We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outside Inn
Save
You added Outside Inn to your Saves list
575 E. Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nevada City
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Outside Inn should be proud. We had a great stay here. Much to see, great service, and rooms with great themes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    56
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
45
105
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

this place was redone and we could not be happier for a choice to stay,
makes us want to come back soon
wish we could have stayed longer
The grounds
The pool
All so perfect and the beds so comfy,,,

Room Tip: We stayed in wildflower room number one and it was quiet and you can park so close, This is a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This old and lovingly restored roadside inn is carefully appointed with delightful touches. There's a sweet water feature in the central roundabout, and an embanked natural creek behind my room (the "Angler" room) that lend the piney mountain surroundings a lavish and mollifying tune. My walls are cedar-paneled and omni-cute. The décor deftly avoids the Holly-Hobbie pitfalls to which so many similar charming inns fall victim.

Good coffee in-room, superlative location in the olde towne, stunningly reasonable rates, and cheerful staff make this mountain lodging happy, memorable and trouble-free.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I admit that it took me the 1st 24 hours to unwind from my urban way of life, but once I did, The Outside Inn scooped me up and was so cozy. I actually liked that it was a few blocks walk from the center of town. I LOVED that it had a pool since we were traveling during a heat wave. There was a surprise little hammock near a stream that my kids just loved and we utilized the picnic benches in the center of the grassy area one night to have wine, pizza and salad (Pete's Pizza - a little under cooked for our liking). We had 2 rooms - The Woodland Room and The Historical Room. I'd opt to stay in the Woodland Room again since it was brighter and cheerier than the Historical Room. It was a nice 2-night stay for me and my family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Whenever we have visiting friends, The Outside Inn is always our first recommendation. The location can't be beat, the owners are incredibly nice and helpful, rooms are clean and the grounds are beautiful! Our daughter opted to stay there rather than home when she came to visit because it was so quiet. The owner even lets our CSA use their shed for pick-up!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I love the quaint feel of this place. I stayed in the "Winter Room" which was decorated with antique ski poles and snowflakes painted on the walls. Each room is uniquely decorated and they still retain the quirky charm from when the buildings were part of a motor lodge, possibly in the 1940's? My room was clean and the service was outstanding. I had a kichenette and a back door that opened up to a gravel pathway next to a small creek. I enjoy so many things about Nevada City. Staying at the Outside Inn is one of them. It's at the top of Broad Street, walking distance of several restaurants and many shops.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here a couple months ago...The price was amazing for what we got. The room was spotless and charming! The staff couldn't be more friendlier. I would defiantly recommend staying here and I know we will again. It was perfect...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outside Inn

Address: 575 E. Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1930's era motor court inn with unique themed rooms, located in a quiet residential neighborhood just two blocks from downtown Nevada City. Wireless DSL, Cable, Summer Pool, BBQs, and Outdoor Fire Pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outside Hotel Nevada City
Outside Motel Nevada City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.