We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quite place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn to your Saves list
Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn
523 Sacramento St, Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice quite place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was one of two places we had pick to stay at. It just happen that the other one booked up fast, good for us the other one was out of the way. Check in was fast and the owner was very helpful. We stayed in the Daphne Cottage, it was one of the smaller ones but it was perfect.
It was easy access to and from the freeway. It was very quite in the evenings which we liked.
We didn't use the BBQ area but it was there for our use, and the breakfast we opted out on because we had plans to get up early.
The room was made up real nice, nice flat screen tv and cable.
The only thing I saw on the down side was the small bath, but we managed.
I would recommend this place to everyone that is going to Grass Valley area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi John W.,

Thank you for your review! It Was nice to have You and Jeannette with us.
(Love that Big Salmon in your profile pic)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

For us, it happened to be a special, romantic weekend celebration, but I would stay here again under any circumstances. There were many adorable little details about this cottage - more than I can possibly list. Next time, I will take some photos.
We stayed in the Chestnut cottage. We got the last cottage available, which just saved us the trouble of choosing one It was accurately described, including the smallish shower (unimportant to us).
It was fun to be able to walk into Nevada City & we got lots of helpful, insider information about the town from our friendly hosts. We skipped the breakfasts so I can't review those. But the yummy coffee and half & half in the kitchen were extra enjoyable. Our cottage was perfectly preheated when we arrived. We stayed 2 nights. It was so quiet that it would not have occurred to me there were any other guests except that I knew they were completely sold out.
The grounds have some cute touches, too. It was a little too cold for us to hang out in the courtyard, but that will be another good reason to return when it's warmer weather.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M007W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are so pleased that you chose Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B for your romantic getaway. Our weather was warmer than normal for this time of year during your stay but still a bit chilly for using the courtyard to "hang out" in so come to see us in May-Sept. for some spectacular mountain weather! Thanks for taking the time to review us here on TA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey County
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

After a four-year hiatus we were able to get back to Piety Hill again. We were extremely pleased to find that the hosts (friendly and attentive), room (beautiful, comfortable, and complete), and service (breakfast was very tasty and perfectly on-time) were still A-1!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJBryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for another great review! Always nice to have you here on Piety Hill!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My friend and I booked a cottage called Maple for a two night stay in Nevada City. When we got there the room was super heated, someone had had the wood stove going. This was not a problem as we put on the air conditioner a few hours to cool it down to a reasonable temperature . What was however, a major problem was the shower. I had to wait a long time to get any hot water flowing and it was barely a dribble when it did flow. I cannot imagine that many others were showering in other cottages in the later afternoon when we checked in. Then the toilet kept running. It was irritating as I had to take off the toilet tank top to reach in and move the ball around so the water would stop running. I didn't mind the first time as I wanted to get some sleep, but after a few more times it got old. The next day when I tried to turn on the shower again before we went out, there was hardly a drop of water coming out. It was all so frustrating so my friend in Grass Valley suggested we pack up and go back to her place for our last night in that area. I could not pack and get out of there fast enough. I wanted a good shower before we went home to Canada. I would not recommend this Maple cottage to anyone until the plumbing issues are resolved . It was a waste of money entirely.
We packed and left so fast once my friend offered us her home again, that in our haste, my friend left her ipad cord there. To their credit the management did offer to mail it back to her.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello Linda B. Thanks for your comments here on TA.
We never rent the Maple Cottage with the wood burning stove already ablaze. We do however preheat the cottages for arriving guests if the temps are expected to drop drastically as it did on the night that you stayed. The stove has not been used by a guest since early May of this year. We noticed that the air conditioner, the bedroom ceiling fan and the 3 speed stand fan had been used when we refreshed the cottage. I am sorry that it was too warm for you.
The problem with the toilet running was a simple fix. The nut that holds the handle in place had loosened slightly and it was tightened by hand in 10 seconds. When the toilet is running the pressure to all other faucets will be significantly diminished as was the case here. The guest that stayed the next night told us they had no problem with the toilet or the shower.
You did not bring these issues to management’s attention until after you were vacating the property. Had you given us the opportunity to resolve the problems, we could have made the simple repairs quickly and you could have enjoyed the remainder of your stay. If problems are not brought to the attention of the management, even the simplest of solutions won’t help the issue at hand. This place is 80 years old and has some quirkiness, but most all issues can be resolved by communicating with the Innkeepers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We only had one night at these cottages but I wish that we had had the opportunity to stay longer. The cottage we had (Daphne) was very prettily decorated with a comfortable bed, excellent shower and real individual character. The little touches - such as a pot of excellent ground coffee, use of a BBQ and seats in the central garden area - showed a great deal of thought had gone into the cottages. It is only a 10 minute downhill walk into the town so a convenient location as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here on Piety Hill. The area offers so much more than one day can cover so we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A fine old motor court, nicely landscaped, with lovely rooms. The folks that run this place were helpful, friendly and knowledgable about the area. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. All and all it was great and looking forward to returning!!

Room Tip: Try the breakfast...Mmmmm good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for your comments and for choosing Piety Hill Cottages. We will look you up when next visiting Santa Cruz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I think one of the best ways to judge a place is if you would return. I think an even better way to judge a place is if you find yourself trying to figure out ways to return soon!

I am trying to figure out ways to return soon for certain.

I found the cottages quaint, individual, comfortable and just a real pleasure to stay in. These are unique units with care and thought poured into each one. I really loved and appreciated the small details.

I found the staff to be kind, friendly, helpful, responsive and little bit like extended family (in a great way).

I found the location to be excellent. Off the main drag but close enough to walk into the main "downtown" area. It was also excellent for me because I am a runner and I was able to run in the neighborhoods without any problems.

Piety cottages are clean, well cared for, comfortable places to stay. I am looking forward to returning to visit again and cuddling up in one of their cottages.

I highly recommend this haven.

Room Tip: We stayed a little bit away from the road midway around the circle that the cabins are in. We had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piety_Hill_Cottages, Owner at Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#5 of 6 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
3.4 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#4 of 6 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn

Address: 523 Sacramento St, Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, casual, and private, our cozy cottages are a relaxed setting for singles, couples and families. As our guest, you will retire to a one, two or three room cottage with French Country or Early American decor. Each has a kitchenette with a microwave, various dishes, a small fridge and coffee maker, as well as complimentary coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Your cottage will have a private bath and may have a King, Queen, or King and Day Bed w/Trundle. Each cottage has a television (some with a VCR or DVD), heating and air conditioning. A delicious full, hot or generous continental breakfast can be delivered to your cottage or out in the flower garden between 8:00 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. Our courtyard has several BBQs and lots of room for the kids to burn off some energy. The Yuba River and many high mountain lakes (including The Tahoe National Forest) are just a short distance up Hwys 20 & 49. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Piety Hill Cottages Motel and B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing