We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outside Inn
Save
You added Outside Inn to your Saves list
575 E. Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

great place to stay in Nevada CIty. Right near the downtown, lots of hiking/biking trails within walking distance, and they even allow dogs. Love this place, very clean and quaint, and a great price point as well.

Room Tip: if you're going to stay a couple of days, they have some great kitchenettes. We stayed in the Si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    57
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
46
111
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MRSTROKE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here during Victorian Christmas in December and it was amazing. Walking distance to town, clean, great staff, and quite. Our next visit to Nevada City will be here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My family stayed here one night during the winter and we all loved it. Walking distance to downtown, friendly staff, rooms are rustic but very clean. The kitchenette is a great feature in many of the rooms and could make it good for a longer stay. We have 2 little kids, and the hostess gave them a treasure hunt to do throughout the quirky grounds. They had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
healdsburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

My sister and I enjoyed a recent visit to the Outside Inn, Nevada City. It was adorable and very quiet. People were nice and it was the perfect place for location to walking downtown for the Christmas festivities! Looking forward to returning in summer with my husband.

Room Tip: They are all good...but some have 2 beds with a separate little space which was nice for my sister a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Great spot! Very reasonably priced. The room was sweet, cozy, with a romantic atmosphere. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. I left an item by mistake and they were willing to pack it up and take it to the post office. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

The Outside Inn is our absolute favorite vacation place - although it's hard to get a room and you must book far in advance.

Great for visiting anytime of year. Year-round they have a cute little creek that runs through the backside of the Inn. At night they have twinkling lights that make the setting uber romantic.

Only issue - when your neighbors start packing up in the morning, you will most certainly wake up...thin walls.

Room Tip: Make it an adventure and keep track of which rooms you've stayed in. Try and stay in all the dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We've been visiting the Outside Inn frequently over the last decade. It is our favorite place to stay for a romantic get away. We love the friendly ambience, the charming rooms and the excellent service. We've stayed in several rooms - each is unique and adorable. Our favorite is the Creekside Hideway. Since it's close to the historic portion of Nevada City, we can easily walk to visit the local shops and enjoy the excellent restaurants. We highly recommend this affordable, pleasant Inn as an excellent get-away-from-it-all home away from home.

Bob and Maryjo

Room Tip: Go online, look at the pictures and pick your favorite decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outside Inn

Address: 575 E. Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1940's era motor court inn with unique themed rooms, located in a quiet residential neighborhood just two blocks from downtown Nevada City. Wireless DSL, Cable, Summer Pool, BBQs, and Outdoor Fire Pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outside Hotel Nevada City
Outside Motel Nevada City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.