not particularly wanted house guest and was afraid to speak in a normal voice. We spent a whole afternoon and evening being very quiet while in the house. That particular night, we were the only guests, so breakfast was a little sparse. Not a very welcoming bed & breakfast. We are older, and used to b&b's being more friendly and informal, maybe with a little chat about local history or the house...this was not it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Red Castle Inn was an interesting old building built in the 1800's. It feels very Victorian while being cleaned and well maintained. The breakfast was rather high calorie but tasted good. I would have been very happy with scrambled eggs and great toast. The strawberries were sweet and delicious. The room we stayed in had a very high bed which would not be good for less agile people. There was a lot of noise from the highway but did't seem to disturb us. There were lovey red velvet curtains which blocked the noise and sound. It was a bit of a walk to town with six flights down and back up to the inn. It would have been nice if the inn keeper had more knowledges of the hiking trails.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the parking lot side. They quieter and have regular beds. Also if you like tubs one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We recently enjoyed a two night stay in the Red Castle Inn's Gold Room, located an easy 10 minute walk into Downtown Nevada City, and couldn't be more satisfied. Upon checking in, the innkeepers warmly welcomed us and made themselves available for dining and sightseeing guidance and then withdrew, making themselves unobtrusive. The inn is decorated in true Victorian style, which is to say a little cluttered. However, it's cluttered with fascinating things, like regional history books and documents, that guests may peruse to their hearts content. Breakfasts are prepared by a chef, who graciously accommodated our special dietary needs and visited with us on our first morning.

Since others have mentioned traffic noise, I must add that no noise entered the Gold Room, which is located on the back of the house. We also had a private veranda where we enjoyed our morning coffee before getting breakfast. We only learned after we went to Nevada City that The Red Castle Inn is thought by paranormal believers to be haunted and The Gold Room to be the "hot" room for manifestations. We can report that we slept peacefully, with no ghost sightings, movement of objects or any other evidence of "ghosts."

I asked my husband if there he could think of any improvements to our stay. He thought for a couple of moments and said, "More time there?"

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

What a relaxing and memorable stay! It's hard to believe that this historic site has been so authentically restored (with a few extra comforts added). We travel a bit and have stayed there on five different occasions (so we do like it very much) and each room is like staying in a classy period piece. Some rooms open to their own terrace and others open onto gardens. The breakfasts can be unique but are very enjoyable. The gardens are pleasant for visiting, reading, or just having a thoughtful moment. We've stayed in other Victorian-style bed and breakfasts in the general area of Nevada City/Grass Valley, but this is a clear favorite to us.

Room Tip: We've been there five different times (travel a lot) and each room is special. We really don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Castle Historic Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Castle Historic Lodgings

Address: 109 Prospect St., Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 138-yr old, Gothic revival style mansion located in Nevada City. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Castle Historic Lodgings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.