We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay. Good value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
427 Broad Street, Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay. Good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have recently returned from a road trip through New England. The Parsonage was far nicer than any of the B&Bs that we stayed in back there. It was comparable only with one that cost considerably more per night. After the New England trip, I was especially appreciative of the Parsonage's luxury bedding, excellent central AC and the gourmet home-cooked breakfast. Nevada City is a charming place to visit. Abigail has all sorts of local knowledge and is more than happy to share it.

Room Tip: Well, we were headed out to our own "miner's cabin" the next night, so we opted for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emeryville, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at this wonderful B&B over Labor Day weekend. Abigail, the innkeeper, is friendly and accommodating, and takes a great deal of pride in the inn - reflected right down to the smallest of details, including the delicious homemade cookies and Ghiradelli chocolates set out for guests, not to mention the Egyptian cotton towels, pressed bed linens, and delicate fleur-de-lis drinking glasses in the room from local shop, J.J. Jackson's. Mine was the Victorian Room in the back of the house. Quiet, sunny, and with a lovely tree view, it was adorned with a hand-carved four-poster bed, luxurious bedding, an armoire, a comfy chaise for reading, and porcelain claw foot tub. A word: Heavenly.

With the inn located slightly up the hill on Broad Street, the main avenue, you can easily walk anywhere in the small town - restaurants, coffee shops, clothing boutiques, specialty stores - but aren't bothered by traffic, which is great. Also, the three-course breakfast was to die for - freshly squeezed O.J., fresh local fruit (including organic strawberries), hot-from-the oven scone, and mushroom quiche with mixed greens and sausage. I could stay here again for the breakfast alone!

The Parsonage was a charming retreat for a relaxing getaway and exceeded my expectations. (Note: a prior reviewer mentioned there were lots of religious objects like crosses around the inn; however, I didn't see a one...). I would definitely stay here again and am already thinking about coming back in December for Nevada City's Victorian Christmas festivities!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Linda, California, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary at The Parsonage and plan on coming back for many more adventures in Nevada City!
We booked the private and quaint "Miner's Cabin" and loved it--tiny, but terrific. The overall vibe is wonderful at this B&B. You have to experience it first-hand.
Three cheers goes to Abagail for being the best host in the world! She also cooks a wonderful breakfast: fritatta, hot scones, fresh fruit in wine glasses, fresh squeezed OJ--too good). It was wonderful to enjoy breakfast in the formal dining room too. It was like stepping back in time (for all of you Dowton Abby folks--this would suit you to a "Tee")

Room Tip: The "Miner's Cabin" is rustic and private. Just what we wanted. However, the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

ANOTHER AMAZING stay at The Parsonage House! The Victoria Room is my new favorite... and although it is my most joyous place to stay in Northern Cal, the owners Susan and Chuck win your heart! And then there is Abigail, who runs this lovely Victorian in the heart of town, sweeps away all stress and worry and seems to attract the most interesting people who each time, I discover new (seemingly old) friends. them all!
Thank you, thank you once again!

Room Tip: My new favorite is the Victorian Room --beautiful, quiet, wonderful sleep, very grateful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just returned from our 3rd visit to The Parsonage in Nevada City....and as always, it was wonderful and relaxing! Susan and Chuck do a great job making you at home in their beautiful Bed and Breakfast that is right on Broad street. We stayed in the Victorian Room this time, a comfy, quite room at the back of the house. Susan prepared a delicious breakfast in the morning with farm fresh ingredients from their own farm! Yummy!

We would highly recommend The Parsonage!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Visiting Nevada City is like walking into old-time gold country with the modern conveniences of an urban destination. Filled with great restaurants, nice shops and.... The Parsonage B&B. This is my fourth stay in 3 years and it consistently meets my expectations. Nice rooms, comfy beds, excellent food, and a welcoming vibe from the owners and inn keeper. I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Our 3 night stay at the Parsonage was perfect. Abigail the innkeeper was a caring and gracious host. Coming back to the inn each evening was like coming home to "mom" and we looked forward to chatting with her about our adventures. The Gold room was beautiful and the bed one of the most comfortable we have had at a hotel. Over all we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Gold Country!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 427 Broad Street, Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage Bed & Breakfast, located in Historic downtown Nevada City, California. One of the best and most convenient bed and breakfast locations in the area. This B&B is full of history dating back to the mid-1800s. This bed & breakfast inn has some of the most reasonable rates in the Nevada County area. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list