We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local upscale restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Moon Cafe

New Moon Cafe
203 York St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2424
530-265-6399
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Nevada City, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A local upscale restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a very popular dinner place. The food is upscale and well presented but from my prospective, it lacks flavor which for me is very important and is why I only consider it average.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    28
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“White linen tablecloths & napkins, gourmet attractively served delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We read some great reviews on Trip Advisor regarding the Blue Moon Café in Nevada City. For the most part, people raved about the food but there was also some very negative comments regarding the wait staff. We both agreed to check out the restaurant for lunch the next time we were in the area. We asked to be seated on the outside deck which looks out over the parking lot on one side and you look through the sparkling clean large windows into the main dining room on the other. Overall it was a nice experience as the food was attractively served and because my husband and I weren’t that hungry we inquired as to the size of the sandwich as we wanted to split it. The server (who was very accommodating) asked if we would like to have the kitchen staff divide the sandwich for us. That was a nice touch as each plate had an ample sized sandwich along with a fabulous pesto pasta salad on the side with some lettuce, red onions, pickle and a pepper accompanying the other goodies on the plate. Certainly more than enough for the two of us. The sandwich was $16 but as I said, we split it so I felt the price was fair. The sandwich was fresh turkey along with bacon, red onion, some sort of mild cheese and lettuce. This was warmed and served on focaccia bread. Hubby had a bowl of their blended tomato basil soup which was equally good. The bus boy that took care of our table was a young man who was personable and efficient in that he kept our water glasses full and plates cleared away as we emptied them. All in all it was an enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Definite #1!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our 5th wedding anniversary at this terrific restaurant this last weekend...During my planning I asked folks in the area what the "best" restaurant in the Nevada City/Grass Valley area and was directed to New Moon...I also referred to Trip Advisor and (surprise!) there it was at #1...The food was excellent, the service was superb, and they have an outdoor "porch" area as a bonus...I had some special plans for my wife that needed some special care and planning ahead of time, and I called Buzz at the restaurant who helped gladly both before and that night with all the coordination!
Truly awesome in every way!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yea, it's the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Really, there's nothing in the ballpark of New Moon in Nevada County, or anywhere close. They are the absolute best.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“RUDE !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We stopped by this place at about 7:30 pm. Keeping in mind it's a Saturday night & they would probably be busy & might have a wait time. As we approached the front entrance we were greeted by a very snarky gentleman staring at us over his glasses. We asked if they had any seating available & he returned a glare as if to say "are you stupid!" then he spoke..."it's a Saturday night, we are the best in Nevada City as yiu can see, don't you know that reservations are required, it'll be at least 1 1/2 hours"
We stated that it appeared that way, sorry to have bothered you, and by your attitude, we will never be back! So, we were graciously seated across the street at Ike's 1/4 cafe....which by far is the best food I've had in Nevada City. I've told my entire clientele about this incident & I can assure you they will not be visiting new moon.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Moon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to New Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Moon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.