We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emma Nevada House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emma Nevada House
Save
You added Emma Nevada House to your Saves list
528 E. Broad St., Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California, United States
1 review
“Idyllic Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We came to the Sierra foothills to attend a wedding. We stayed here in Nevada City for the weekend. Emma Nevada House is a treasure in every way: decor, location, food, and incredible innkeepers! The walk from the house down to the historic part of town in a good way to work off all the delicious calories consumed at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
133
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband's generous mom gave us a gift certificate over two years ago--we finally redeemed it at this charming inn. It was comfortable, the staff was more than welcoming and breakfast was perfect each morning. Park your car on the lot, walk to town and back all day, shop, visit tasting rooms, eat out, relax on the porch with the cat. Thank you for the opportunity to get away and really relax!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We decided to stay in Nevada City on a whim during a weekend outing. We found the Emma Nevada House while walking around town looking for a B&B to stay last minute. Jim and Katherine were very inviting and had a room available. We stayed in the Mockingbird Nest. Great little room with a spacious bathroom, and with the window open we had a nice breeze blow through. The house has great decks, and after our night on the town we were treated to our own private concert as we relaxed on a deck and a neighbors violin melodies floated through the night air. I really appreciated their behind-the-house parking off the street. We felt very safe leaving our road bikes on the rack of our car over night. Our hosts gave great recommendations for dinner and live music and information about the town. For new hosts, they have already mastered the art of being available if needed, but not overbearing. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here in April and this has got to be one of the best B&Bs we have ever been to (and we stay at a lot of them). New Innkeepers Jim and Katherine bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was memomorable. We so appreciated all their advice on steering us toward worthwhile attractions in the area. They even arranged for discounts with some of the shops and restaurants in town! Jim and Katherine were so helpful yet, not overwhelming as they respected that we wanted some quiet and relaxing time as well as time to tour the charming town.

The Inn is beautiful and charming with lovely antiques, a spacious sitting area with comfy chairs, board games, reading materials. It was lovely just to sit inside as well as sit outside on the porch.

We stayed in the Nightingale's Bower room - very comfortable, quiet and spacious and a nice jacuzzi.

One of the highlights was the gourmet breakfast served each morning which was hot, sumptious and delicious! As we learned, the breakfast menues were created by the Inn's owners and were some of the best breakfasts we have ever had. Tea and coffee are always available tne daily freshly made cookies were a nice bonusin the afternoon.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My boyfriend treated us to 2 nights at The Emma House for my birthday. We stayed in the Mockingbird's Nest. We checked in late our first night, got a great recommendation from Jim for a late night bite to eat and went back to watch one of the free available DVD's in our room. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, perfectly prepared, pleasing to the eye and kept me full all day. The Emma House is within walking distance of the quaint downtown so we spent our day out and about walking around town and even did a little wine tasting. I had a 90 minute massage set up by the Inn Keepers in a room at the B&B, it was absolutely wonderful!! Jim recommended another restaurant for dinner and made reservations for us, so good I would drive back to Nevada City just to have dinner there. Enjoyed a nice bottle of wine we bought at the wine shop in town and chatted with the Inn Keepers that night. Breakfast our last morning was my birthday morning and Jim and Katherine made it so special! We will be back for sure! Will definitely request a room with a king bed in it next time since that is what we are used to sleeping in at home. We mentioned to Jim that we were a bit warm the first night and magically a fan appeared for our second night. Great hospitality and friendliness!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The staff was wonderful, Thank you. Location was in walking distance of all the shops and resturants. Great experiance. We can't wait to go back to the amazing Emma Nevada House in the quiet town of Nevada City.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 27th anniversary at Emma Nevada House in the Nightingale Bower suite. It was wonderful from our first moments being greeted by Sue, Winnie (the dog) and Nevada (the cat) until our departure. Our breakfasts were an absolute delight, the rooms tastefully decorated, and very clean. Sue was a very accommodating hostess while Andy, her husband, was off to Point Reyes to get their new establishment, Inverness Valley Inn, off the ground. We are looking forward to a fall visit to their other facility...and a return trip to Emma Nevada House.

Room Tip: I inspected all the rooms and each was a delight, uniquely decorated, and the special added touches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emma Nevada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma Nevada House

Address: 528 E. Broad St., Nevada City, CA 95959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emma Nevada House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.