We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairytale room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outside Inn

Save Saved
You added Outside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Outside Inn
575 E. Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Nevada City
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A fairytale room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had not planned any overnight stay in Nevada City but when we saw how charming this little town is, we decided to look for a place to sleep and went to ask at the Tourist Office. So it was thanks to them how we found the Outside Inn where there still was an available room: Room 3 1/2 (three and a half), a very funny number for a room, isn't it? This was certainly a good start which became even a better story because the room was tastefully decorated. It is true that it is a small room (that explains why it is number 3 1/2 and why it is only equipped with 2 single but comfortable beds, a hanging flat TV, a small radio set, a small fridge, a small desk and a chair) but it was more than enough for the two of us and our luggage. Moreover the existing furniture allows you in the end to find space for everything, so the size of the room was not a problem at all. And both the room and the ensuite bathroom were spotless.
In regards to the location, this is a quiet and safe area and which is not far from downtown. Actually we left our car in front of our room and just walked to the center.
The only thing that was not as good as in other places is that the price (we paid 87$) didn't include any breakfast. Nevertheless we were satisfied and we even felt somehow special for having slept in a room with such a funny number.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    47
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
91
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here for a girls night out, wanting to enjoy dinner and dessert in town and not wanting to worry about having to my drive home afterwards. My guests were from out of town and this would be their first experience of the "little town up in the hills" I had moved away from them for....I wanted their impression to be a good one. Outside Inn did not disappoint. We attended a wine event, we shopped, we explored the Grass Valley and Nevada City downtown areas... we dined....we laughed...and did I mention we shopped (Nevada County has great local shops)? The jewel of the crown of our stay here was Outside Inn. When I phoned ahead to explain why we were staying, they recommended the perfect creek side cabin which was a standalone home adjacent to the property called "The Cottage". It was the perfect place to meet, catch up, put together our game plan, and then come back and continue to catch up. It had it's own parking, it's own deck/backyard which overlooked the charming creek that runs along the property. It was so peaceful and charming and comfy! There is definitely pride of ownership here, with meticulously clean and creative rooms that match the spirit of the town it resides in. This all took place last March and ever since, I have recommended all friends and family coming in from out of town to stay here. Now that the same wine event that inspired last year's stay is again on our horizon.... my friends and I are planning to stay again this year and guess which room we're going to pick?

Room Tip: There are rooms that face the creek and even though I'm sure the other rooms that do not face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I had a nice stay in Nevada City and was able to walk downtown to get coffee in the morning. I love the area too, it's really beautiful with nice trees and traveling to Nevada City makes you feel like you are going back in time to a time when life was more simple.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A friend and I just needed a get away without getting away! This is also the first place we recommend for friends visiting from out of town. It gives you the real Nevada City experience; funky, fun, friendly and super cool. Original art and attention to detail make it extra special. If you want boring corporate hotel, this isn't for you. If you want a travel gem in the heart of a beautiful town filled with artists, musicians, chefs, and creative spirit, you will love this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

WE stayed at the Outside Inn recently and loved it! We really love how close it is to downtown. The room was so clean. The Inn is in a quaint neighborhood that is safe and quiet. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night while in town for a wedding. The room was exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated. I really appreciated the attention to details -- like an ample supply of coffee creamers, some little chocolate bar snacks, lots of info available on local attractions and places to eat, and friendly staff. The price was also highly competitive, and it's ~ 10 min walk to shops/bars/restaurants in Nevada City. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a twin bed located in a alcove (River room, maybe more?), in addition to a queen, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The decorations and room themes are a cheezy veneer over a cheap roadside motel with tiny, minimally-renovated bathrooms, and cheap furnishings. Rather than feeling like guests and eliminating stress, staff made us feel like we were an imposition. The back door to my room outside wouldn't lock. The front desk was closed so fearing for my safety as a lone female guest, I slept in another room that night with other family members. After telling the front desk clerk about the issue in the morning, there was no apology for our discomfort and we were "fortunate" that they would not charge me additional fees for staying in my family's cramped room. The clerk then droned on about a 72 hour cancellation policy and informed us that they would still charge full price for a room that I could not use even though the room was unsafe for a lone female guest, and they had no one in the office who could address the issue at the time. We never felt like guests; very sad to be treated this way given that our family and friends rented most of the motel that weekend. Will never stay here again. Don't waste your money.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutsideInnNevadaCity, Owner at Outside Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
The Outside Inn has a long history of very positive customer satisfaction, we are disappointed that we did not meet this guest’s expectations. We strive very hard to address any issues that our guests may have when and if they are brought to our attention There is someone on staff 24 hours, we are sorry that you did not contact us to help you with your fears at the time. Our guest safety is of our highest concern, the Outside Inn confirmed while the guest was here that the lock was indeed in working order. Again, we are sorry you are disappointed with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outside Inn

Address: 575 E. Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1930's era motor court inn with unique themed rooms, located in a quiet residential neighborhood just two blocks from downtown Nevada City. Wireless DSL, Cable, Summer Pool, BBQs, and Outdoor Fire Pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Outside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outside Hotel Nevada City
Outside Motel Nevada City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.