We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Locals Place With Live Music And Very Good Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matteo's Public

Matteo's Public
300 Commercial St, Nevada City, CA 95959-2410
530-265-0782
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 48 Restaurants in Nevada City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
767 reviews 767 reviews
514 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
1,714 helpful votes 1,714 helpful votes
“Great Locals Place With Live Music And Very Good Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Last Wed. night we dined at here for dinner. The restaurant was very crowded and we had about a 30 minute wait for 3 at a table right by the musicians. My entree was the Ribeye Steak which was flavorful and served with sides of golden potatoes and asparagus. The ambiance is fun with a bar and open kitchen where you can watch the chefs cook.

Nevada City is a very cool, interesting mountain town with friendly people. We have really enjoyed dining around the area each night during our 4 week stay here on business in the area. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“May 1, 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great food and atmosphere! They were giving 15% to Breast cancer that evening. I had the special taco salad and a lovely local glass of wine.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere, good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Got into town and checked into our B&B on the late side, the Inn Keeper's at The Emma House sent us here for dinner. I was a little skeptical at first as it was very relaxed, wait staff was very friendly but winding down for the night. The food came out very quickly and was AMAZING!! My boyfriend had the fish and chips, I stole a few bites, very flaky and fresh, perfectly golden brown and yummy! I had Mac and Cheese with Bacon and I wish my stomach was bigger so I could have ate it all!! Was bummed for 2 days I didn't take the leftovers to the B&B! The waitress was very helpful at helping us pick out beers and gave us several samples to help us find one we loved. Great friendly and quick service. Will definitely go back here and recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Loved the atmosphere of this place and the outdoor as well as indoor eating area. Service was ok. Food was really rather average for pub grub. Not sure if I'd recommend to eat here but to have a drink and listen to the local musicians would be nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loma rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thumbs down, way down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We looked forward to checking out Matteo's as we're always looking for new places to dine in GV/NC.

Prices were low with many options on the pub menu, but I made the mistake of ordering a rib eye off the entree list. Asked for medium and got medium rare though it was hard to tell because the steak was buried in a very salty sauce which probably boosted my BP a hundred points for the rest of the evening. Agree with 'TeaTotalers' that the cut of meat was inferior...

My companions fared a little better but I could tell that no one was excited by their food. Service was sketchy and we had to make a point of asking for water refills. Bottom line is we will not return for the food though the atmosphere was OK with a great blues duo performing. Maybe just a drink at the bar next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matteo's Public also viewed

 

Been to Matteo's Public? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matteo's Public, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.