We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother Daughter Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emma Nevada House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emma Nevada House
528 E. Broad St., Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Roseville, California, United States
1 review
“Mother Daughter Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have stayed twice at the Emma Nevada house and everything is exactly as you would want it to be. The hosts are kind, friendly, and gracious; not to mention their cooking is excellent! The rooms are adorable, with great decor that stays true to the era.
The walk to town is the perfect distance, maybe 3 minutes to any one of the amazing restaurants where the innkeepers will make reservations and recommendations for you. The entire town is full of treasures, both people and places.
My mom and I knew the first time we came her that it was going to become an annual tradition. We are so happy to have found this place. It's perfect!

Room Tip: If you have children the room titled "Emma's Hideaway" where we stay has an attached r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
129
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Katherine and Jim were so accommodating to my family which gave us this b and b as a surprise. Not only were we pleasantly surprised and loved the accommodations, the owners did everything possible to make our stay in this lovely town as "homey" as they could. All this was done even while Katherine was using one leg because of an incident. She never complained and was always there for us as was her husband. I highly recommend this place if you would like a home away from home. I give this a 5 star rating. My compliments to these two gracious host/hostess and the food was only exceeded by their hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms, to me, were well stocked with essentials and each one had its own particular quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Parking is a nightmare in Nevada City, so you need to stay in a place where you can walk to the attractions. Emma Nevada House meets that requirement, even offering offstreet parking behind the inn. But it is so much more. Each room is perfectly appointed with everything you need. The beds are comfortable, the linens luxurious. They have a flatscreen in each room with a DVD player (and movies to view in their library). The hosts will help you plan a perfect stay with their deep knowledge of the area. They have a book of menus for restaurants, maps, and more. The deck with a pretty view is a great place to have a picnic and on good days, that's where you'll have your great breakfast. They do a complete gourmet breakfast, but for me, that's always a challenge. I'm allergic to eggs. They managed that just fine with homemade, fresh granola, fabulous bacon and a scone. Normally, I don't get much but this made me feel special. There is a natural area below the parking lot which we didn't explore, but where they often get deer and other animals. Just a beautiful, spotlessly clean place with the kind of treatment from the inn-keepers that you only dream about.

Room Tip: Rooms are all nice, so just pick by price point. There are a few rooms upstairs, some downstairs an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We came to the Sierra foothills to attend a wedding. We stayed here in Nevada City for the weekend. Emma Nevada House is a treasure in every way: decor, location, food, and incredible innkeepers! The walk from the house down to the historic part of town in a good way to work off all the delicious calories consumed at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband's generous mom gave us a gift certificate over two years ago--we finally redeemed it at this charming inn. It was comfortable, the staff was more than welcoming and breakfast was perfect each morning. Park your car on the lot, walk to town and back all day, shop, visit tasting rooms, eat out, relax on the porch with the cat. Thank you for the opportunity to get away and really relax!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We decided to stay in Nevada City on a whim during a weekend outing. We found the Emma Nevada House while walking around town looking for a B&B to stay last minute. Jim and Katherine were very inviting and had a room available. We stayed in the Mockingbird Nest. Great little room with a spacious bathroom, and with the window open we had a nice breeze blow through. The house has great decks, and after our night on the town we were treated to our own private concert as we relaxed on a deck and a neighbors violin melodies floated through the night air. I really appreciated their behind-the-house parking off the street. We felt very safe leaving our road bikes on the rack of our car over night. Our hosts gave great recommendations for dinner and live music and information about the town. For new hosts, they have already mastered the art of being available if needed, but not overbearing. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here in April and this has got to be one of the best B&Bs we have ever been to (and we stay at a lot of them). New Innkeepers Jim and Katherine bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was memomorable. We so appreciated all their advice on steering us toward worthwhile attractions in the area. They even arranged for discounts with some of the shops and restaurants in town! Jim and Katherine were so helpful yet, not overwhelming as they respected that we wanted some quiet and relaxing time as well as time to tour the charming town.

The Inn is beautiful and charming with lovely antiques, a spacious sitting area with comfy chairs, board games, reading materials. It was lovely just to sit inside as well as sit outside on the porch.

We stayed in the Nightingale's Bower room - very comfortable, quiet and spacious and a nice jacuzzi.

One of the highlights was the gourmet breakfast served each morning which was hot, sumptious and delicious! As we learned, the breakfast menues were created by the Inn's owners and were some of the best breakfasts we have ever had. Tea and coffee are always available tne daily freshly made cookies were a nice bonusin the afternoon.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emma Nevada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma Nevada House

Address: 528 E. Broad St., Nevada City, CA 95959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emma Nevada House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Emma Nevada House to your Saves list