We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place in need of revamping.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Queen Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Northern Queen Inn to your Saves list
Northern Queen Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Railroad Ave. (Sacramento St. Exit Off Highway 49), Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Nevada City
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing place in need of revamping.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Northern Queen was a good deal and it was totally clean. Great water pressure, and a fridge were bonuses. This place was an amazing gem in it's day. A beautiful garden with paths and benches and deer and bunnies abounding everywhere... and a big network of an old trolley system through mines and mining remnants awaits your curious ramble. There is an old Chinese cemetary (not much to it, but still cool) and a big stage and seats wear a creative family could put on a show. It's a shame the restaurant is closed, this place really had to have been lovely in it's day and deserves a second shot at it's beauty, or at least our curious ventures.

Room Tip: It's probably worth the small amount extra to get a fancier room, but the hotel rooms were just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
18
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place used to have a very nice restaurant. The setting at this Inn is very nice, woodsy, little natural waterfall, cool train car. This place is very tired looking. Great shower pressure, but lousy heating. I may try again if I see she gets some tender loving care and opens the restaurant again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have been to the resturant on- site several times. The resturant, (cannot think of the name of it at the moment) is quite charming. There is a small waterfall in the main dining area that makes for relaxing experience. I have always admired the hotel, it is tucked back in off the hwy. very discreetly, not your common hotel type setting, which I do prefer. Boy, was I ever so disappointed at how dated the room was. :( I do not mind "old school, usually prefer it, but they still have the standard metal key system versus card type. Was already for a grand bubble bath, NOT...the tub was standard, maybe smaller than :(. Room was clean, had coffe maker, blow dryer but was not enough. Sorry to say they need to do some updating, in doing that I would hope it would not compromise the landscaping for that's what makes it so peaceful and alluring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had planned to dine @ the hotel restaurant after a fun/long day @ Constitutional parade, but it was closed ! Did enjoy a great meal with good service @ the Old 5 Mile House outside of town. (they were roasting a whole pig out by the patio)
As for the Northern Queen: Quite worn look to everything, very uncomfortable bed (felt every movement by husband) ,stains on carpet & chairs, noisy & inefficient A/C, highway noise, not enough coffee in room -- just paper cups.
Good we were there only one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I would definitely come back. I went with my girlfriend for a get away. We stayed in one of the chalet's. Very nice. Beautiful setting. Short walk to the pool. The lady who checked us in was so accommodating. We loved it. I am looking forward to a return visit. Great place for families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My experience with the Northern Queen began ihn 1993 for work purposes only. My stay each and every time has been 5 star! This place rocks. I not only stayed at Northern Queen for work related housing... but personnally stayed at Northern Queen for a quick get away from Sacramento. The Staff is incredible, the Manager Diane has accomadated me every time I requested work accomodations and personal accomodations. The Hotel offers everything for a clean and friendly get away for work and personnal getaways. The best service I have ever experienced. The Inn, the restaurant, all the staff makes you feel like you are family. The Northern Queen is the 5 Star ticket. You won't be disappointed! Ask for Diane!! The girl ROCKS!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here 5 years ago in one of the standard rooms when my husband and I first started dating so we wanted to return for "old times" sake. We stayed in one of the cabins this time and unfortunatley we wouldn't do it again.
The Pros: The location and view being nestled in the trees was beautiful. The staff were incredibly helpful, especially Tina. My guess, is that compared to other places in the area, this was probably considered one of the nicer places to stay. Great fireplace!
The Cons: The cabins are spacious enough but the carpet is so old and dirty we had a difficult time feeling comfortable. We are used to sleeping in a Cal King so the double bed (the only kind offered) was just too small for us. We bought candles and air freshner which helped tremendously but it still smelled like smoke even though these were no smoking cabins. Since there was only a small 2 seat couch in the living room and no TV in the bedroom, we had a difficult time getting comfortable and relaxing. We ended up leaving the second night even though we knew we would have to pay for the unstayed night. They discounted our last night since we didn't stay which was much appreciated. They also offered us a Chalet (which we previewed and although still dated, seemed like a better option for comfort which we may try next time) but we were already packed and didn't want to unpack just for one night.
Customer Service was worth 4 stars but the cabin I would give 2 stars. I would recommend trying the Chalet or a standard room if you are going to stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a Chalet or Standard Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada City
0.5 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#1 of 6 in Nevada City
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nevada City Inn
Nevada City Inn
#4 of 6 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Queen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Queen Inn

Address: 400 Railroad Ave. (Sacramento St. Exit Off Highway 49), Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Northern Queen Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Northern Queen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Queen Hotel Nevada City
Northern Queen Nevada City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Queen Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.