We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“US Hotel and Katie Bennett--A Special Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of US Hotel Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
US Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added US Hotel Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
233 B. Broad Street, Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Nevada City B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“US Hotel and Katie Bennett--A Special Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

There were 12 of us ladies -- nine first cousins and three aunts on our third annual family outing (aged 45-82). The rooms at the US Hotel B&B Inn are simply wonderful -- decor, feather beds, quilts and pillows all excellent. Katie Bennett welcomed us and we literally made her beautiful inn our home for 3 days. We gathered in the dining/kitchen area each morning for a delicious breakfast. We went out and about in Nevada City during the day and regathered each afternoon for cocktails and appetizers and again at the end of the evening for dessert. Katie has a background in standup comedy and we had a free comedy show at least once a day. She took our group photos and made our dinner reservations. I don't know how we'll beat this trip next year.

  • Liked — The innkeepper
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank azoreskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Katie the owner/inkeeper is nothing short of marvelous. You will feel welcomed from the first greeting until the last bite of breakfast! The rooms are clean and spacious and the type of people who book here are warm and friendly. The location of the inn can not be beat! Parking is scarce, but even at it's worst, you only have to walk a few blocks. Book here and enjoy the delights of Nevada City!

  • Liked — innkeeper
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbique00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

We spent two nights recently at the US Hotel, a former private brothel :) from the 1880's (and probably into the 1900's). This is one of the few B&B's in town which accepts one-night only reservations on weekends, but we stayed the two nights anyway.

Our room was a larger, front bedroom, facing the street. Although there were iron shutters in front of the window to keep sound out, it only worked so well since people tend to get rowdy, drunk and loud at night. We were warned about it, but that was the only drawback. Our bed was quite comfortable, sitting room large and tastefully decorated. Not chintzy or "flowery" like so many B&B's are (our husbands have to like the room too!)

Our hostess, Katie, was super friendly and helpful, greeting us with hugs and helping us with dinner reservations. The breakfasts were tasty and filled with Katie's anecdotes and historical knowledge of the hotel. Max the dog was a charming sentry.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacifica_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

My sister, Jo Pangrazio, and I had the great pleasure to stay at the US Hotel on the weekend NorCal Paranormal Investigators kept their cameras running all night to capture the ghosts that haunted this 'most haunted B & B in America". The owner, Katie, took very good care of us and we slept like rocks even though our room was on Broad Street. And the ghost of "Robber Baron Charles Crocker was very well behaved, climbing into bed quietly, and smoking his cigar near the balcony!
Congratulations to Katie for making this place simply charming.
We will now consider the US Hotel our "home away from home" whenever we're visiting Nevada City.
Angel Thompson
Marina del Rey, CA

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuffante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

We were very pleased with our stay at the US Hotel. We stayed in Belle's Room which has great light & overlooks Pine Street, so it's not as loud as a room overlooking Broad St. The clawfoot tub is relaxing and everything was very clean. The bed - oh my - so comfy and soft! Katie is truly the hostess with the mostest - very funny, at your service in a jiffy, a great cook, & knows cool town history. Maximillian-thanksamillion is the sweetest dog too. There's a sitting room with lots of games and books to pass the time before you hit the town. Great location close to everything. We definitely recommend it and hope to be back soon. Nevada City is such a wonderful place.

  • Liked — NO 2-night minimum!, Katie, location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kskimchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

When my cousin and I arrived, we were met by Maximillian Thanks a Million, the most wonderful dog, and he took us straight to Katie. Katie was great, retired comedian, she kept us all entertained, but our room was quiet and clean as could be. We had a side road view, but loved the tall windows you could open, you felt like you were part of history. Katie left snacks on the counter, breakfast was marvelous and I enjoyed the guests too. I usually have trouble with beds in establishments like this and actually carry my own memory foam topper, but I didnt' need it here! We would stay there again.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank mjlvtlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

My wife and I have been traveling to old mining towns in this reagion for several years. We just had our most pleasurable experinece of any at the US Hotel Bed and Breakfast. The room was spacious and spotless. The feather bed was devinely comfortable. Our view from the large double windows was of picturesque downtown Nevada City. The fall colors were in full force and added to the experience. The location is right in the heart of historic downtown and a close walk to everything. Katie is a great host and chef. If you visit this B&B you will have some of the best breakfasts ever. A great place to relax and get away. I can't wait to return to our new favorite vacation spot.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank altapacbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#5 of 6 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
3.8 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deer Creek Inn
Deer Creek Inn
#1 of 7 in Nevada City
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to US Hotel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about US Hotel Bed and Breakfast

Address: 233 B. Broad Street, Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Us Hotel Nevada City
Us Hotel b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing