We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food for lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lefty's Grill

Lefty's Grill
101 Broad St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2501
+1 530-265-5838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 48 Restaurants in Nevada City
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Casual white linen dining. Enjoy our creekside patios, fireplace dining,upper bar and wine tasting room.
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Food for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My cheeseburger was very good and tasty, but not outstanding. Somewhat pricy. The garlic fries were to die for. Our server, Jennifer was outstanding, a real example of how a customer should be treated. Overall experience was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Public Relations Manager at Lefty's Grill, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know where we are getting it right and where we can polish it up a bit....we take great pride in our menu offerings and want to know how customers experience their time at our home away from home. Nice to name drop!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    56
    22
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We ate on the balcony overlooking the river which was nice. Service was average. Creamy tomato soup was thin, flavorless and not very hot. Ahi salad had such a hot pepper in one bite that my husband could not eat any more. They did take it off the bill.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Public Relations Manager at Lefty's Grill, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking give us feedback and share your experience with others. We always strive to have our food be perfect and take it personally when we miss the mark. We have made adjustments to keep our menu favorites rolling out with consistent quality. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Prices, Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This restaurant is reasonably-priced with high quality food. It has 2 balconies that overlook the river which adds great ambiance during the warm months.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Public Relations Manager at Lefty's Grill, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for dropping by to let us know how we doing. Please watch for upcoming events this fall--we are going to do some exceptional wine and beer pairing dinners.

https://www.facebook.com/LeftysGrill

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic burgers & sweet potato fries. Our party of 6 split a Sonoma pizza as an appetizer. Everyone loved it, even my picky teenager. Will try to duplicate this pizza at home. Yum!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Public Relations Manager at Lefty's Grill, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for dropping by to let us know how we doing. Please watch for upcoming events this fall--we are going to do some exceptional wine and beer pairing dinners.

https://www.facebook.com/LeftysGrill

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Won't go again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was the second time we have attempted to eat at Lefty's. The first time the staff didn't honor our reservation so we left and went somewhere else. In July we tried again, this time with friends. We made a reservation requesting seating on the deck overlooking Deer Creek. When we arrived we went into the bar for a glass of wine only to find out they were out of that particular wine. The waitress offered us something else at 3X the price and was rude when we refused. We were then told there was no
deck seating available but watched as someone who made a fuss was then taken outside. We won't be back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Public Relations Manager at Lefty's Grill, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Gosh, we are really sorry so many little details went wrong. We hope you will consider coming again and letting us know at the time these situations occur--this way we can correct them on the spot.

Thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lefty's Grill also viewed

 
Nevada City, CA
 

Been to Lefty's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lefty's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.