We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking - just stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emma Nevada House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emma Nevada House
Save
You added Emma Nevada House to your Saves list
528 E. Broad St., Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stop looking - just stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We were looking for a short get-a-way from Sacramento and reserved two nights at Emma Nevada House. Inn owners Andy and Susan were away, but Linda and Winnie (the dog) took great care of us. We love this house! We stayed in the Nighingale's Bower room which was very comfortable. Breakfast was a gourmet delight! Boy, we felt spoiled. The large front porch was very relaxing to sit in a comfy rocking chair and read. The back deck has great views of trees and there is a pathway down to the creek. You are within walking distance to the historic district with great shops and restaurants. Linda was a great resource of information about different restaurants and local things to see. Charming, peaceful, relaxing - stop looking, just stay here!

Room Tip: We toured the entire house and if you have kids, you have to check out Emma's Hide-A-Way room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
133
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is the place to stay in Nevada City. I've stayed in several other B&Bs in the Gold Country over the years, but none are as pretty, comfortable, and welcoming as Emma Nevada House. It's like staying at the beautiful, cozy home of a friend. Andy and Sue are warm, friendly, fun, and knowledgeable about local history and things to do. They have a gift for being available when you need them but not hovering, like some B&B hosts. The beds are plump and comfortable, and in the morning you wake up to the luscious scent of Sue's phenomenal breakfasts. The location at the top of Broad Street is also perfect -- quiet but near enough to walk everywhere. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Mockingbird's Nest has a nice view of Broad Street. Emma's Hideaway is really special if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We had read the reviews and Emma Nevada House was on Select Registry (kind of like Michelin rating for b&b's!).

No surprises there, our stay was excellent. Highlight of the stay was of course the breakfast by Susan. I never loved Bacon so much!

The rooms are on the smallish side, we were I'm guessing in their bigger room with the bath that had the jacuzzi.

Shops on Broad Street are a 3-5 minute walk. The town is just amazing with antique shops, restaurants and wine tasting rooms.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We had a wonderful get-away our accommodations were great. Enjoyed the sitting area and the fireplace. The breakfast on both morning we were there was delicious!! Inn keepers were very helpful and a pleasure to converse with. We always talked about staying at a bed and breakfast in Nevada City where we could walk into town and Emma Nevada House fit the bill perfectly!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We recently spent two nights at the Emma Nevada house and the stay was wonderful. From the opening "historical" tour of the artifacts that Andy has collected, to the lovely room and delicious breakfasts, our stay was great. This a charming B&B. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms which, albeit small, was delightful. Clawfoot bathtub, comfy bed and nice little flat screen tv (with DVD's available downstairs). It was quiet, nicely decorated and peaceful. Will try to get back in warmer weather to enjoy the beautiful decks and gardens. Andy and Susan have a lovely space and the conversation and conviviality were a delight. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed a night for Veteran's day and had a great stay. The house in the perfect area, we love to walk around the shops on Broad street and look at the beautiful old houses. The owners are very cultured and you can have good conversation with them. Breakfast the next day was amazing! Susan is a great cook, her homemade granola and version of french toast was yummy. Dave know a lot about the area and loves to share his knowledge. The house was quiet, even when the other guests on our floor were talking or watching tv we couldn't hear them (I assume they were because we were watching tv too). It was a much needed escape, all we did was eat at Lefties and get some sweets at the chocolate shop on Broad to take back, then sat in our room sipping tea and watching movies from the houses DVD collection. Very clean, comfy and picturesque. Thanks for the relaxing get away, I hope to be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I'm a bit skittish when it comes to b&b's. For one thing, I like quiet, and have had the experience of hearing too much of 'other people's noise' at other b&b's. But we were up in Nevada City for a friend's event, so we went for it. I had read a few very good reviews of Emma Nevada's but our experience exceeded our expectations. First, there was Andy who not only registered us, but gave us a history of the home (Emma Nevada was a fellow Mills College alum, and famous opera singer) and of his own family. Delightful, as we are history buffs. Then there was our lovely room - the top room of the house with a charming little addition of a children's room (we did not use it but enjoyed the idea.) In the morning, Susan, Andy's wife served up a generous and very gourmet breakfast of egg souffle, homemade granola, unlimited coffee and handmade scones. On top of all this, we had wonderful conversations with them about film, art, books and their travels. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emma Nevada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma Nevada House

Address: 528 E. Broad St., Nevada City, CA 95959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emma Nevada House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.