We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hospitality and location can't be beat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Madison House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevada City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Madison House B & B
Save
You added The Madison House B & B to your Saves list
427 Broad Street, Nevada City, CA 95959 (Formerly Parsonage B&B)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The hospitality and location can't be beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our 3 night stay at the Parsonage was perfect. Abigail the innkeeper was a caring and gracious host. Coming back to the inn each evening was like coming home to "mom" and we looked forward to chatting with her about our adventures. The Gold room was beautiful and the bed one of the most comfortable we have had at a hotel. Over all we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Gold Country!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
38
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had the fortune to book the "Miner's Cabin" at the Parsonage. I was so pleased when I walked into my little hideaway behind the main house. It was beautifully furnished, complete with a sink, refrigerator and microwave. There were lots of towels, extra blankets and so many lovely accents. The bed was very comfortable and it was quiet. The speaker on the floor played music that the innkeeper, Abigail, thought I would like -- it was perfect. I was treated so warmly and really enjoyed my conversations with Abigail. She gave me lots of tips on what to see and how to get there. The main house is beautiful as well and Abigail served a fabulous breakfast. The Parsonage is conveniently located in the heart of the historic district and I enjoyed exploring on foot. I was sorry to leave this lovely place.

Room Tip: There are other rooms in the main house which looked very nice. There are two newer rooms upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Victorian Room at the Parsonage this last weekend and it was delightful. Abigail's hospitality was warm and welcoming. Breakfast was served beautifully and the room was perfect. The location really can't be beat if you want to park your car and walk around Nevada City. We will definitely be returning since everything was done so perfectly. This was one of my favorite bed and breakfasts that I have stayed in ever!

Room Tip: The Victorian Room has a beautiful tub and great seating with plenty of windows since it was on a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Parsonage in Nevada City was a real “golden nugget” find! It had all the major ingredients that we were looking for – a private residence, giving us the feeling of a personal guest; walking distance to town; private parking lot in rear; a very special room appointed with luxury amenities. All interior design was artistically done by the owner Susan.

The Parsonage also presents its guests with access to a fine front room appointed with elegant antiques and hard-bound books and magazines, and the dining room where Breakfast is served.

We chose the Victorian – a faux painted blue room with practical antiques. Sheets and linens of very high quality, high thread count. The room was very light and airy with many windows offering cross ventilation and a cooling ceiling fan. The four-poster bed mattress was very high quality and comfortable. The en suite bathroom featured a claw-foot bathtub with shower and curtains. The bathroom also featured Thyme bath products.

Abigail, the charming innkeeper, made fresh cookies or brownies for the afternoon, and placed bottles of port and sherry for the late evening enjoyment of the veranda overlooking Broad Street. However, the over-the-top treat was her morning breakfast served promptly at 9:00 a.m. She surprised us each morning with a new menu presenting a fresh fruit goblet with crème fraiche, and a second course featuring fresh farm Araucana eggs (from the owner’s farm) prepared as delightful omelets or ramekin-baked eggs with fresh herbs and vegetables. Abigail’s cooking, however, was eclipsed by her fine baking skills – accompanying her delightful breakfasts with fresh scones or popovers! All served with fresh local jams and jellies.

When we return to the Gold Country, we will definitely want to stay at our golden find, the Parsonage, stay in the Victorian Room, and be charmed by Abigail and her fine cooking.!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Four of us spent the weekend at The Parsonage - the other couple stayed in the house and my husband and I stayed in the cabin. We had a great time. Abigail, the innkeeper, took very good care of us with a warm welcome, friendly demeanor, helpful attitude, and excellent breakfasts. She loves to cook and it shows; we often stay in B&Bs when we travel and agreed the food served in The Parsonage is exceptional. She also provided us with homemade cookies and our choice of port or sherry in the evening.

The cabin is less charming than the in-house rooms -- somewhat rustic in comparison -- but it was nicely decorated and had a comfortable bed. The kitchenette is tiny with a mini-microwave; it would probably be suitable for warming bottles or single plates of food, if necessary.

You can't beat the location. It was so convenient to be able to leave our cars parked in the inn's backyard parking lot and walk around Nevada City where you are mostly restricted to street parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The service is fabulous, the breakfasts are fantastic and the surroundings beautiful. Really a smashing place to stay in what is a fantastic little town with lots to do!!

The host was so very welcoming and made us feel at home straight away. We were free to use the whole downstairs and she even provided access to endless coffee and tea and cookies. After 4pm, there were bottles of sherry and port to which you could help yourselves.

Our room was beautifully decorated, the bed, a temple to comfort and sleep. Can't praise this place enough and would definitely go back should I ever be in America again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were in Nevada City for a wedding, and ended up staying here for two nights. It was fantastic. The service was impeccable, and the THREE! course breakfast was amazing. Fruit parfait, fresh biscuits, and green eggs and ham. So good.
The rooms were cute with comfortable beds and the showers had high pressure. The hosts were great, and made us feel welcome. We stayed up with them til 1am chatting on the porch, drinking port and sherry, enjoying the lovely summer weather. Located directly on Main Street, this B&B was perfect for our stay in the foothills.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Madison House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison House B & B

Address: 427 Broad Street, Nevada City, CA 95959 (Formerly Parsonage B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison House Bed & Breakfast, located in Historic downtown Nevada City, California. One of the best and most convenient bed and breakfast locations in the area. This B&B is full of history dating back to the mid-1800s. This bed & breakfast inn offers clean comfortable rooms with private parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Madison House B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.