We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place in need of revamping.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Queen Inn

Save Saved
You added Northern Queen Inn to your Saves list
Northern Queen Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Northern Queen Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Railroad Ave. (Sacramento St. Exit Off Highway 49), Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Nevada City
Arcata, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing place in need of revamping.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Northern Queen was a good deal and it was totally clean. Great water pressure, and a fridge were bonuses. This place was an amazing gem in it's day. A beautiful garden with paths and benches and deer and bunnies abounding everywhere... and a big network of an old trolley system through mines and mining remnants awaits your curious ramble. There is an old Chinese cemetary (not much to it, but still cool) and a big stage and seats wear a creative family could put on a show. It's a shame the restaurant is closed, this place really had to have been lovely in it's day and deserves a second shot at it's beauty, or at least our curious ventures.

Room Tip: It's probably worth the small amount extra to get a fancier room, but the hotel rooms were just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
16
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cordova, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place used to have a very nice restaurant. The setting at this Inn is very nice, woodsy, little natural waterfall, cool train car. This place is very tired looking. Great shower pressure, but lousy heating. I may try again if I see she gets some tender loving care and opens the restaurant again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have been to the resturant on- site several times. The resturant, (cannot think of the name of it at the moment) is quite charming. There is a small waterfall in the main dining area that makes for relaxing experience. I have always admired the hotel, it is tucked back in off the hwy. very discreetly, not your common hotel type setting, which I do prefer. Boy, was I ever so disappointed at how dated the room was. :( I do not mind "old school, usually prefer it, but they still have the standard metal key system versus card type. Was already for a grand bubble bath, NOT...the tub was standard, maybe smaller than :(. Room was clean, had coffe maker, blow dryer but was not enough. Sorry to say they need to do some updating, in doing that I would hope it would not compromise the landscaping for that's what makes it so peaceful and alluring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had planned to dine @ the hotel restaurant after a fun/long day @ Constitutional parade, but it was closed ! Did enjoy a great meal with good service @ the Old 5 Mile House outside of town. (they were roasting a whole pig out by the patio)
As for the Northern Queen: Quite worn look to everything, very uncomfortable bed (felt every movement by husband) ,stains on carpet & chairs, noisy & inefficient A/C, highway noise, not enough coffee in room -- just paper cups.
Good we were there only one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pine Key
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had lunch with another couple last friday at The Northern Queen Restaurant. This is the fourth time we have had breakfast or lunch there. I am remiss for not commending them before. We have always found the food to be excellent. The service and value is also great. Three of us had their Rueben sandwich and it was among the very best we have ever eaten. The outdoor seating is extremely pleasant with lots of trees and aa nice waterfall. There are many nice restaurants in the Nevada City / Grass Valley area but we gravitate to the Northern Queen due to their consistancy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I would definitely come back. I went with my girlfriend for a get away. We stayed in one of the chalet's. Very nice. Beautiful setting. Short walk to the pool. The lady who checked us in was so accommodating. We loved it. I am looking forward to a return visit. Great place for families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My experience with the Northern Queen began ihn 1993 for work purposes only. My stay each and every time has been 5 star! This place rocks. I not only stayed at Northern Queen for work related housing... but personnally stayed at Northern Queen for a quick get away from Sacramento. The Staff is incredible, the Manager Diane has accomadated me every time I requested work accomodations and personal accomodations. The Hotel offers everything for a clean and friendly get away for work and personnal getaways. The best service I have ever experienced. The Inn, the restaurant, all the staff makes you feel like you are family. The Northern Queen is the 5 Star ticket. You won't be disappointed! Ask for Diane!! The girl ROCKS!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northern Queen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Queen Inn

Address: 400 Railroad Ave. (Sacramento St. Exit Off Highway 49), Nevada City, CA 95959
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Northern Queen Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Northern Queen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Queen Hotel Nevada City
Northern Queen Nevada City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Queen Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.