We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Deer Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deer Creek Inn
116 Nevada Street, Nevada City, CA 95959   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spec Summer Rate $149.00
Ranked #1 of 9 Nevada City B&B and Inns
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I have spent a fair amount of time in Nevada City before, but this time we wanted it to be extra special in honor of our wedding anniversary. We chose Deer Creek Inn because of its location and rave breakfast reviews. We were not disappointed! We immediately felt more relaxed when Ruth greeted us at the front door with glasses of wine and a warm welcome. Our room was lovely, we stayed in Elaine's Room. It had its own private terrace, a view of the creek and was very quiet. Breakfast did not disappoint! Ruth is an amazing cook, and I cannot wait to go back to start eating her food again. Thank you Ruth, Chuck and Elaine for your generous hospitality and an unforgettable wedding anniversary. It was such a treat to get away from reality for a few days!

Room Tip: Elaine's Room is beautiful with its own private entrance and terrace over looking the creek; how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
130
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cobb, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked a late June mid-week stay for my wife's 60th. Who would have thought we would run into two days of rain in Northern California, but we did. The rain, however, did nothing to dampen our stay at the DCI. It has great curb appeal, and once inside you are treated to immaculate accommodations and excellent service. Greeted at the door by owners, Chuck and Elaine, we are shown to our room, Elaine's room. It is one of the best B&B rooms we have ever stayed in. Our entry/exit door leads to a sitting area overlooking a garden and creek. The creek was flowing strongly and could be heard from our room. The room was expertly furnished, and the bathroom had two shower heads and awesomely soft towels. In addition you are literally just a few hundred yards from the main street in Nevada, so you can walk into town. Breakfast A+++...three courses served by the owners, cooked by Ruth. This place was so good we can't wait for a return trip when we can sit outside and enjoy the creek. Bob and Nyla, Cobb, CA

Room Tip: We were in Elaine's Room, totally satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Deer Creek Inn 4 times now, and each visit has been perfection! We have two small children (one with special needs) so finding a place to give us peace and tranquility is very important once in a while. The food is gourmet, the rooms have been redone and are Victorian simplicity at it's best! I love how every room has bath amenities! I dream of sitting by the creek and drinking my coffee or enjoying the innkeeper's great company during wine service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our short stay at the Deer Creek Inn in Nevada City. Beautiful Victorian house with a creek running through the backyard. My husband & I stayed in the Sheryl Room - a very comfortable room with attached balcony. Besides the wine social, breakfast was fantastic - 3 courses, all delicious! The inn is only a short walk to downtown Nevada City...a perfect location.

I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The Deer Creek inn is wonderful!
Not only is the old Victorian house beautiful & clean, the grounds are serene.
This is a perfect place for a short or long term vacation, when you are looking to relax, relax and relax. Ruth's hospitality and cooking are amazing and for sure will return again.
-Nicole , Reno NV

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you are considering a relaxing get-away weekend I can strongly recommend the accommodations offered at the Deer Creek Inn. This B&B is friendly, warm, comfortable and located within walking distance of down town Nevada City. Ruth does a fantastic job managing the Inn and her breakfast will be the best you have ever eaten!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as a quick get-a-way. The ambiance has returned since the Matroni's have taken over the inn once again. The on-site manager, Ruth, provides a wonderful breakfast and makes you feel so welcome, you don't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deer Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Creek Inn

Address: 116 Nevada Street, Nevada City, CA 95959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Nevada City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Nevada City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Queen Anne creekside Victorian within walking distance to shopping, theater, restaurants and music in quaint Nevada City, California. All rooms have private baths, some with clawfoot tubs but totally upgraded to meet today's experienced traveler. Some rooms include private balconies that overlook the award winning gardens and everflowing Deer Creek. Come visit and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Deer Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Nevada City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.