We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful January day enjoyed our meal on the deck outside!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ike's Quarter Cafe

Ike's Quarter Cafe
401 Commercial St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2411
530-265-6138
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 48 Restaurants in Nevada City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
WEST GROVE,PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful January day enjoyed our meal on the deck outside!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We drove from South Lake Tahoe to Nevada City on a recommendation..It is a lovely drive around the west side of the lake up the highway to the beautiful wooded road that takes you into Nevada city... The weather was beautiful, having a 70 degree day in January!! We found Ike's and sat out in the sun on the deck, I had delicious gumbo and a great salad... Jim had a Po Boy sandwich with sweet potato fries... Jim said the sandwich was nondescript whatever that means but he finished ever bite.. The staff was friendly and the other diners' were happy..It was definitely a Hippy kinda place... worth a try if you ever make it to Nevada City California

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    32
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Enjoy the character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

As others have said, don't be in a hurry here. Limited seating inside and out, all pleasant, with fascinating people watching. Extensive menu with great healthy tasty selections, enjoyed a lovely lunch.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Everything on the menu looked amazing! We had a hard time trying to figure out what to get to eat. The only downside was the wait. So don't be in a rush & just enjoy the great food & atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This place is filthy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The food may be good at Ike's but you've gotta wonder if the health department ever comes by. The filthy conditions take away the appetite.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Creative Menu - Good Food - Nice Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Three of us came here for a late breakfast on a beautiful Fall Saturday morning. There was a wait but we actually enjoyed watching all the people and the food that was being served at the tables around us.

We all enjoyed the food - though we all ordered VERY different menu items. I really liked the flapjack - though it was quite large. There serving sizes are abundant and everything was well prepared. The cajun food wasn't extremely spicy but it was definitely flavorful.

High would recommend this restaurant - it was a lot of fun and the food was great.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ike's Quarter Cafe also viewed

 
Nevada City, CA
 

Been to Ike's Quarter Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ike's Quarter Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.